We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best breakfasts ever”
Review of Berwick House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berwick House
Ranked #2 of 32 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best breakfasts ever”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

fantastic breakfasts, yummy scrambled egg and smoked salmon plus lots more, very friendly people, great location, very very clean room with excellent shower, can't praise it enough to be honest
stayed there 18th May for 3 nights and could have stayed longer but work called unfortunately our friends were also really pleased and I was so glad as I had picked it!!
Love to Sue and Dave from Claire, Gavin, Malcolm and Tracey

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 2, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
185
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

A great little B&B just a couple of minutes walk from the town and sea front. Sue and Dave were great hosts and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was great with plenty of fruit, cereal and cooked options.
Rooms are ot huge, but still plenty of space and value for money. Our had a brand new shower room which was great.
Would definately stay here again when in Sidmouth. Great place, location and value..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crisp47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Berwick House is conveniently located close to Sidmouth's lovely town centre and the fantastic seafront, so it's great if you want to explore on foot.
The owners of Berwick House were very friendly.
Everything was absolutely clean, the room was comfortable and spacious enough for two people with rather a lot of luggage, the bed was comfy; Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunkelblau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

A second, lovely stay with the most friendly Sue and Dave.

We also recommend the guided walks around the town, which start from outside the museum.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandAnn_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2012

If what you want is a warm welcome, a comfy bed, a sparkly clean room with en suite that has a hot, efficient shower and fluffy towels, a breakfast with everything on offer served with a smile, that is about 3 minutes walk from the High Street, a pretty park, a cinema and several nice restaurants, in a quiet street.... Then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We had Room 2 which benefitted from having the pull light to the en suite inside so we didn't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fizzi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We went for a short break in November to Sidmouth. We had an enjoyable stay at Berwick House, Sue and Dave made us very welcome and the room we had was excellent, breakfast was good with a good choice. There was off street parking and it is within easy walking distance to the town and sea front. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienne, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had a short break in August and stayed in the annexe. Dad was in the downstairs twin and John and I were upstairs in the double. Both rooms were clean with comfy beds, good showers and plenty of storage. Dads room would be a little tight for space if there were 2 of you and the telly would perhaps have been better placed attached to the wall but these are minor points. Sue and David were excellent hosts, always helpful. Sues breakfasts were lovely with lots of choice and were well cooked.
The hotel is in a great position within easy walking of the shops and front or the Byes and has good off street parking.
We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend staying at Berwick House.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsbint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berwick House

Property: Berwick House
Address: Salcombe Road, Sidmouth EX10 8PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Berwick House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome from Susan and David awaits you with home made cake and tea on arrival. A scrumptious, freshly cooked English breakfast is offered with home made bread and preserves, also other tempting freshly prepared foods. Soya milk and gluten free bread always available. Berwick House is situated just a two minute walk from the town but not on the main road and eight minute walk from the Esplanade. Parking for all with easy access. All rooms are en-suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berwick House Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing