We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden away gem”

Selley's Coffee Shop & Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 80 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Licensed Cafe and Restaurant
Reviewed January 7, 2013

All home-cooked and lovely.Apparently the chef has won awards and I can understand why! Highly recommend!

Thank ShellGriff1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrinalort63, Owner at Selley's Coffee Shop & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Yes you are right, John has won many awards in his chefing career. He has been in the catering industry for over 25 years, (yes I know he doesnt look old enough) as a chef in hotels and then as a manager in contract catering and he has accumulated many accolades along the way. The award you saw on the wall was for Taste of the West 2012 and one we are very proud of, as it is for the cafe as a whole and marks are given for the sourcing of products, food & presentation, staff & their knowledge of the menu and the overall experience. It was fantastic to win the award in our first 12 months of owning Selley's and we were also the only cafe in Sidmouth to win one last year! Look forward to seeing you both again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Selley's Coffee Shop & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 198 of 269 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

This gem of a find, just off the high street, is a perfect place for a bite to eat. The food is truly outstanding - the experience made all the more worthwhile by owners Kat and John who provide a very welcoming and friendly environment. Don't miss this one!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tobyjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrinalort63, Owner at Selley's Coffee Shop & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you sooooooo much for taking then time to write your lovely review. We really do appreciate your positive comments. Look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Have been here on numerous occasions and unlike other places it is consistently excellent. Also unlike other places in Sidmouth i:-) t is open at 9am so a perfect choice for breakfast. We had breakfast and lunch here whilst Christmas shopping. My eggs Benedict was perfection as was hubbies porridge with compote followed by a bacon sarnie. .....thick bacon and proper bread! Their coffee is the best in Sidmouth.After a morning of shopping in the rain we returned for lunch, homemade spicy parsnip soup and an Italian flat bread grilled sandwich with salami and peppers. My husband had the hot pork baguette which was huge and he was very happy with the crackling on the side! Plus a couple of mulled wines and we still got change from £20. Kat and John are lovely and they gave us a bag of their homemade cranberry flapjack as a thank you for our continued custom, touches like this is what makes this place so special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrinalort63, Owner at Selley's Coffee Shop & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic review. Hope you had a fab Christmas and have a very happy 2013. We really appreciate your continued custom, as we do with all our 'regulars'. Although not doing to the pork baguette at the moment we have got some other 'winter warmer' specials. like sausage & mash on the menu, along with our soups and Jacket potatoes, to keep the chill out during this cold spell, so we hope to see you both very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We love this place. We visited this little gem every day during our stay last week. It's in a quiet secluded location in a lovely little courtyard with tables, chairs and benches for anyone who wants to eat outside and, if its a little nippy, they have hot water bottles and blankets at the ready which we thought was a lovely little touch. Being November, we chose to eat in the little coffee shop itself. The owners are wonderful people who were always warm and welcoming. Real salt of the earth folk. They made a cracking breakfast and their homemade strawberry jam was delicious on the chunky wedge of granary toast that came with it. Though I was rather partial to their marmalade. They also do lunches and cakes which are all homemade. The whole place just feels loved, a very special little coffee shop and we'll definitely be going back. Paula and John from Bristol

Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrinalort63, Owner at Selley's Coffee Shop & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Paula and John .... thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was an absolute joy to meet and get to know you both. Your words were so emotive, thank you for summing up so eloquently the 'feeling' of Selley's. Have a wonderful Christmas, a very happy new year and we hope to see you both in 2013. Very kind regards Kat & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Another winner is Selleys lovely apple cake,which a friend and i really enjoyed and warmed us up on a chilly day,and a hot coffee did the trick as well.
Thanks for the lovely cake and nice chat.
You two are a winning formula also very genuine people.
Kind Rgards Jean and friend Karen

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean_T186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrinalort63, Owner at Selley's Coffee Shop & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for aother fab review. Sorry that we didn't have any Victoria Sandwich left, but glad that the Apple cake more than made up for it. Because its winter we don't have the usual amount of cakes available but you can always give me a ring the next time you are thinking of visiting and I can let you know what cakes we have. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selley's Coffee Shop & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Selley's Coffee Shop & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing