We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sidmouth
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing place

We were here 4 years ago and it was great then. Big changes and the experience even greater. Free... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
keith l
,
Gloucester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great free afternoon

Can’t believe it was free. Lovely way to spend a few hours. Maze, information, funny donkeys. Would... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
jakethepeg1
,
Ruislip, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 3,312 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sidmouth
from $248.98
More Info
from $15.81
More Info
from $69.79
More Info
Reviews (3,312)
Filter reviews
3,312 results
Traveler rating
2,669
481
112
31
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,669
481
112
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free entry gift shop lovely donkeys adopted donkey love donkeys lovely place building work free attraction poitou donkeys all ages few hours the barn lovely visit walk around couple of hours cakes cream tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 3,312 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2020

Me and my partner visited the Donkey Sanctuary, when we came on holiday to Isle of Wight and we loved it. We enjoyed ticking all off all the donkeys we seen by their name and loved how well looked after they are. Would definitely recommend to families as children would love it.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank travelwithchels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

Made a special trip to visit for my third time. Was great to see the new building and had a very nice lunch for a good price. The gift shop was a delight for my daughter. We loved seeing the donkeys and giving them a fuss. Was funny watching two donkeys playing tug of war with a boot. Was more than happy to adopt a donkey to help this wonderful haven for the donkeys.we look forward to returning.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank grahampk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Visited for the first time on a beautiful sunny day in mid January 2020.
This place is in the next County to us and just over an hours drive away.
We were amazed how fantastic the place was.
As advised in another review on here we took along some carrots to donate and made a few donations in the boxes around the sanctuary and spent in the shop and cafe. Considering the place is free entry and car park is too it was the least we could do.

The donkeys were out and easy to view, many coming upto you for a stroke and to say hello.
They certainly know when the staff are around as their quite vocal.
We visited the maze which was fun and took a few little walks but due to recent weather it was a bit muddy under foot and non of us had walking shoes/wellies on.

We stopped for lunch and afternoon coffee in the cafe. Very pleasant and not over priced especially when all profits go towards the donkeys.
My only issue was my brunch was cold but soon rectified... No fuss (tho I now realise it didn't come back with a hash brown)

It certainly won't be our last visit to this wonderful place and you can see the donkeys are so well cared for.
The only gripe which isn't the sanctuarys fault is it would be nice if people took more care around other people's property! We returned to our car which wasn't squashed in to a space either to find some nice person had knocked the wing mirror out. Fortunately even tho their electric movable it did go back into place no problem.

Thank you for a fabulous afternoon out and please do donate to this worthy cause on your visits

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank PortlandLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

Marvellous place to visit. It is inspiring and relaxing. There are more than 200 donkeys which have been rescued from horrid situations. They are all well cared for. The animals are kept in excellent conditions and are a joy to meet. The situation is inspiring and I would recommend a visit. There is an excellent cafe and gift shop on the site which is easily accessible to people with disabilities. Entry is free and there are plenty of seat and facilities for an one who is disabled. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank LizM671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

If you have children or even if you don't you should go here, the place is amazing from friendly staff, who I have to say know everything, (if they knew anymore they'd probably know your name before you tell them .)to the most adorable donkeys, I'm just glad someone had the vision and gumption to help these poor overworked animals, so please go because even if the weather is poor it will make you smile. Oh p.s take boots or wellies if it is wet you'll get muddy.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank E9749QAdavidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews