We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel in Sidmouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in Sidmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Our second visit this year. A peaceful, tranquil hotel in lovey Sidmouth. Great staff, lovely food (Very traditional) and beatuful public rooms - beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busyaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    90
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
77
300
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We have just had a four day break at the Belmont hotel.We had been before many years ago and were pleased to find it offered the same old fashioned service and attention to detail.There were six in our party including Grandparents and ten year old Grandsons and a fantastic time was had by all.Call me old fashioned but I like to dress up for dinner and like to see the men in jackets and ties , which is expected here.The hotel is brilliantly situated for a short stroll into town or a coastal walk.Nothing was too much trouble for the staff , who made our stay very enjoyable indeed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Good location. Unfortunately you can hear the people in the room above walking about. Bathroom in great need of renovation and very small . Bedroom reasonable. Too expensive for what it is..

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor without anyone above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susi110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Booked into the Belmont for 3 days towards the end of September. Having stayed in a number of other hotels in Sidmouth we thought this place would fit the bill as we had had good experiences at other hotels in Devon in the same Brend chain. We were not disappointed: our room (101) was large and comfortable and the food in the restaurant (breakfasts and evening meals) was pretty good. Overall, this was a good break and worth the money we paid. The hotel is very comfortable and appears to be well managed with helpful and attentive staff.
One person, Hannah Sheppard - Duty Manager, deserves special mention as we had some difficulty with our credit card payments due to the hotel's intermediaries taking several payments, putting me over my credit limit. This was embarrassing as a number of other payments I had made on my card were bounced. Hannah stepped up to the mark and sorted things out, giving us an upgraded room and a bottle of wine by way of compensation. Such a nice change to have someone take responsibility and behave in such a professional and kind manner. She is a credit to the organisation.
The clientele is mainly at the older end of the age spectrum but don't let this put you off! Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chemistatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

One of the previous reviews said "One step away of being a care home" I wished I had of seen it before booking, they were not wrong, I counted the Zimmer frames for something to do. Very expensive for what it is. Very average, not recommended unless you are over 75 and want to squander the kid's Inheritance. a Very depressing place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank colinHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed for a weekend with my parents and to be honest it wasn't the usual sort of place we'd stay. Not that there is anything wrong with the Belmont but it is more traditional in both style and attitude than the sort of place we'd normally go for.

It's location is perfect for exploring Sidmouth and it has lovely views. If golf is your thing there is a putting green out front. Other facilities such as a rather nice heater outdoor pool, indoor pool, spa and games room are available at the Victoria Hotel (sister hotel) next door.

The rooms were comfortable but not overly large. Decor was traditional - bit chintzy and fussy for me - but clean and well looked after. The cleaning staff take pride in their work.... Bottled mineral water (free) and chocolates on the pillows were nice touches. If you like a large arm chair or in your room you are in luck.

We had dinner included in our package so ate in. The food was good but again in a more traditional style. We ate at 19.30 and quickly found ourselves alone as most people ate far earlier - perhaps a nod to the average age of people staying there? (70+) Service was attentive and the staff were helpful.

Breakfast the next morning was all served to you at the table. No helping yourself to anything (not even jouce). This may be a plus for you, but for us it felt a little too much. I quite like a breakfast buffet to browse before ordering some cooked food.

All in all we had a nice stay. The service was attentive and quite old fashioned, which might be your idea of heaven or hell. I can't really fault it until I saw the price when I checked out - expensive (£200 for 2 of us)! As we weren't paying it wasn't an issue, but it means it's very unlikely that I'd return if I was paying. I've stayed in nicer places for less.

However, don't let this put you off - I'm not their target audience. My parents loved it and so do many of the older guests who return time after time.

Room Tip: I'm told its worth paying more to upgrade - the rooms are larger with sea views and bath robes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suze_Cassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is about the fourth or fifth time we have stayed there and it keeps improving all the time. Lovely situation on the sea front at Sidmouth and plenty of room to park the car. We had a standard room on the second floor which was a good size with a nice en suite. The food and portions were at all times first rate. The hotel does tend to have mostly over 60's staying there so perhaps its not for the younger generation. The staff are friendly and polite, a big improvement in the dining room from the last time we were there, when there were one or two quite miserable foreign staff. There was dancing on Saturday night and a pianist played in the dining room. It all made for a lovely few days holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bulldog1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Property: The Belmont Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Sidmouth
The Belmont Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing