We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

The Otter Inn, Colaton Raleigh
Ranked #1 of 7 Nightlife in Sidmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great value”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We ate here for lunch with two children under 7yrs. There was an excellent range of foods and the service was very good. The food was lovely and the surroundings beautiful. It is very child friendly and an all round great family friendly place to eat/drink.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank M3llissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    16
    17
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clearly a bit of a curate's egg!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Have visited twice and found friendly staff, pleasant atmosphere and good value and generous helpings of food on their set menus. Not gastro by any means but perfectly good. Haven't been for Sunday lunch so can't comment on experiences of others here but weekday all day menu was fine.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spinyl0bster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Only Gave it 1 point as i couldn't give it Zero”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I always think there is a line between overly busy and just incompetence and unfortunately they are so past the wrong side of the line that i wouldnt be coming back here again.

There is no way that 4 people behind the bar should have any problems keeping things moving but there was no direction and all of them were running around like headless chickens and actually acheiving very little.

Had the carvery and the meat was stringy, vegetables were luke warm, plate was cold and i reckon a glass of water would have been thicker than the gravy! It was mentioned to the waiting staff but they weren't really interested. Decided on the Knickerbocker glory for desert, or should i say the spoonfull of tinned fruit under some ice cream ( no sauce) served in a PLASTIC sundae dish!

When paying, they even tried to overcharge us, i wonder how many times they try that one on because they didnt seem to bothered that they did it.

In conclusion, poor luke warm food and an even poorer luke warm service!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Went for a carvery with the family and I have never tasted anything so revolting. The day started badly with the bar staff so unbelievably slow and then serving people out of order. Took one of our party 25 minutes to buy a round and the bar wasn't even that busy. The bar man couldn't serve us a spritzer (wine and soda) because they don't have long glasses .... what pub doesn't know how to serve a spritzer or has glasses to do it in. It then took ages to find out which table we were at. We queued for our carvery which looked distinctly tired by the time we got to it... they had just brought out a new joint of beef but with anaemic soggy potatoes, cold Yorkshires, watery gravery and the rest of the veg either virtually raw or cold it certainly wasn't worth the £8.95 they charge. The plates were cold and the serving utensils plastic that it resembled a very poor school canteen. The beef was like shoe leather and tasteless and the majority of my meal was cold. The only slightly edible part was the cauliflower cheese. We did pass our comments of cold food onto the waitress and all we were told was she would tell the chef!!! We then ordered puddings which were edible and were at least hot despite having to wait for spoons and being given soup spoons to eat pudding with!!! When settling up which again took an age despite the bar being empty by now I nearly got overcharged fortunately I had checked the prices in the menu before as I expected a shambles when paying. I have to say I would rather have had my sunday lunch at mcdonalds and that it was the worse £30 I have ever spent! Such a shame because we have been before and it was a lot nicer... its going down hill the staff are poorly trained and cant cope when its busy. It could be so good as its a lovely location for families fortunately it didn't spoil the youngest member of our parties birthday. No we wont be returning ever!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaLouisa235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food excellent service”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We came to the Otter for Sunday Carvery and were pleasantly suprised!! Excellent tasty food and great service. Will definately return again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gunn1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Otter Inn, Colaton Raleigh also viewed

 

Been to The Otter Inn, Colaton Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing