We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a marvellous place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Groveside Guest House
Ranked #10 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I stayed for a week during Sidmouth Folk Festival and couldn't have been made more welcome. I was greeted like an old friend by Lin and Alan who helped to carry luggage to my room which was clean and comfortable with plenty of space for my instruments. The Guest House is a place I find easy to relax in after a day at the Festival and I really don't understand why previous reviewers were disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twaddle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 238 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

We came to Sidmouth so my boyfriend could complete a diving course he was involved in, We been on the internet to look for somewhere that would be close to everything we needed, and found The Groveside. Obviously Max (my boyfriend) had a ton of diving equipment and was helped to carry it all up as we were staying on the second floor, even their little boy Will lent a hand, which was a good touch to this excellent family run business.
The rooms were very clean, with the best jet wash power shower Ive been in, quite an experience..
Breakfast, 5 star, big and tasty, taxis were ordered for us in the morning with a packed lunch for Max. good touch.
Very friendly, warm and comfortable surrounding. we would not hesitate to stay there again if ever in the area.
Thank you Lin, Alan and of course William...
Julia and Max

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gig91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Booked into the Groveside at Sidmouth again as was finishing the last stages of my course. The Groveside is well situated just on the edge of town which is within easy walking distance of the shops, restaurants, coffee/tea shops, esplanade, sea and gardens - so no need to take the car out of the guesthouse car park.

Received again an aimable and warm welcome in the comfortable lounge by Alan and Lin, the owners, who are an extremely friendly couple who like to get to know their guests. Had the Provencal room. Although one of the smaller double rooms, is pretty and perfectly formed and receives the morning sun and has a nice view.

Breakfast is real food affair whether a meat eater or vegetarian. One is able to make up one's own combination of breakfast delights. However the mushroom bale is a one to try!

We enjoyed the hospitality given twice now and have booked a further rest and exploration there again next Easter.

Room Tip: The Provencal is on the side (although the road is not at all noisy at night) and faces the countrys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Animallover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Greeted by the lady propietor on arrival in the lounge which was cluttered . Not a room
to relax in . No offer to help with luggage . Breakfast was pleasant but far too early
finishing at 8.30am ! Room was clean but bathroom was small and cramped.
Bill left on breakfast table which we felt was poor as this has never happened
to us in the past. Car park was cramped at side of guest house. Sidmouth
is a lovely place but won't be staying at this establishment again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grantus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Having stayed at the Groveside on a number of occasions with my family, we cannot understand the negative remarks that have been made on a recent review. For our last relaxing visit we stayed for 9 days in June. The Groveside is a first class establishment in a good position being only a 5 minute walk from the town and another few minutes on to the sea front and the lovely Byes Park. The Guest House itself is modern and has been decorated with care, kept very up to date while at the same time retaining the fine Edwardian features the building has to offer. It is immaculately clean, feels fresh and extremely comfortable. Petri and Alan made our holiday absolutely perfect with the warmest of welcomes and lovely home made cakes and tea on arrival. We had complimentary fresh water in our rooms and lovely biscuits and sweets. Fresh milk was on offer for most of the day and night as was a selection of tea's and coffee (besides the complimentary tray in our room.)
What we enjoyed most was the laughter and the smiling faces not just of our hosts but of other guests we have made new friends since we have become regular returners. Alan is very informative and has a wealth of local knowledge he is happy to share with you. If he cannot answer your question straight away he will go and promptly find out, he guides us through the restaurants and places of interest, we really couldn't ask for more. Nothing is too much trouble. There is a very comfortable lounge where we sat in the evening and played some of the board games they had on offer.
My family and I had three rooms - 'The Byes', 'Henry's' and the lovely 'Provencal' which we really loved. All the rooms were spacious and very up to date, some real care had obviously gone in to the design of each room and they were very well maintained.
An unexpected luxury are the powerful showers pumping out lovely hot water every morning (and night). They are fantastic.
The food cannot be described as anything less than first class, the breakfasts are all made with organic ingredients and free range eggs. I recommend you try the Bale of mushrooms, it is simply superb as was the fresh fruit salad. My father had kippers most mornings and my sister loved the traditionally made porridge. The hosts could not be more accommodating and friendly and in all of our experience nothing is ever too much trouble. What stands out was the friendliness and cleanliness and thee way all guests were treated with respect and kindness, even those who, we must admit, we would not have put up with as they were demanding and very rude. But not once did we see Alan falter in his pleasant and curteous manner. One guest fell very ill during breakfast and an ambulance was called, the situation was dealt with so quietly and calmly that some guests did not even realise there was someone so very ill.
The hosts go out of their way to deal with any help that is required in a calm and gentle manner. Our standards when staying away from home are very high and we would certainly never want to stay anywhere other than the Groveside when coming to Sidmouth even though Alan and Lin are always very complimentary about other local Guest Houses (and we have stayed in a few) we would say that The Groveside really has the 'X Factor'. It is run by a delightful couple and a great team of staff. Look forward to seeing you again in September, it's just a shame we will ony be staying for 4 days this time. Sidmouth is very lucky to have such a welcoming and charming guest house and can I say that the AA Yellow Star it was recently awarded (which I note is only given out to the top 10% of Guest Houses) is well and truly deserved. Well done to you. Get the fishing line out again Alan!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shibby83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We are Albert en Annet from Holland and we have family living here in Sidmouth.
Because of the lack of space at that time we decided to stay in The Groveside.
And it was really very very good, the people very very friendly. When we came we had a warm welcome, and this hospitality is what we felt all the time we were there. In the evening we were sometimes in the guestroom where we played nice games, it was really cosy, The food and the rooms were excellent!!! Because we were in that guestroom sometimes we met also some other people, which was really nice. We had actually lots of fun with people that were totally strangers to us. I have to say you did'n feel like a stranger over there.....
we would like to come again and again......... also the very beautiful surrounding of Sidmouth made us decide so. We recommend The Groveside to anybody........it felt like coming home!! Thank you Linda, Alan, Petri, William an the guests!! Lots of love,
Albert & Annet.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annet97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Again it was a "NO BRAINER" when booking for our second trip to Sidmouth
Having had a great stay at the Groveside in 2009
Same wonderful owners Alan & Lin(warm,hospitable,welcoming)
The Groveside has re fitted all its rooms(although the rooms in 2009 were A1+, the rooms today would grace any 5 star hotel) The dining room has been extended to about twice its 2009 size(Lin is always proud and happy to show guests round)The great varied breakfasts are as large or as small as you wish with the use of locally grown organic produce were possible,good job we only stayed for one week the "FULL ENGLISH" has put an extra 3lb on my already strained frame?. Note that Alan & Lin have been awarded the AA 4 YELLOW STAR,This is awarded to only 10% of Guest houses and has also been given "TRIP ADVISOR" SEAL OF EXCELLENCE(ALTHOUGH WE DID NOT NEED THESE
AWARDS TO CONVINCE US, WE ALREADY NEW !!!!
ALAN & NANCY HUNT

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank huntyOakhamRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
921 reviews
0 mi away
Lynstead House
Lynstead House
#1 of 33 in Sidmouth
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dukes
Dukes
#5 of 33 in Sidmouth
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidholme Hotel
Sidholme Hotel
#22 of 33 in Sidmouth
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berwick House
Berwick House
#2 of 33 in Sidmouth
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Groveside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groveside Guest House

Address: Vicarage Road, Sidmouth EX10 8UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range: $76 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Groveside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA rated 4 Gold Star. The Groveside, a charming Edwardian Guest house, provides quality bed and breakfast accommodation within a few minutes level walk from the Regency town centre of Sidmouth and the intriguing views of the Jurassic coastline. A Guest house with a Contemporary charm etched with a traditional twist, the Groveside is all about comfort and flair combining attention to detail with a professional service; Alan and Lin are very proud of the restful, friendly atmosphere; Guests have access to their rooms at all times and we offer a comfortable elegant lounge in which to relax, peruse the morning paper, chat with friends, read a book or even have a little nod in front of the warming fire after a days activity exploring the wonderful coastline of Sidmouth, Devon. Our modern and spacious dining room is the setting for a leisurely traditional breakfast and the recently introduced soup and sandwich suppers. All our food is bought locally and combines the promise of organic, fair trade and fresh ingredients. Our breakfast are there to set you up for the day and we cater for most dietary needs including vegetarian/vegan, dairy free and non wheat. Our aim at the Groveside is to make your stay with us as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Last year saw the introduction of our guest garden and a BBQ is available for you to use for you and your friends. This year we refurbished our single room and upgraded other rooms with beds and linen. We have also introduced the ONO bag plus the use of dressing gowns and slippers. Ladies are given a personal welcome pack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Groveside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Groveside Guest House Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing