We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As Good As Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“As Good As Ever”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our reunion group has been to this hotel 3 times before which gives a clue that it must be very good ! We have all just returned from another reunion at the Royal York. Again it was excellent - from the moment you pull up outside to leaving 2 days later the staff - and I mean ALL of them - are so attentive and efficient. They are all smartly dressed and cannot do enough for you and so happily. Even though the hotel also caters for coach groups, you can always get individual attention. All guests can have afternoon tea in one of the spacious and very comfortable lounges. There is a lovely table d'hote 4 course dinner menu which changes each night - some lovely puddings !! And breakfast is SERVED to you - every course. (There are none of those lukewarm steamers) The bacon is good quality, the toast is thick sliced, and the fresh fruit salad is seriously tasty. The rooms are all different, some are sea facing for a small supplement but well worth it. During our stay we had a problem with the heating which was attended too promptly and with a smile. This hotel shows that the traditional hotel service is still appreciated.

Room Tip: If you choose to pay a little extra for a sea facing room - first floor ones have a balcony - you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewellcomegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    121
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
64
184
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for a short break with a friend 7th and 8th November. Lovely clean room, lovely food, nice atmosphere and excellent service. Tremendous value - looking forward to my next visit. A very pleasant winter break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 565MaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were members of a group of 48 who enjoyed 3 nights here. Our room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Super choices on breakfast and dinner menus served promptly by super efficient and attentive staff, who were always so cheerful. Superbly situated on the sea-front. Ladies - so many interesting shops within walking distance!
Well worth another visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I helped to arrange a Bowls Tour in the Devon /Dorset areas and chose to stay at this Hotel.This proved to be an excellent choice with all 48 of our tour party totally satisfied with all aspects of the Hotel.
Location (Sidmouth with its unique shops) proved a big hit with our lady tourists.There are plenty of walks in and around the area and plenty of places to visit.

Rooms were rated good to excellent with everything everybody required for their stay.
Service of all the Staff was excellent.
Food both breakfast and dinner were exceptional as was the table presentation.
In all very good value for the money

Certainly a hotel to return to either with a touring party or individually.
Congratulations to all concerned.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank analang44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My mother and I have just returned from our 3rd visit to this gem of a hotel. The hotel service is great and staff friendly with a hello ladies overtime we saw them. Clement in the restaurant met us with with a friendly smile and word at every meal. The food is varied and plentiful and extremely delicious [my waistline can vouch for that ] afternoon tea was a welcome sight after a day out with a variety of cakes and scones.
Rooms were cleaned to a high standard and the maid checked with us on a regular basis is there was anything else we needed.
Carparking was interesting! If people actually thought about how they parked it would make everybody's life easier but Janis and Casper moved cars around and managed to make spaces where there hadn't been any ......
The hotel clientelle do tend to be retired but this did not stop me from enjoying my stay as some were very jolly [ some not so and treated the staff as lower beings! ] and I expect we will return next year as the overall experience was wonderful as usual

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnaSurreyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Arrived for a 3 night stay and was very dubious when I saw that it was 2*. However the room was adequate and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and efficient. (See bar staff) The evening meal was excellent, good choice, well presented.
The only downside was that, even though we were a party of 48 (+ many others in the hotel) the hotel did not provide a barman in the evenings. A message on the bar asked customers to phone for a barman! I did this once and got a rather sharp response from the receptionist. A shame. The bar staff, when in attendance were over run and actually lost our snack order at lunch time. If the bar area could be sorted it would be very good indeed

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, ours overlooked the rear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capribunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during our recent coach trip to Sidmouth. We stayed in a twin room which had ample storage space and a spotlessly clean en-suite. We did initially have a plastic sheet covering the mattress on my husband's bed which crackled every time he moved, so we took it off the bed. The maid replaced this with a normal mattress sheet when serviced the room the next morning. This has nothing to do with the hotel but the seagulls seem to get very noisy at about 6.00 a.m. each morning. For the most part the food was very good, with the evening meal consisting of four courses. There is also a vegetarian option available on the last page of the menu. However, on our last night the standard had slipped a bit, whether this was because the dining room was very hectic, as another coach party were also dining at the same time as us, or it was the chef's day off. The couple who shared our table ordered the veal, and his wife's piece of meat was so tough she could not cut it and her husband's boiled potatoes were undercooked. The pastry on the filo. brie and cranberry parcels was undercooked and tasted doughy and my husband's duck was also rather dry. My veal was o.k and so were my croquette potatoes. This would not put me off staying at this hotel again, as it has very friendly staff who work extremely hard and an old fashioned charm.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are accessible by lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franpryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal York & Faulkner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal York & Faulkner Hotel

Property: Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal York & Faulkner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Regency hotel enjoys an unrivaled position at the centre of Sidmouth’s elegant Esplanade, overlooking the sea and adjacent to the picturesque town centre. Owned and personally run by the Hook family, resident proprietors for three generations, the hotel has a long standing reputation for hospitality and service. The property, having undergone expensive though careful refurbishment, is beautifully appointed with all amenities, excellent facilities and a stunning new spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal York & Faulkner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal York And Faulkner Hotel
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing