We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Scott Cinemas

Scott Cinemas
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in Sidmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Radway opened in 1928 and was planned to operate primarily as a theatre. As a live theatre it quickly failed and was soon altered to better accommodate cinema use.Whilst the building enjoyed a very thorough refurbishment in 1999 care was taken to do this as sympathetically as possible in order to retain its early 30’s charm.Digital Projection, 3D and Sound was recently been added.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Just go and book a seat upstairs, then you will see for yourself!. A timeless experience for all the family

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tstrong1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    12
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly good value traditional cinema”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Visited Scotts in Sidmouth with teenage daughter and 2 friends. (Yes I had to sit away from them, and pretend I did not know them in case I caused embarassment!)

Clean, spacious and cool with friendly staff and just as I remember cinemas before the dreaded multi screen chains arrived in the UK. No sticking to the floor either!

Highly recommend and will go there in prference to Vue in Exeter.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MummyMouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff,lovely building”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Very nice to sit in a cinema that wasn't brash and modern, lovely old theatre made into a cinema, made all the better by the friendliness of the staff. Everyone spoke, was attentive and had a laugh which made our experience at this cinema one to recommend..

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jyellowcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly enjoyable”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

It was such a refreshing change to go to the cinema and not be subjected to the brash trappings that is all too often part of the cinema experience. The cinema was spotless and very comfortable. There were pleasant staff who actually sounded as though they meant it when they sold you a ticket and said "enjoy the film" We were then asked on our way out, if we had enjoyed the film!! We chatted for quite a few minutes and were told this is one of an independent chain of cinemas (think they own 8 ). I just hope they can remain competitive and that the locals and tourists (like us on this day) continue to come.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Susie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Have a comfy seat above the crowd”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

A small cinema with a personal service. Have a natter with the manager and bumble upstairs to have a cup of tea from the little coffee bar before sitting in the posh seats upstairs. Unless it is a massively popular film the cinema is often quiet so you can sit wherever you like once it goes dark. This is a world away from the huge multiplex experience and is great because of that. The screen and sound though is what a cinema should have.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DoctorTechnical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scott Cinemas also viewed

 
Sidbury, Sidmouth
 

Been to Scott Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing