We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to take lchildren”

The Donkey Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to take lchildren”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We took our grandson who was too small to enjoy a theme park but big enough to love the donkeys and the gift shop. Because it's free to enter it's a great place to go and take a picnic or enjoy the food in the cafe area, there is no time constraints so you can stay as long as you like, you can even adopt a donkey of your choice and receive updates throughout the year..

Helpful?
Thank Gadget_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,627
    316
    69
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Can I come back as a Donkey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Lovely to visit on a Sunday. Don't forget the Maize all for free but they like a donation.

The views from here are lovely and there is a picnic area in the summer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LazyLumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven here on earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have been to the donkey sanctuary several times since relocating to Torquay and I have adopted all the donkeys available . The work that this sanctuary does both here and abroad and let us not forget the work they also do with disabled children is absolutely fantastic! This is a little piece of heaven here on earth, there are no attractions, rides etc , all you will find here are donkeys, the odd horse maybe, you will see sick animals being nursed back to health, elderly and just the plain unwanted all receiving care and love and we have to thank the wonderful Dr S for this, a truely beautiful woman sadly no longer with us but her work lives on. Come here and enjoy a relaxing day in the middle of the country side, ideal for adults, children, elderly and disabled, one visit we took my elderly aunt in her wheel chair with no problems. This is a self supporting charity and does the most wonderful work, you will not be disappointed if you visit. Around the site you will see many plagues in memory of those now departed whose family have made donations in their name. It is lovely to read these and there is a real sense of peace and love here. I cannot say enough in their praise.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aandk1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“donkeys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Lovely Sunday morning visit with a tour which explained all about the donkeys and their housing. Situated in a lovely location and the people were very friendly and the donkeys are very well looked after. An interesting mornng.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is well worth a visit. An excellent day out with lots to see and some great walks. Food in the cafe was fine and the donkeys are very accessible and clearly well cared for. If you have not been then it should be on the list for "Must see" We really enjoyed the day there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MattWFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Donkey Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to The Donkey Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing