We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired and in need of refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Reviewed October 9, 2012

this hotel is in a wonderful setting with panoramic views if you are fortunate enough to have a sea facing view. we didnt have this, we were tucked in one of the twin bedded rear rooms overlooking the yard and a block of garages. our room was cold and the central heating didnt work. in particular, the bathroom was very cold.the bathroom fixtures are quite old. our room was not double glazed either.the hotel staff kindly gave us an electric fan heater which helped somewhat. the staff were friendly and helpful but there was a slight language barrier, as to our knowledge, all the staff were from many countries.it made life a little difficult when ordering breakfast if asking for eggs to be turned over. however, the breakfasts were filling and tasty. we had one evening meal at the hotel and i can tell you, it was delicious. a little expensive but well presented. the hotel in general gives you the impression it is tired and needs a lot of tidying up. white paint had turned grey with paintwork chipped off doors and skirting boards. the furniture is well worn and needs replacing. bedroom furniture has certainly seen better days as the chests of drawers were falling apart. the beds themselves were very comfortable. in general the hotel is rather tatty and not the place for a return visit from me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOCTOR1190742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this website and i am sorry to hear that you found the hotel tired and in need of refurbishement. We have recently started a bedroom refurbishment program in the hotel with some of the rooms now looking absolutely beautiful. We have plans in place for further development of the hotel and we hope to continue the refurbsihment program in the new year. I do hope that we may have the oppourtunity to welcome you back in the new year and thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
There are newer reviews for Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 875 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed for 7 nights and had a wonderful time. The Hotel was quaint with wonderful views of the water. The breakfast was great and the service fantastic! The staff was extremely pleasant. Natalie and Elena were really extra special, thanks so much for all you did to make our stay so special!

Room Tip: Be sure to insist on a water view!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website with regards to your recent stay. I am so glad to hgear that you had a lovely time and that the team looked after you for the entire duration of your stay. Your comments have been shared with the members of the team aand we certainly look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit in the not too distant futrure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights booked at separate times so one nearly seaview and one at the front. Both large comfortable rooms well maintained. Attention to detail to make a stay comfortable with excellent large fluffy towells for example. Although the hotel was full at the end of August we had the outside pool to ourselves one afternoon but didn't get time for the putting green. The review would have been 5* with the friendliness of the staff, comfortable lounge, decent bed etc, but the food was no more than good and not as we were hoping for and there was a limited bar service after 10.30 so it was impossible to obtain a cappuchino for example after we visited a local restaurant. However they were minor detractions and I had to have a beer instead.

Room Tip: Ask when booking
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gentleman_of_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this website. I am really pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after bu the team . We have recently introduced our new Local Flavours Menu into the Restaurant and will continue to improve the menu's and type of food that we serve. The issue with the cappuchino should not have happened and has since been rectified. Thank you again for your comments as it is only through your feedback that we can continue to improve the level of service that we provide.and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This will be the third time I have stayed at the Westcliff and I have to say it is still very enjoyable, however, I wish I had been given a refurbished room as the room we had was rather tatty. The view and balcony were superb but the sea gulls were extremely noisey as they sit on the roof till late in the evening then wake up early in the morning! Next time will have a room on the side! Excellent attention from staff and beautifully presented and good quality food. We stayed an extra day as a result of the beautiful weather but regretted it as we had a monsoon that night and the next morning Devon was flooded. It took 4 hours to get home instead of 1 1/2 hours! Still will go back though perhaps later in the year.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room preferrably on the side of the building to escape the seagull cries!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HClarkeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this website . I am really pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were well looked after by the team . Our recently refurbished rooms are absolutely beautiful and we have a programme in placet o update more of the rooms in the new year. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another visit and thank you again for your kind comments .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent three nights here, using it as a base from which to meet family.
The welcome that we received when we arrived after a six-hour drive almost made up for the terrible traffic.... the reception staff were so pleasant.
Our room was quite large enough, with a sea view; the bathroom was so well designed that we hardly noticed its fairly small dimensions. Both the bedroom and the bathroom had PLENTY of cupboard and drawer space - not always the case!

Without exception, the staff were most charming and professional. Our family joined us for lunch one day...on the terrace outside the Lounge. Everyone was made welcome; we were even supplied with cushions! Lunch was served from a comprehensive menu - the serving staff were superb, leaving us alone when we wished, but there when we wanted them.

I cannot comment on dinner, as we didn't need it after such a good lunch.

The chambermaid, too, went the extra mile to find a vase for flowers so cheerfully.

In short, we'll be back, thanks to the lovely staff. I think we might find alternative transport next time, though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this website. It was certainly lovely to read your comments and to hear that you had a wonderful expereince throughout your stay and that the staff catered to your every need. We look forward to welcoming you back for a repeat visit in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We again spent a night at this hotel on our way to Cornwall and again we were very happy with our room. It was beautifully furnished with very tasteful decor and the bathroom was lovely if a little small. The room had a balcony overlooking Sidmouth and the sea.
We did not have an evening meal at the hotel as it was a bit too sedate for us, and we found somewhere with a bit more life to spend the evening, but the lounge is a very comfortable place to sit and have a drink, but the awful music drove us out in the end! Breakfast was OK if a little mean on the portions!
To sum up we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this website. I am really pleased to hear that you had once again enjoyed a return visit to our hotel and that you really enjoyed your stay in one of our recently refurbished rooms. I apologise for the choice of music that you had to endure and we will certainly be looking at improving the music played in the hotel. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have just spent a long weekend at this hotel for the third year running and so there must be something that keeps drawing me back . I must admit I did get a good deal on this occasion but enjoyed it just as much as ever.If you are lucky enough to enjoy a front front view then it is one of the best views of Sidmouth, rain or shine.I have only ever had the breakfast at the hotel and this is of a very good standard and the staff are happy to accommodate any variation of the traditional English.They do advertise a continental breakfast but i find the choice rather limited.The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful.
The building is a little tired in places and is in need of a little updating but all in all I would still recommend it and will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T

Address: Manor Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: $151 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel boasts a prime position on the East Devon coast with spectacular views over Lyme Bay and the Jurassic Coastline. An abundance of coastal walks are right on the hotel's doorstep including the unique Jurassic Coast paths as well as numerous beach strolls and Sidmouth's charming boutique shops and art galleries. The hotel features 57 bedrooms, many with beautiful sea views. The interconnecting new Courtyard bedrooms are perfect for families. All rooms feature ensuite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and luxury toiletries. Relax in the hotel's new luxury Harbour Spa, which is home to five treatment rooms, fitness suite, indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room. Dine in the Upper Deck Restaurant with floor to ceiling glass so you can take in the panoramic coastal views, leading out onto a new terrace perfect for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel Sidmouth
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing