We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent choice”
Review of Berwick House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berwick House
Ranked #3 of 32 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coulsdon, Surrey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was one of the best places we have stayed in offering B&B. A warm welcome with tea and cake and felt like we had known each other for years. A spotless accommodation with all needs catered for. Food excellent with so many choices and prepared, cooked and served with a smile. All cakes, bread and preserves are home made and very tasty. A very convenient location with parking spaces and only a 5/8 minute walk to the sea. Both Sue and David are charming hosts and were always up for a chat. Will return when next down that way.

Room Tip: All rooms are newly decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you Jim for taking the time and trouble to write your brilliant review.
We are glad you felt at home with us and that you enjoyed your stay here in Berwick House. We too enjoyed the little chats which were varied and interesting.
From two old fossils, David and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
186
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our first time at this lovely B & B. A warm welcome, gorgeous large breakfast, spotlessly clean throughout. Sue and David could not had been more helpful and treated us like family.
Highly recommended. Safe off road parking, quiet area of town, but just a 5 min walk from all the action.
Would stay again and again.
Many thanks. Lisa and Andy Taylor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie26x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you L and A for the review.. we appreciate it very much. We were glad to hear you had a "lovely stay" with us and we look forward to seeing you both again in the future.

Susan and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked in rather 'last minute' with Sue and David, and how lucky we were that they had space for us. We were spending four nights in Sidmouth looking around the area and at various properties as are planning to move. The welcome is warm and genuine, with tea and biscuits on arrival. Breakfasts are just wonderful, with an excellent choice, including a changing 'house special'. The porridge is proper porridge, not the sawdust one often is served in some v. expensive hotels, and the full English (without beans at our request) was cooked to perfection, as were the kippers. Preserves are home made too. They were also happy to keep my ice packs in their freezer over night for use with our picnic. The medium sized bedroom we had was most comfortable, and very well equiped with everything you could wish for in the shower room too, which was immaculate. Sue and David are a lovely couple and a brilliant team and their success is so very well deserved. Berwick House is in a super position, with car parking, and is a short walk to the town, restaurants and the sea, plus a few seconds to the wonderful National Trust Byes river walks too. We look forward to seeing them again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Openmind91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an excellent review. We were so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. We were so pleased recently to have been given the "4 star "Silver Award" by Quality in Tourism and retained our Breakfast Award.
David and Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Faultless on every criterion - and I am not a person easily pleased! The proprietors couldn't be more welcoming and helpful; the food is wonderful (breakfasts not only superbly cooked but also so generous I couldn't always face lunch!); excellent location with a pretty riverside park not far away and in easy reach of the sea front.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you for your kind words of praise. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

David and Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Homely and very comfortable, ideally situated close to the town and seafront of Sidmouth. Adequate parking enabled us to leave the car at the B&B, with only a 5 min walk to the main shops & Seafront. We stayed in the annex, which has been recently decorated and Sue & David are very accommodating and attentive hosts (as well as being genuinely nice people), where nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are cooked to perfection and are of a very high standard with home made bread, jams & specials, as well as the traditional Full English. We had a great time and will definitely be coming back! Doug C.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future with your lovely family.
David and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

You can't go wrong with this Guest House ,Sue and David are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The accommodation is second to none and the breakfasts are fantastic that is why we go back time and time again. The Guest House is well situated within easy walking distance of the town and beach.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the Guest House are large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Sue,
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We hope everything works out the way you want it to. See you next year.

Best wishes
David and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

In all my years in the RAF in command of Barrage Balloon stations the length & breadth of Britain, we have never, ever stayed at a more hospitable & welcoming place as Berwick House. The accommodation is top hole, the breakfasts legendary & mine hosts (Susan & David) the most charming couple imaginable. The memsaab (Marge) & I fully intend to repeat the experience.
Cedric 'Curly' Butter ( Wing Commanded - ret'd)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank I R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetstargazer9999, Owner at Berwick House, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Wow.. that is one brilliant review. For you to say that you have never stayed at a more hospitable and welcoming place in the length and breadth of Britain is fantastic. Thank you so very much. We very much look forward to you staying with us again.
David and Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berwick House

Property: Berwick House
Address: Salcombe Road, Sidmouth EX10 8PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Berwick House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome from Susan and David awaits you with home made cake and tea on arrival. A scrumptious, freshly cooked English breakfast is offered with home made bread and preserves, also other tempting freshly prepared foods. Soya milk and gluten free bread always available. Berwick House is situated just a two minute walk from the town but not on the main road and eight minute walk from the Esplanade. Parking for all with easy access. All rooms are en-suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berwick House Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing