We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Easter getaway”
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Easter getaway”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a really great time at this hotel over the Easter break. Travelling with two children in tow we stayed in the suite which was perfectly set up for a family of four. Owners Megan and Dan couldn't have been more welcoming and are obviously working really hard to reclaim this amazing old building and bring it back to life. Mealtimes were relaxed and the food lovely - including amazing home-made cakes. The children especially enjoyed visiting the chickens to get eggs for breakfast! The hotel is well located - only five mins walk to the sea-front - but happily set apart from the noisy throng of the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuinLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    109
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
100
202
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My daughters gave us a nights stay at the Woodlands Hotel for a Christmas present and we added a few more days for a break over the Mayday bank holiday! They chose the hotel at random and booked us in because they had received such a friendly response to their phone inquiry!
What a wonderful time we had! Dan, Megan and their family were so very welcoming that we immediately felt at home. Our room was beautiful and overlooked the gardens which the family are currently restoring. We could even hear the chickens laying the breakfast eggs! The food was wonderful and served in a warm, friendly and professional manner in the charming dining room. There was an eclectic range of guests staying at the time we were there and everyone was very friendly and welcoming. The large conservatory overlooking the gardens was a great meeting place for post dinner coffee and chats!
The hotel is a 5 minute walk away from the beach and the charming regency town of Sidmouth. We would thoroughly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

thanks to dan and megan for a lovely stay and a welcome break. the hotel is in a good location and the food waqs just as we expected . we were there for the weekend and had the sunday roast which was fantastic. all the deserts are home made and delicious. thanks again

Room Tip: we had room 14 which was nice as it had the small door to the room next door where our daughter was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was our first visit and booked on recommendation. We thoroughly enjoyed a lovely weekend. We received a warm welcome from the owners Dan and Megan and Chip the dog. Dan and Megan went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and breakfast was brilliant. Looking forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5, which had recently been refurbished and opens onto the patio area - lovely to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Just like to say we booked most of the rooms for the evening of our wedding, Dan and Megan are fantastic at making all of us so welcome and very accommodating. All the hard work they have done to restore has paid off, its new, clean and lovely. This hotel is not just for families all would be welcomed. The breakfast was superb and Dan and Megan were very attentive, lovely hotel with Dan and Megan being great hosts, would recommend to anyone fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

All the hard work with the refurbishments are paying off and the hotel is looking great. The new patio looks perfect for the summer weather! Enjoyed a lovely walk to the sea front and checked out the kayaking and paddle boarding which looks like an ideal activity for a return visit.
Thanks for a lovely stay

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KirstyJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We recently spent a fantastic weekend at Woodlands Hotel . We found Dan and Megan incredibly welcoming and throughout our stay spent a lot of time with them, their lovely children (and Chip the dog) who kept out daughter entertained !
Our room was lovely and big with a small interconnecting room for our daughter - perfect !
The food was great - highlights being the Sunday Roast and the Sticky Toffee Pudding !
Very convenient location , just a very minutes stroll to the beach. The hotel itself was very warm and welcoming and has a huge back terrace - we would certainly like to return in the height of summer ! Thank you Dan and Megan for a really great time and we will definitely be back !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASD_HKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#6 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Property: Woodlands Hotel
Address: Station Road, Sidmouth EX10 8HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Hotel is an eighteen bedroom hotel steeped in history, set in a peaceful, private garden in the seaside town of Sidmouth. The hotel is just a few minutes easy walk from both the town centre, with its traditional shops, and the seafront; yet enjoys a tranquil garden with a stream running through.The hotel has free wifi, new flat screen TV's and has been recently renovated with new carpets and beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing