We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing too much trouble” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berwick House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berwick House
Ranked #2 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nothing too much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our third visit to Berwick House. Just as good as previously. Sue and David certainly have a winning formula. We especially liked the weekly special breakfast. Keep up the good work. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: The only slightly disappointing feature was the size of the bedroom, although the en-suite was more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is always lovely to see our visitors return year after year.
We hope you have a lovely time next year "twice". Please bring photo's next time to show us.

Best wishes

David and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
183
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I feel a bit bad saying anything negative about Berwick House because Sue and David are perfect hosts, the room was well appointed, nicely decorated and well equipped, the breakfast is great with home-made bread and preserves, Sue made restaurant reservations for us; they even remembered it was my wife's birthday and left her a card and a bag of chocolate brazils. Indeed the only reason they only get 4 discs is that everything felt a bit small.
We had room 2 so others may be different but in the shower room you can touch both walls at the same time with your elbows, the shower itself is small, the washbasin is small, in the bedroom the soft chair is the kind of thing a woman might use to put on make-up in front of a dressing table so no use for sitting reading; even the bed seemed small and still only has a short gap to the far wall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear John,
We are really saddened that you were not pleased with room 2. We went to a great deal of expense last winter to refit the en-suite in this room. Our regular visitors who choose to stay in room 2 have been complementing us on it all season. We opted for a smaller sink to create more space in the en-suite for ease of movement. All our regulars love the wall hung toilet, the fully tiled walls and floor and the new run of storage units, in fact everything about the new en-suite.
We are not sure where you were standing when your elbows were touching both sides of the room but we haven't been able to do it ourselves as the room is 4' wide. There is a narrowing but this was where there was once a door and I think that in most doorways you can touch your elbows on both sides.
As for the bed, it is an average sized bed, 4'6" wide. The mattress is of a very high quality made by Harrison and has a very high number of pocket springs so again I am not sure why sleep quality wasn't rated as 5*.
I measured the area at the foot of the bed to the wall, it is 2'6" which I would consider again to be of an average distance.
The chairs in the bedroom are "bedroom chairs". We have a visitors lounge for our guests who choose to either read or watch television in the comfort of lounge chairs.
Berwick House is an old farm house and is grade 2 listed, it is not purpose built for the tourist industry. We are lucky that we have been allowed to add en-suites to every room, it is a case of utilizing every space possible.
I see from your previous reviews that you are well travelled. So I am assuming that you have stayed in hotels world wide and have therefore judged us again'st the size of their rooms or indeed of your own residence. With the greatest respect, if you wish rooms to be of a certain size, perhaps you should enquire about this at the booking stage or perhaps hotels can better meet your expectations.
We are what we are, a "Silver Awarded" Guest House.
We are sorry that you were unwell whilst staying with us and hope this didn't cloud your judgement.
We are glad that your wife enjoyed her birthday celebrations at your chosen restaurant and hopefully she will have fond memories of her birthday in Sidmouth.
Best Wishes
David and Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We're just back from another delightful stay at delightful Berwick House with the delightful Susan and David. As usual, it was faultlessly excellent. Our warm welcome was followed by tea and cakes, and then off to our room in the annexe. It is a lovely room, peaceful and quiet, and beautifully fitted out. David was his usual helpful self with the luggage. Breakfast is superb - and plenty of it. Home made bread and preserves give it that special touch sadly lacking in most other establishments. This is a lovely guest house, with a friendly and relaxing atmosphere, and run by a genuinely caring and considerate couple. It doesn't get any better than this. We're already looking forward to our next visit. Pat & Philip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
P and P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and the kind words you have said about us here at Berwick House. We were very glad to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay and all being well, hopefully we will see you next year. Take care Sue and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed at Berwick House. From arriving to leaving Susan and David were the perfect host's. Tea and cakes were offered on arrival. Luggage was carried to our room, which was spotless. We had the attic room, which meant the ceiling sloped both ends, but we managed fine and the en suite was well fitted out, and all the toiletries you would require were provided. The breakfast's were the best we have ever had. A different special was served each week. I am on a Gluten free diet, and I was well catered for, with the minimum of fuss.
The location is perfect for walking everywhere, we did not use our car all week. There are plenty of good places to eat in the evening and loads of cafe's. The one in Connaught gardens serves big slices of cake!. We would definitely recommend Berwick House and will return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you B and M for your glowing review. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. Since your departure we sent another guest to the gluten free cafe and it was commented on by the proprietor. So thank you for the feedback.
Best wishes to you both and we look forward to the next time.
Susan and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Sue and David were so helpful and friendly, from the welcoming cup of tea on arrival to the end of the stay. Sue booked a restaurant for us, breakfasts were perfect, we particularly liked the vegetarian choices, and everything was home made.
Our annex room was a little small, but had everything we needed and was spotless.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you have made the decision to stay with us again in the future.
Susan and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just returned from yet another great stay with Sue and David at Berwick House. They are wonderful hosts,nothing is too much trouble. They make you feel so welcome, a real home from home.The rooms are all of a very high standard ( I think we've stayed in all of them over the years ). The breakfasts are freshly prepared, with such an amazing choice.Cakes, bread and preserves all home made.Berwick House is ideally situated with safe off road parking and within very easy walking distance of the town. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else, now we've experienced the best!! Lesley & Alan

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
What can we say... wonderful review... thank you.
Thank you so much for being lovely guests.. it's our pleasure to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Hope all goes well next week. Love to you both.
Sue and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montmelian, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

A very nice place to stay! Sidmouth is also a very nice city.
We really enjoyed our stay in this B&B, the breakfast was well cooked.
We will recommend this place to our family and friends.
And we would love to come back !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FrenchClochette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you C and M for taking the time to write a review.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in England.
Best wishes
David and Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.4 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynstead House
Lynstead House
#1 of 33 in Sidmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berwick House

Property: Berwick House
Address: Salcombe Road, Sidmouth EX10 8PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Berwick House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome from Susan and David awaits you with home made cake and tea on arrival. A scrumptious, freshly cooked English breakfast is offered with home made bread and preserves, also other tempting freshly prepared foods. Soya milk and gluten free bread always available. Berwick House is situated just a two minute walk from the town but not on the main road and eight minute walk from the Esplanade. Parking for all with easy access. All rooms are en-suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berwick House Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing