We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like hotels used to be; very good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Like hotels used to be; very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Well what a find. Both Sidmouth and The Westcliffe Hotel exceeded all expectations. Over the years weve visited South Devon but never this location. A delightful and prosperous seaside town.

The Westcliffe was full being a bank holiday and we got the last room (10) which when booking was described as having a small bathroom. It did but it was adequate. The room was spotless with crisp fresh linen of top quality. The hotel is well positioned with lovely views enjoyed from the dining room and lounge areas. Again all very well maintained and appointed to a high standard. The staff throughout our stay were polite and helpful with a courtesy seldom shown nowadays.

The only downside is that its so good I cant get in for September ....ITS FULL !!

Room Tip: Chat to reception. They are very honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamsHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this website and as a first time visitor we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel exceeded your expectations in every way. We will certainly be in contact you with regards to a repeat visit and look forward to welcoming you back agin in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    277
    134
    60
    20
See reviews for
104
454
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Recently stayed for a night to visit Sidmouth when the Folk Festival was on. Hotel is in a fantastic position right on the sea front and just a short walk from the town. Staff were very welcoming, polite and friendly and we were able to stay with our small dog in a ground floor room. Main entrance/reception/lounge areas are quite impressive as you first enter the hotel. However, once you venture beyond this area, the corridors become shabby and our bedroom was much the same. Definitely not up to standard in my opinion for the price. Not cheap really at £130 for the night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on this site, we appreciate all feedback and are constantly evaluating, learning and improving as a result. We have recently refurbished some of the bedrooms and will continue to do so during the winter months and there are plans to develope the hotel further in the new year. I am of course extremely pelased that you found the team to be helpful. We would encourage you to return to the hotel in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Room 30, single room with view over the car park, clean and bright. Tea, coffee, biscuits, and bottled water. Compact bathroom, but absolutely fine. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice from the cold buffet, and anything you want, freshly cooked to order. I experienced the ambience in the hotel as quiet, peaceful and sedate. The position of the hotel is elevated, with views of the sea and seafront from the lounge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redflopflips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this website . I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us, and that you were well looked after by the team . Thank you in particular for your positive feedback for the team, it is always so good for the staff to recieve positive comments from our contented guests.
We hope to welcome you back to the Sidmouth Harbour Hotel in the not too distant fututre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Good hotel and of a good standard of accommodation and food. Staff very friendly. Some peoplle may find it a little old fashioned and guess it may reflect the needs of Sidmouth's elderly visitors who are of a different generation. Would happily stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hadleigh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel on this site, we appreciate all feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, I know that the team will be extremely motivated by your praise. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We took elderly frail parents to stay here and the access for them was excellent. However little things spoiled the stay, bearing in mind the high cost. We were not abe to order any lunch after 1.45pm and afternoon tea had to be ordered the day before! The food was acceptable, but a lot of it was obviously pre-cooked and then reheated which was a shame. The restaurant service was very good. The "accessible" room on the first floor with a walk in shower and balcony/sea view was very small, which was a shame.
The hotel had an air of needing a proper refurbishment and a full time kitchen staff. bear in mind that most of their clientel is elderly who do not move much from the hotel, then refreshments should be available all day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on this site, we appreciate all feedback and are constantly evaluating, learning and improving as a result. I sincerely apologise for any lapse in standards that you may have expereinced during your stay. Tthis is not our usual standard - we work very closely with our staff to ensure high standards and I can assure you that we will be assessing all of the points raised in your review, I am of course extremely pelased that you found the team to be helpful. The hotel is due to undergo a refurbishment program and i do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My daughter's wedding reception was held here yesterday and from the very first phone call the staff at this hotel have been exemplars of excellent service. The General Manager, Mr. Ken Cummings was extraordinarily flexible and adaptable to our constantly evolving plans and fluctuating numbers. All the food was delicious and beautifully presented, the service was unobtrusive, but top rate and I honestly don't think a single thing could have been improved upon.
My daughter and other wedding party members stayed in newly refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms, some with balconies overlooking the sea; the perfect setting for taking photographs of the bride preparing for her big day. The rooms - and indeed the whole hotel - were immaculately clean.
We had a full afternoon tea, the presentation of which was a work of art, followed in the evening by a delicious four course meal. The hotel is immaculately clean and the neutral decor provided a simple backdrop to the stunning views from the picture windows and terrace.
We all had a wonderful day and are very grateful to the hotel staff for their part in making the day so special. I really can't recommend this hotel too highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel on this site, we really appreciate all feedback and are delighted that you everyone enjoyed your daughters special day. I know that the team will be extremely motivated by your praise. We look forward to welcoming you all back for visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just returned from a lovely mid-week break at this hotel despite the weather - not exactly 'flaming June'. Our 2 single rooms were not at the back of the building (as single rooms often are) so no noise from the kitchen or early deliveries and no noise from other guests who were all senior citizens! Lounge and dining room a pleasure to be in and the service excellent. The icing on the cake would have been the dinner menu being as interesting as the lunchtime bar menu. The 'selection of seasonal vegetables' consisted of carrots and beans on our first night, carrots and broccoli on the second and carrots and beans on the third. Also, I had to ask for more potato one night and more chicken another. The restaurant manager explained that at their age, his guests do not like large helpings but to just ask for more if needed and indeed, more was readily given. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fussy_traveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel on this site, we appreciate all feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently reviewing our menus and looking at ways of improving the choice on our menu's .. I know that the team will be extremely motivated by your praise. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Property: Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Address: Manor Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel boasts a prime position on the East Devon coast with spectacular views over Lyme Bay and the Jurassic Coastline. An abundance of coastal walks are right on the hotel's doorstep including the unique Jurassic Coast paths as well as numerous beach strolls and Sidmouth's charming boutique shops and art galleries. The hotel features 60 bedrooms, many with beautiful sea views. The interconnecting new Courtyard bedrooms are perfect for families. All rooms feature ensuite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and luxury toiletries. Relax in the hotel's new luxury Harbour Spa, which is home to five treatment rooms, fitness suite, indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room. Dine in the Upper Deck Restaurant with floor to ceiling glass so you can take in the panoramic coastal views, leading out onto a new terrace perfect for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel Sidmouth
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing