We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”
Review of Neil's Restaurant

Neil's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $28
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Neil's is a great place to eat in Sidmouth and is just a short walk from the Beach and within easy reach of Beer, Lyme Regis and Exeter. Neil's focuses on bringing the freshest Devon food, cooked in sympathetic and delicious ways to the table. Neil's Restaurant Sidmouth has an informal and contemporary design and allows you to actually see Neil at work.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The quality food deserves a better home. The ambience disappointed at first due perhaps to the lighting and a strange musty odour on arrival (which admittedly dissipated as the restaurant filled up). But a lovely warm welcome from the staff and an interesting menu soon concentrated minds on dinner. We had the home smoked salmon with capers and the tempura fried gurnard goujons to start. Then there was the Brixham Hake with crab and coriander crust for me and the Brixham Sea Bass on a prawn and lemon risotto for my wife. All taken with a bottle of Picpoul. Wonderful. And so many other food options we could have chosen.

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank MikeRB186265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbar, Owner at Neil's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am sorry the restaurant was lacking in ambiance on your arrival.The smell which you mention, I believe was caused by the central heating being turned on for the first time since the restaurant was decorated in the spring.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and that the staff looked after you well.
I hope to see you again in the future.
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 651 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Neil’s Restaurant
A great restaurant in a small town!!
Sidmouth is a wonderful place where Queen Victoria used to go on vacation. Neil’s is special fish restaurant and one of the few where the menu is changed everyday according to the catch of the day , at Neil’s the key word is fresh. The menu offers a variety of starters an entrees where to choose from.
The crab and mango salad is well balanced , the hake or corvina is cooked to perfection and the same goes for the John Dory or San Pedro . The service is friendly and the ambiance is nice, and the good wine list makes a wonderful dinner.
A huge surprise for a small town and english cooking

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank lionel2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Lovely place to eat, food was tasty, hot and well served. The restaurant is very pleasant fresh and airy. But need to book to be safe. I had Monkfish on pasta and my wife had the John Dory. Service was attentive and friendly.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Giles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

This restaurant fully deserves its reputation as a top fish restaurant, although its meat dishes are equally good if the duck is anything to go by. The service and ambience were great and the icing on the cake was having prime position to view the Sidmouth carnival pass by from the comfort of our table. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

Another excellent meal, congrats to Neil and his team for maintaining such high and consistent standards. A must if you are a seafood lover.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank S3021KKpetera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neil's Restaurant also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to Neil's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing