We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and friendly with excellent parking and beautiful gardens”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southcombe Guest House
Ranked #22 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. there is ample parking and the gardens are outstanding, enjoyed many a morning sat in the garden enjoying the sunshine before taking the short walk in to town and the beach. Will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariephillips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Southcombe Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 56 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2010

If you want a good place to stay this is the place. Excellent all round-people, rooms beakfasts ect all excellent. Recommended

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverback186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

A quiet place to stay in Sidmouth. Rooms are clean but dont expect too much if staying in a small double that has a shower and a sink in the room itself. Breakfast could be better. A bit more friendliness of the hosts could have made our stay more enjoyable. Overall, an ok place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monique246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Southcombe Guest House, situated on the quiet side of sunny Sidmouth, has certainly perfected a blend between top services and excellent quality.

The building and its gardens were immaculate during our stay, and we were pleased to see that the owners' attention to detail was also reflected in its interior. Everything from the warmly coloured rooms to the tasteful paintings boasted a luxurious feel.

The private rooms themselves were spacious and generously equipped, with everything from complimentary tea to a Freeview-equipped television. That's to say nothing of the free Wi-Fi access! All of the rooms also had en suite bathroom facilities, complete with powerful showers.

Come breakfast time, we were treated to a first class meal in the form of a full English. We ate in one of the front rooms alongside other tenants, which enabled a lively, friendly environment allowing plenty of discussion of what each were planning to do with their day! This service was repeated in the evening, where an extensive menu is offered for perusal.

In closing, I feel I must say that the staff in particular were fantastic. You will be in excellent hands with Graham and Jackie - both of them would bend over backwards to help their customers. No query is left unanswered, no matter how small.

I sincerely hope that you will consider Southcombe Guest House for your stay away in Sidmouth, and that you have as fantastic a time as we have!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackOSullivan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

wow... what an amazing find , i would recommend this beautiful guest house to everyone , my husband and myself stayed for a week and i must say we were very sad too leave , the guest house is cleaned to very high standard , the breakfast n dinnners are sublime. there ample off the road carparking in the guest houses private car park , the owners of the guesthouse are the most friendliest couple u could meet nothing is too much bother . i still miss even now after dinner stitting in the stunning garden they have with a cuppa tea , the garden is amazing with summer houses and a pond and the nicest part a stream at the bottom where we saw a kingfisher . anyone thinking of going to sidmouth should really check this little gem out you really wont be disappointed . we will be returning

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myliaWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

What a wonderful find. My wife and I went on the 4 Day Special last October and found it such good value we went back this summer. Everthing was clean and the food lovely and the garden is amazing. Nothing ever seems to be too much trouble for teh proprieters and their staff. Have alread booked my 4-Day special for October this year.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank WelltravelledBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

An excellent guest house with well equipped rooms, comfortable beds and above all spotlessly clean. Breakfast was a good start to the day, well cooked food and friendly service providing local knowledge and information re excursions, routes etc.
The thing that sets this guest house apart is the friendly helpful but not intrusive service. Would we visit again...Yes

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehandjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Glen Hotel
Royal Glen Hotel
#13 of 13 in Sidmouth
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Groveside Guest House
The Groveside Guest House
#9 of 33 in Sidmouth
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynstead House
Lynstead House
#1 of 33 in Sidmouth
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coombe Bank Guest House
Coombe Bank Guest House
#18 of 33 in Sidmouth
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southcombe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcombe Guest House

Address: St. Elmo Vicarage Road, Sidmouth EX10 8UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Southcombe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Southcombe Guest House Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing