We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Sidmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Groveside Guest House
Ranked #10 of 32 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sensational Sidmouth”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Sidmouth is a really superb Victorian era resort & The Groveside Guest House is a very comfortable place to stay & be pampered. The hosts were extremely welcoming & our stay had one fault - it was too short! Great care is taken looking after guests & the breakfasts are great! The front promenade at Sidmouth is a short but interesting walk through the park & over the local ford.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulsetahi, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you Peter for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are please you enjoyed yur stay and would welcome you any time to the Groveside to be 'pampered'
Kind regards
Lin and Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    16
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
112
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Groveside for 5 nights at the beginning of September and were very happy there. We love Sidmouth and have stayed in other B&Bs in the town and the Groveside compares very favourably.
We had particularly requested a rear room and,on booking we were told that the room (Park Room - a twin room at the rear of the house) was up two flights of stairs. Lin checked that this was ok for us and agreed that they would help us with our luggage. [Our cases were carried up on arrival and down again on departure].
Lovely room with everything we needed and a great choice at breakfast. I'm not a great fan of the 'Full English' and so had Fresh fruit salad followed by scrambled egg with mushrooms and a grilled tomato (all beautifully cooked and served) with granary bread and fruit juice or coffee.
We also had an evening meal on one occasion and this was also delicious and good value (Lamb shanks and fresh vegetables followed by a home-made apple pie and cream).
Our host Alan made us feel very welcome - Lin was mostly busy 'behind the scenes' but had been very helpful when I was making the booking originally.
Vicarage Road is a very handy location for the town of Sidmouth, being only a short and level walk away from the main shops and the seafront and the Groveside has very good parking facilities.
Thank you Alan and Lin for a lovely stay - we will definitely be booking with you again.

Room Tip: The Park Room (continental twin) is on the top floor rear and has views over the Byes and even to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulsetahi, General Manager at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
And thank you Seasidedancer! Really appreciate you taking the time to send in such a positive review and please on your next visit ask for a first floor accommodation. All our rooms have been re-decorated and hopefully you will enjoy sleeping in them. We are very luck to have such pleasant guests.
Have a good christmas!

Lin and Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

just returned from a visit to Sidmouth Devon .We stayed at the Groveside Guest House
And could not have been more delighted with our choice.The hosts were very welcoming,
The room was a good size and spotlessly clean.The shower was easy to use and had lashings
Of hot water when ever we needed it, a welcome addition was fresh milk in a mini fridge for
Tea and coffee,what a treat,We hate those little packs of u h t milk!.Breakfast was excellent
With double eggs or toast if required,they even went to the trouble of toasting my husbands
Gluten free bread that we brought with us.This was a lovely Guest House with a few mins
Walk to the center of Sidmouth and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Our hosts recommend room 8 as it has a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulsetahi, Manager at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
What lovely people you were!!! Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write on trip advisor, its lovely to receive such a complimentary review. Room 8 or the park room has now been upgraded and has a new fresh spring look which I am sure you would like even more. We hope to see you both again and hope your journey home was a pleasant one
Kind regards

lin and Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here and we were well looked after by our hosts for the whole time of our stay. They were great.We had a great welcome from our host Alan, who was extremely pleasant and friendly and explained everything we needed to know. Lovely homemade porridge served in a very big bowl, we didn't need to eat until the evening after eating a bowl for breakfast! It really set us up for the day. On the next occasion we had the porridge we had one bowl between two and it was still a lot more than we are used to. The room we had was lovely with a view over the hill at the back. Very relaxing, we were here for Folk week so it was nice to come back to a relaxing room after a long day out.. . We want to stay longer next year as a week was not enough. I did not want to go home and leave that lovely peaceful room. I have stayed at many hotels and Guesthouses in my time and this is one of the best I have been to. I really enjoyed my holiday, Sidmouth is a lovely place..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulsetahi, Manager at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I am delighted that you have booked for longer this year and thank you so much for a lovely review. Your room has been completely redecorated so I hope you will enjoy it even more. thank you also for being such delightful guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Groveside which is very conveniently located,within easy walking distance of the centre of Sidmouth. It is a basic guesthouse and the bedroom was quite small. However, the house was clean and tidy throughout. Breakfast was of reasonable quality but not excellent. Cooked breakfast is restricted to between 8.00 and 8.30am; continental is available before and after that time. For the standard of accommodation on offer I would consider it a little expensive. I have a good deal of experience of accommodation internationally and I may be more critical because of that. This guesthouse probably compares favourably with similar accommodation in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashlawnguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulsetahi, Manager at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking time and trouble to write a review on trip advisor and am pleased with your positive comments. We always find the not so positive comments helpful and are sorry that you found your room too small, if you choose to stay again we would be happy to accommodate you in one of our larger rooms, unfortunately this was the only room available for you as we were very busy. We provide a cooked breakfast from 7.30 till 8.30 We also provide room service until 9.30 with continental breakfast. Our price of £37.00 per person per night is very competitive though we do do special offers and would be pleased to discuss these with you on another occasion.
We hope your overall experience of Sidmouth was a good one and wish you all the best for 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My son and I were warmly welcomed .The rooms were comfortable and spacious . After a pleasant night we were treated to hearty breakfast with several choices of menu. Thank you and I hope to come again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulsetahi, Manager at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
H ha are you sure Alan is not Basil!!! thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon
regards
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Groveside. We were made most welcome, had a lovely clean and quiet room and the breakfasts were superb.and catered for all our needs.
Altogether a very enjoyable stay and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christopher l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulsetahi, Manager at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
And we look forward to having you stay with us again. We really appreciate your kind comments and the time and trouble you took to write a review. Many many thanks
lin and Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
839 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#6 of 13 in Sidmouth
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#11 of 13 in Sidmouth
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Groveside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groveside Guest House

Property: The Groveside Guest House
Address: Vicarage Road, Sidmouth EX10 8UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Groveside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA rated 4 Gold Star. The Groveside, a charming Edwardian Guest house, provides quality bed and breakfast accommodation within a few minutes level walk from the Regency town centre of Sidmouth and the intriguing views of the Jurassic coastline. A Guest house with a Contemporary charm etched with a traditional twist, the Groveside is all about comfort and flair combining attention to detail with a professional service; Alan and Lin are very proud of the restful, friendly atmosphere; Guests have access to their rooms at all times and we offer a comfortable elegant lounge in which to relax, peruse the morning paper, chat with friends, read a book or even have a little nod in front of the warming fire after a days activity exploring the wonderful coastline of Sidmouth, Devon. Our modern and spacious dining room is the setting for a leisurely traditional breakfast and the recently introduced soup and sandwich suppers. All our food is bought locally and combines the promise of organic, fair trade and fresh ingredients. Our breakfast are there to set you up for the day and we cater for most dietary needs including vegetarian/vegan, dairy free and non wheat. Our aim at the Groveside is to make your stay with us as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Last year saw the introduction of our guest garden and a BBQ is available for you to use for you and your friends. This year we refurbished our single room and upgraded other rooms with beds and linen. We have also introduced the ONO bag plus the use of dressing gowns and slippers. Ladies are given a personal welcome pack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Groveside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Groveside Guest House Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing