We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff. Made for a very pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff. Made for a very pleasant stay.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We came here on recommendation and we very happy with everything about the hotel and staff
They could not have been more helpful. It is predominately used by older folks, but there were some young ones there.
Great value for money, and the afternoon tea is a bit of a treat.
The hotel was kept in very good condition, clean and well painted in and out.
Lovely meals and good helpings.
We will return.

Room Tip: Chose a sea view and leave the window open to listen to the waves. Very soothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReigateBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
It’s always lovely to hear about recommendations and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    128
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
69
202
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Charges are fixed according to size of room and the position.I asked for a room on the third floor with a sea view, because I had stayed at the hotel many years ago. The booking staff were excellent as was all the rest of the staff. No complaints at all.
But it should be pointed out that most of the visitors are elderly and a number with a coach party.
While I was there I used the local buses and went into Exeter and Exmouth. Also the local council provide a small bus that will take one to the Sidmouth Donkey Sanctuary. This service is free.

Room Tip: Room prices vary according to size and position. I paid extra for large room on the third floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lonely2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
It is always nice to hear of return visitors. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Have just returned from 4day stay here, We thought it absolutely lovely. Our sea facing room was excellent, very comfortable with good sized bathroom. There were lovely public rooms and lounges. and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and attentive staff. The whole hotel was clean and comfortable with the charm of and old but loved building. The menus were varied and excellent. All in all a lovely place to stay for anyone wanting a peaceful holiday in a charming seaside resort
Mr & Mrs A Layland

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have lovely views and were surprisingly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us and appreciated “the charm of an old but loved building”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We booked a last minute weekend stay and despite being about 30 years younger than the other guests, we wouldn't hesitiate to revisit this welcoming superbly run family hotel.

Our 3rd floor room overlooking the sea was clean, very comfortable (the 6ft wide bed was bliss!) and its decor suited the age of the hotel.

The food was exceptiopnal. I have an allergy to onions so when I eat away from home my diet is very restricted as most dishes have onions in them. However, the fantastic chefs met with me and told me they would adapt whatever dish I wanted. It was a real treat to have absolute free choice from a menu - many thanks to them!!

The dining room staff who served us - Fabrice and Andrew were very professional, attentive and friendly, as was the receptionist

We will certainly return to this excellent hotel as it's location is great for seeing Devon

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We will be sure to pass your comments to our staff and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've just thoroughly enjoyed a weeks stay in delightful Sidmouth, our first visit staying in this family owned, sea front hotel. Our average size room overlooking the sea was comfortable and clean, with a smallish but adequate bathroom. We were very happy to be on dinner, bed and breakfast terms as the food was exceptional, served by well organised, friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast menu was comprehensive, including fruit, cereals, porridge, yogurts, full English plus extras, smoked fish etc. Dinner was a 4 course meal with excellent choices.

Entertainment was on offer several evenings in the main lounge bar but other rooms were available if a quiet evening is preferred, or you can have a game of snooker in the snooker room. We also took the opportunity to use the swimming pool just a couple of minutes away with a special deal with the hotel.

We stayed there as a group and it is one of the best value for money hotels we have used. The staff, without exception could not have been more friendly and helpful, the hotel comfortable, clean and welcoming, and the food excellent .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaishaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Sidmouth is unspoilt and is ideal for pensioners and anyone who wishes to avoid the commercial way of life. The hotel is next to the sea and within easy reach of the local shopping streets.The rooms were well looked after and the staff very attentive. the food was superb with a very good variation over our 6 night stay. The entertainment was a very high standard and everyone had a great time. The spa was lovely at a reasonable cost. A big thank you and highly recommended

Room Tip: This was a group of ex work colleagues in a pensioner group holiday. We had45go and all hada great e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerphall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I recently stayed at the Royal York and Faulkener while attending a speed hill climb at nearby Wiscombe Park with an old school friend. We needed single rooms and had Dinner Bed and Breakfast terms. The rooms were very comfortable and the food in the restaurant was of a good standard with exceptionally willing staff. Above all the hotel provided excellent value for money, my only quibble would be car parking although we had no problem street parking during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malknoO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you also enjoyed the Hill Climb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal York & Faulkner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal York & Faulkner Hotel

Property: Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal York & Faulkner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Regency hotel enjoys an unrivaled position at the centre of Sidmouth’s elegant Esplanade, overlooking the sea and adjacent to the picturesque town centre. Owned and personally run by the Hook family, resident proprietors for three generations, the hotel has a long standing reputation for hospitality and service. The property, having undergone expensive though careful refurbishment, is beautifully appointed with all amenities, excellent facilities and a stunning new spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal York & Faulkner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal York And Faulkner Hotel
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing