We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berwick House
Nearby Hotels
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elizabeth(Sidmouth)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Sidmouth)
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
265
18
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
18
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadb bon arrivalguest houseannex roomcup of teaoff road parkingsea frontwarm welcomehome maderoom was spotlesswonderful hostsfull englishlovely coupleset you up for the daybreakfast was excellentfirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 287 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I had read the reviews and felt that standards would be very high as people returned again and again. Very welcoming on arrival with hot drinks and fresh home baked cakes. The Twin bedded room we were in initially was a little small but spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the room we moved to after wishing to stay an extra night was beautiful, larger and perhaps more to our taste. Breakfast was unbelievable, so full of taste, cooked to perfection and presented beautifully -although I had to ask for a smaller portion the 2nd morning which was perfect for me! When we returned drenched from a day out Sue's answer was to make us hot drinks, sit us down and dry our clothes. Remarkable. Like no other B & B that we have visited - Sue and David have the 'X Factor' for caring for their guests. We aim to return! especially as it is so close to the Promenade and easy access to shops when you perhaps have trouble walking too far which I do.

Room Tip: Ask Sue! explain your needs. Also they have such an excellent risk assessment and information on their website you can find everything you need to know. I will say some rooms are more modern that others so state your preference.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear M and D,

Thank you so much for the five star review, we appreciate it very much. We look forward too seeing you both again sometime in the future.

Best wishes
David and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our first visit to Berwick House. After reading the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor we were sure we had made a good choice, and this was immediately confirmed by the warm welcome on our arrival. We had room 4, which is at the back of the property, and perfectly adequate in size. In fact, it is slightly bigger than the room my parents were staying in at the Kingswood and Devoran Hotel on the Sidmouth seafront. However, more importantly our room was beautifully furnished to a high standard and was spotlessly clean. It is evident that the owners, Susan and David take a real pride in their business.

'Superlative' would not be too strong a word to describe the breakfasts. I don't think I have ever had such a good breakfast at any B&B or hotel for that matter. Of course, for this very reason I was induced to eat more than I would normally at that time of day! Home made bread and preserves were especially appreciated by my wife while I opted for the cooked option, which included tasty, locally sourced sausages and bacon.

The standard of the rooms coupled with the fantastic breakfasts is sufficient to warrant a 5 star rating, however Berwick House has even more to offer - the hospitality and welcoming nature of its owners. Nothing is too much trouble for Susan and David, who show a genuine interest in their guests and are happy to chat when they really must be tired at the end of a long day. It is their attention to the details which made our stay so enjoyable and needless to say that if we have occasion to visit Sidmouth in the future we will certainly be returning to Berwick House. Why have I awarded 5 stars to this B&B? Quite simply because there is no option to give six!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a very generously sized bathroom.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

What can we say.. an absolutely fantastic review !! We are always glad to hear the feedback that our guests give as we try so hard to make it memorable for each and every guest.
We were so glad that you were were pleased with room 4, it's standards and details.
It was lovely to meet you both and your family too.
Best wishes
David and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our third visit to Berwick House. Just as good as previously. Sue and David certainly have a winning formula. We especially liked the weekly special breakfast. Keep up the good work. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: The only slightly disappointing feature was the size of the bedroom, although the en-suite was more than adequate
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is always lovely to see our visitors return year after year.
We hope you have a lovely time next year "twice". Please bring photo's next time to show us.

Best wishes

David and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I feel a bit bad saying anything negative about Berwick House because Sue and David are perfect hosts, the room was well appointed, nicely decorated and well equipped, the breakfast is great with home-made bread and preserves, Sue made restaurant reservations for us; they even remembered it was my wife's birthday and left her a card and a bag of chocolate brazils. Indeed the only reason they only get 4 discs is that everything felt a bit small.
We had room 2 so others may be different but in the shower room you can touch both walls at the same time with your elbows, the shower itself is small, the washbasin is small, in the bedroom the soft chair is the kind of thing a woman might use to put on make-up in front of a dressing table so no use for sitting reading; even the bed seemed small and still only has a short gap to the far wall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear John,
We are really saddened that you were not pleased with room 2. We went to a great deal of expense last winter to refit the en-suite in this room. Our regular visitors who choose to stay in room 2 have been complementing us on it all season. We opted for a smaller sink to create more space in the en-suite for ease of movement. All our regulars love the wall hung toilet, the fully tiled walls and floor and the new run of storage units, in fact everything about the new en-suite.
We are not sure where you were standing when your elbows were touching both sides of the room but we haven't been able to do it ourselves as the room is 4' wide. There is a narrowing but this was where there was once a door and I think that in most doorways you can touch your elbows on both sides.
As for the bed, it is an average sized bed, 4'6" wide. The mattress is of a very high quality made by Harrison and has a very high number of pocket springs so again I am not sure why sleep quality wasn't rated as 5*.
I measured the area at the foot of the bed to the wall, it is 2'6" which I would consider again to be of an average distance.
The chairs in the bedroom are "bedroom chairs". We have a visitors lounge for our guests who choose to either read or watch television in the comfort of lounge chairs.
Berwick House is an old farm house and is grade 2 listed, it is not purpose built for the tourist industry. We are lucky that we have been allowed to add en-suites to every room, it is a case of utilizing every space possible.
I see from your previous reviews that you are well travelled. So I am assuming that you have stayed in hotels world wide and have therefore judged us again'st the size of their rooms or indeed of your own residence. With the greatest respect, if you wish rooms to be of a certain size, perhaps you should enquire about this at the booking stage or perhaps hotels can better meet your expectations.
We are what we are, a "Silver Awarded" Guest House.
We are sorry that you were unwell whilst staying with us and hope this didn't cloud your judgement.
We are glad that your wife enjoyed her birthday celebrations at your chosen restaurant and hopefully she will have fond memories of her birthday in Sidmouth.
Best Wishes
David and Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We're just back from another delightful stay at delightful Berwick House with the delightful Susan and David. As usual, it was faultlessly excellent. Our warm welcome was followed by tea and cakes, and then off to our room in the annexe. It is a lovely room, peaceful and quiet, and beautifully fitted out. David was his usual helpful self with the luggage. Breakfast is superb - and plenty of it. Home made bread and preserves give it that special touch sadly lacking in most other establishments. This is a lovely guest house, with a friendly and relaxing atmosphere, and run by a genuinely caring and considerate couple. It doesn't get any better than this. We're already looking forward to our next visit. Pat & Philip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

P and P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and the kind words you have said about us here at Berwick House. We were very glad to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay and all being well, hopefully we will see you next year. Take care Sue and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews