We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed for a weekend last month and will be going back again this month. We were very impressed with the staff at this hotel - who were very efficient and pleasant to deal with. Therooms were adequate - some are being renovated - but typical of an English seaside hotel. The restaurant breakfast was excellent (superb coffee and I am an afficionado of coffee) and freshly cooked food. We booked dinner each evening and it was also good and service above average. We can recommend this hotel. It is next to the seafront and walks nearby.

Room Tip: try for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Member888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

869 - 875 of 922 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

Quite expensive to stay here in the main season, so took the option of a laterooms .com offer for January, and if I can get £52 B & B price again with sea view I will be going again,
The room was fine just dirty windows, no problem at all with the staff all very friendly and helpful.
Only downside was the breakfast which for the first two days was very poor, the plate was very hot and the food lacked flavour as it seemed to be very dried up, may be it was kept too warm for too long, just did not taste freshly cooked, however the third and last breakfast was fine. The expensive dinner option was not taken.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluekupkake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The hotel is located at the far end of the esplanade so technically it does face the sea but is behind some pretty impressive beach front thatched housing. Booked here as a wedding anniversary treat, on arrival had to wait about 5 mins for reception staff to attend to us, as there was a bit of a conflab going on in a nearby office, I did wave through the mirrored glass window, however something on the computer was keeping staff amused and distracted! Anyway eventually we got to book in. Allocated room 9 with a seaview, Room was big and clean, lots of space and a massive wardrobe to put your luggage, little sofa and table chairs all the usual tea and coffee stuff. Big massive bed, comfy and clean. annex wash basin with a bathroom bath with shower and seperate shower, again clean, but apparently due for a re furb. The shower was good and refeshing.Window overlooks a flat roof onto lawn two balconied rooms either side. looking on to the Victoria Hotel ( this looked impressive!) Sea view to right and up the Esplanade, so technically not a direct seaview ! No net curtains so had to keep curtains closed all of the time to save on other folk peeking in from other rooms! As I have a tendency to walk around in my underpants or naked not good, so did not get to see the sea much! Glass on the windows was old too and seen better days, apart from all that the room was ok, I liked it.
Breakfast was hearty, everything you need to start the day, I did not go hungry at breakfast. Very good. Dinner in the was again a fixed choice menu of about four choices, bit confused on a £3 surcharge for smoked chicken salad, well thats not a technical dish, so thats bad news even the basic of chefs can throw a bit of salad and a bit of chicken on a plate. I must say that the main courses were excellent, My Steak with an £8.00 surcharge was excellent! however the deserts and starters were average chief skills. Wine list is atrocious, overpriced rubbish, I know my wine, house wine at £15.50 a bottle is a rip off, £25. for an average wine is a rip off too, when will hotels learn! I can buy a decent very drinkable enjoyable wine for £10 and £ 16 buys me luxury wine to drink So I am affraid the wine list here is crass. The Staff are your saving grace though as they potter around all night at your service and do a grand job and are very polite. Overall it was a good deal , nice place, cosy and relaxing atmosphere. A little too hot at times temperature wise. This is a nice Hotel, I understand is due for a bit of a re-furb . Sidmouth is good too plenty of good shops and may I recommend Woodfordes Perfumery, top class smells for ladies and gents here!
So would I return, yes probably. Just iron out your little faults with the Cheifing and your wine list and your be onto a deffinate winner with myself and my friends who I will tell do stay and make your own review!

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a proper sea view, be wine list savy, ask about corkage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DumnoniaReviver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Just returned from a weekend break at this charming hotel . Very pleasant place to relax and unwind. All staff were very helpful and polite offering good service . Quality of our bedroom very acceptable with good shower etc , no bath , not a problem for us.Would recommend this hotel a break . Well positioned for seafront and walk to town centre.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This was probably our 6th or 7th short break at the Hotel within the last 10 years,. All the staff we encountered were as always pleasant and helpful. We were allocated a refurbished room with a balcony and superb view of Sidmouth and Lyme Bay.
The breakfasts were excellent as were the evening dinners, with super service at both meal times.
Our party of four couldn't find any negative aspects, other than that drinks were a little expensive, but you'd expect that at a hotel.
Our stay was at a special Winter DB&B rate, so all in all we thooughly enjoyed ouir time at The Westcliff.

Room Tip: You must have a sea view room. If you're not happy with the room ask the General Manager for a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T3JHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel , i'm so pleased to read that we delivered the service and experience that we pride ourselves on at the Sidmouth Harbour Hotel. I'm delighted to hear that this is your 6th -7th visit and i look forward to welcoming you again in 2012 .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Bad check in experience, upon arrival advised that my booking had been cancelled, took 20 minutes to sort it out and only after I produced documentation to prove that it hadn't been cancelled.
Hotel was situated in a nice location overlooking the sea and Sidmouth, only a ten minute walk to town. Room 33 was clean and tidy but, the beds, for goodness sake, do something about them, most uncomfortable, they were so soft and floppy they felt like water beds, get them fixed please. Bathroom was great and well appointed.
Breakfast, which was included in the price, was excellent with all the usual breakfast goodies on offer. Would I stay again? probably, but get your check in fixed and do something about the beds.

Room Tip: Room 33 overlooks Sidmouth and The Channel, make sure they have fixed the beds however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank copperiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Thank you for your review - we have taken all your points on board and will absolutely look into why this occurred on check in. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed our sea view location and that you would consider returning to our hotel again. With regards to the beds ,I'm sorry to hear that you found yours uncomfortable-this can often be down to personal preference. I would also like to advise that the room that you stayed in has undergone a complete refurbishment including repalcement of the bed. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Well....this us how all lunches should be! Superb food, wonderful personal service and a lovely environment....thankyou

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sidmouth
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidmouth Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidmouth Harbour Hotel

Address: Manor Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: $130 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidmouth Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AA Four Star rated Sidmouth Harbour Hotel boasts a prime position on the East Devon coast with spectacular views over Lyme Bay and the Jurassic Coastline. An abundance of coastal walks are right on the hotel's doorstep including the unique Jurassic Coast paths as well as numerous beach strolls and Sidmouth's charming boutique shops and art galleries. The hotel features 57 bedrooms, many with beautiful sea views. The interconnecting new Courtyard bedrooms are perfect for families. All rooms feature ensuite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and luxury toiletries. Relax in the hotel's new luxury HarSpa, which is home to five treatment rooms, fitness suite, indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room. Dine in the Upper Deck Restaurant with floor to ceiling glass so you can take in the panoramic coastal views, leading out onto a new terrace perfect for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sidmouth Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel Sidmouth
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing