We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best”

Becketts Coffee House
Ranked #8 of 78 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Coffee House providing simple breakfast and lunch menu - a wide range of homemade, bakery and patisserie cakes .. gluten free/wheat free/dairy free and vegetarian options .. serving skimmed/semi-skimmed and soya milk, and decaf tea and coffee - option to reserve sofa area and tables - open 7 days a week ..
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

As a family group of 6 we were looking for a Sunday lunch so chose Sue's pantry.
We do eat out regularly in Sidmouth but have not used Sue's pantry for some time.
Feeling fairly hungry 3 of the group went for the cottage pie at £8.95. When it arrived we thought we had been given the childrens portion by mistake, but sadly we had not.
The food was ok but at £8.95 for a small portion of cottage pie, 2 very small boiled potatoes, 2 sprouts and a few bits of carrot we were not impressed. Our collective view was that had the cost for each meal been around the £6 mark or the portion was doubled then we would have no complaints.
The othe meals were no problem matching what you normally get in other places to eat in Sidmouth.
Will need to change dramatically to get us back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TopSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue's Pantry C, Manager at Becketts Coffee House, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Sue's Pantry changed hands on 3 November 14 and many improvements have been made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    34
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were attracted into this cafe by the fact it was fronted by a bakers. There are no menus on the table so you have to stand looking at the boards behind the counter, when we did order I have to say the member of staff was verging on rude. We had the toasties (not toasted sandwiches) which at best were OK served with a mean side salad. At over £5 each they are not particularly good value. They were delivered to the table but you have to find your own cutlery The decor is tired with the most gaudy artificial flowers I have ever seen. We left feeling rather cheated.
PS they don't take credit cards which is not apparent until you pay

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicspires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue's Pantry C, Manager at Becketts Coffee House, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Sue's Pantry changed hands on 3 November 14 and many improvements have been made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Quality home baking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is where the locals buy their bread. Great cakes and sandwiches with plenty of filling. This is another of those places that remains busy when the tourists have all gone home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pursuitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue's Pantry C, Manager at Becketts Coffee House, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Sue's Pantry changed hands on 3 November 14 and many improvements have been made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
219 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Get food to takeaway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Busy place - was hard to get a seat - place needs a good wipe down ESP when that busy. Food was average. Cheese too strong in toasted sandwich but steak kidney pie great

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwiguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue's Pantry C, Manager at Becketts Coffee House, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Sue's Pantry changed hands on 3 November 14 and many improvements have been made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becketts Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Becketts Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing