We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We only spent one night at this hotel but I can thoroughly recommend it, especially if you go for a sea view.

Location

The hotel is located on the East end of town, and is right on the sea front. There is a road in front of the hotel but because it isn’t in the main part of town and doesn’t particularly lead anywhere it means there is not so much traffic – which means you can sleep with your window open and not be disturbed by road noise.
It is easily walkable to anywhere within town – we walked to Jacobs Ladder right at the other end in under 15 minutes, so location is pretty much perfect.

Parking

There is free parking during the evening or you can try and get a space in the hotel car park. If you do this however you will need to leave your keys with reception as they park 3 deep and so need to move the cars to let other people in and out. There is also a pay and display car park behind the hotel, which we used for 1 hour til 6pm when it becomes free.

Room

We had a seaview room and it was all we could hope for. You literally look straight out from your window over the endless sea – pure bliss. You could literally throw a stone from your room into the sea, it is that near.
We left the curtains partially open overnight and the window open, and went to sleep to the gentle sound of the waves lapping against the shore. We were then woken in the morning by the dazzling light reflecting off the sea. If you wanted to sleep in, just make sure you fully put down the blind!
The furnishings whilst not being luxurious, were all in good condition and we had no complaints.
There was a small en-suite which although not that big was perfect for us and we would gladly forego a larger en-suite for such a lovely view.

Food

The food in the hotel was pretty good, though they do insist on everything being served to you – including your cereal at breakfast. The food itself was nice both in the evening and at breakfast. Don’t come expensive gourmet food, but a decent quality meal instead.

Staff

All friendly and spoke good English even if a lot of a restaurant staff were foreign as seems the norm.

Price

Great value for money in our opinion. I would say this is a decent 3 or 4 star hotel but is definitely priced below this. We felt for the hotels location and the standard of the room it was excellent value and we would definitely go to this hotel first if we come to Sidmouth again. We have stayed at the Victoria and to be honest we preferred the less austere and more welcoming feel of this hotel, plus you get a room that is right by the sea – what more could you want.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview room, well worth the small amount more
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fell-O_TravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you kindly for your comprehensive review and we hope to welcome you to Sidmouth again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 444 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had never visited Sidmouth and booked this hotel on the recommendation of a friend. We were very happy with our choice. The hotel is situated right on The Esplanade with views over the seafront and the town and shops nearby. Our room, although on the top floor (no problem as there is a lift) was clean, comfortable and very nicely furnished with plenty of space. Next time we will try to book a room with a balcony. Our tariff included breakfast and dinner, with afternoon tea available as well. The food was all excellent and the dining room staff were very professional and attentive to our needs. All the staff in the hotel were helpful and considerate - service of this standard is exceptional. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patdavidroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels we've stayed in, the star rating doesn't fit the service received should have been 5 stars , all staff are attentive to everyone's needs , the food is Devine , lots of courses and choice . The only down side is not all rooms are sea view, so book early , the spar was very good but small , the beach is just yards away and the town with good shops in is also a few yards away too. , the decor won't be to everyone's taste but it's not a modern hotel , but very clean and has an historic feel with very high standards

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank joseph g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope you’ll visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you want warm, friendly, old fashioned service, good food and comfortable rooms in the perfect location overlooking the bay, this hotel has it all. We have been returning here for six years, and arrive in time for afternoon tea. Our perfect break!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We chose the hotel based on previous tripadvisor reviews and were extremely pleased with our six day stay. The hotel was comfortable and the staff were friendly and efficient with nothing seeming too much trouble for them. It was great to stay in an English hotel that was able to provide gluten-free choices at every meal. Our room faced the sea and despite strong winds on some days (which provided dramatic seascapes) the room was pleasantly warm throughout our holiday. We both had massages at the hotel spa the quality of which was very good. Also, impressed by the price of after dinner drinks in the bar. This is often an area where a hotel may load the bill somewhat. Imagine my surprise to be charged only £5.40 for two brandies. My only reservation about the facilities/service at The Royal York relates to the hotel car park. It is too small for the size of the hotel and for our first night, when we arrived late in the day, we had to leave the car in the local authority car park behind the hotel. On subsequent days we had no problems, with the staff parking the car for us. Overall, a very relaxed and comfortable stay. We shall certainly go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan_SueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us and glad that we managed to fit your car in after the initial night. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We spent the weekend of 7th to 10th February, 2014 at the Hotel at the height of the strong winds and raging seas period. The hotel had just completed renovation but it was too windy even to remove all the scaffolding. The reception was very friendly and efficient. Our room was fine but, with the strong winds and the fact that the hotel was only just opening for the season, our room was cold. With no hesitation we were moved to another room which was of higher standard and at no increased cost. All other minor problems were dealt with in a very friendly and efficient manner and nothing was too much trouble. We were attending a dinner party in the hotel for which we had paid and, without any request from us, the manager arranged a refund for us because our tariff at the hotel included dinner. The impressions we were left with was that the hotel was very efficiently run and that the staff were at pains the ensure we had a pleasant stay. It was a most impressive visit and I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gramps075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments and recommendation. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Cold scones! Jam and cream served in the same dish. Such a shame. Lovely setting-spoiled by not knowing how to serve a cream tea. I've never been served cold scones before-certainly not what was expected from a good quality hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justroo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We were sorry to read that your cream tea was disappointing and apologise that the scones were served cold. We hope that you otherwise enjoyed your visit to the Hydra-Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal York & Faulkner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal York & Faulkner Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: $200 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal York & Faulkner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Regency hotel enjoys an unrivaled position at the centre of Sidmouth’s elegant Esplanade, overlooking the sea and adjacent to the picturesque town centre. Owned and personally run by the Hook family, resident proprietors for three generations, the hotel has a long standing reputation for hospitality and service. The property, having undergone expensive though careful refurbishment, is beautifully appointed with all amenities, excellent facilities and a stunning new spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal York & Faulkner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal York And Faulkner Hotel
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing