We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 nights at the Belmont” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“2 nights at the Belmont”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a well established, clean and welcoming hotel with traditional old fashioned standards. A couple of little niggles with our room were attended to with alacrity and rectified. Nothing was too much trouble. Diners are required to "dress" for dinner and it was lovely being waited on in the lounge area whilst we decided on our menu choices. The barman was very interesting to talk to and was a fount of knowledge on wine. Food was first class and the waiting staff excellent. We made full use of the Spa at the sister hotel next door (Victoria) - we preferred the atmosphere of the smaller Belmont. Our fellow guests tended to be even older than us (we are in our sixties). Weather for our trip wasn't great however, this is the sort of hotel you can sit and read a book in!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a sea view - in my opinion there is no point staying in a sea front hotel without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 181BarbaraN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    90
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
77
300
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary. We like the Brend Hotels, always lovely food and friendly staff. We had room 317 which had recently been refurbished and was lovely. It has a side sea view, but the window is quite big so you have a great view out over the sea. We used the swimming pool and spa area at the sister hotel which is just next door, and is very nice.

Room Tip: Room 317, a bit cheaper than a full sea view but has just been renavated and has a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankiePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Always extreemly good service in a calm and peaceful atmosphere at this hotel, we keep going back. The food is out of this world and nothing is too much trouble. Sidmouth is a quaint little town with some very good shops.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view, may be a little extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 592patb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are having our second three day break at this hotel. It has much to recommend it. Well furnished comfortable rooms, a good lounge and bar area and excellent dining although five courses are too much for me! We have stayed at two other Brend Hotels and much prefer this one. It is rather quaint and slightly old fashioned but the excellent service and food more than make up for this. This hotel is really more for people of ' a certain age' than young families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Belmont at least six times. The standard never falters. The staff are attentive, friendly and, at the senior levels, permanent. It is an old building that has been extended and altered many times, which means that modern plumbing, air conditioning and IT services are not up to the standards of a newly spankingly built de luxe battery house. On the other hand, because it is old and adapted, it is warm and comfortable and, ever so slightly quirky. The restaurant is excellent: still silver service (including breakfast - no dismal wandering back and forth from a buffet table where you forgot to pick up the dessert spoon or couldn't find the water) and with a sensible choice of excellently presented dishes. But it is service, service that is the hallmark of The Belmont. Long may it thrive!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordPilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuffley
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Once again we have spent the Easter here at this delightful hotel. The hotel is ideally situated in the lovely quaint seaside town of Sidmouth .All the staff are beyond friendly and go that little bit extra to ensure a wonderful stay. The main public area are divided such that you can enjoy the views from the main sitting room across the putting green to the sea. The smaller rooms offer a cosy atmosphere and ideal for catching up the latest magazines or books on offer. The restaurant is lovely ,food superb at all times they have an exceptiontional pianist and all the staff are so attentive . You are able to use the facilities of the sister hotel The Victoria a 2 minute walk away. We used the sauna, pool ,and jacuzzi and booked for a relaxing massage with Julie -
.
Special mentions this time are to Tim the Manager, Ronnie the Maitre d 'hotel, Victor a new waiter and Lauren with birthday greetings sorry we missed you.
Speaking to other regular guests at this time of the year we all plan to return again next Easter

Room Tip: Take advantage of the special breaks they offer during the year and book early to get extra discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avisanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in the Imperial in Barnstaple last year and it was our experience there that prompted us to locate another hotel in the Brend group. We enjoyed our stay very much and would highly recommend it for service, décor and food. The dinner and breakfast were excellent and were served by attentive and well trained staff. Following dinner coffee was served in the communal lounge which was very welcoming. Our room was warm and well decorated, with a view of the seafront. Personal touches such as flowers, water and chocolates were very much appreciated and the turn down service was carried out whilst dinner was being served which for us is far preferable to being disturbed. We would definitely stay at a Brend Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eastbournejanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Property: The Belmont Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Sidmouth
The Belmont Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing