We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful quirky cafe”
Review of The Dairy Shop

The Dairy Shop
Ranked #4 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Sidmouth
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Dairy Shop Sidmouth is one of those little gems that every special town has. It has developed over the years from a small deli to a fantastic atmospheric coffee shop/cafe. Providing the best coffee, hot chocolate, pasties and pies to amazing Greek platters. Eat in or take out. Clotted cream by post service. Come in and soak up the atmosphere.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“wonderful quirky cafe”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Visited over folk week which was very busy and this little cafe coped amazingly well. The service was prompt and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We all had lunch which was delicious our children had great milkshake and the coffee is lovely. We had a chat with the staff and other cafe customers making the atmosphere great fun. We would definitely return to this cafe when next in Sidmouth. Great menu choice well done to the staff. Lots of fun lovely food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rupert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_fw12, Owner at The Dairy Shop, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit to The Dairy Shop during Folk week when it is particularly difficult to maintain a good level of service. We look forward to seeing you when you are next in Sidmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    22
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Enjoyed lunch here with friends. The food was delicious and the staff efficient and very friendly and the atmosphere was cozy. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_fw12, Owner at The Dairy Shop, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your visit to The Dairy Shop and found us a friendly bunch! We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Sidmouth visiting friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Completely useless”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visited the Dairy Shop because it advertised "gluten free" on the door. We couldn't see anything advertised so asked what gluten free, vegeterian options were on offer, the waitress said "well, first problem is it's all frozen, I'll have to go and see what we've got left". She returned with 4 options, 2 of which contained meat. After paying and taking a seat at one of many uncleared or uncleaned tables, the waitress comes over and says "oh, are you eating in now?" to which we pointed out that we weren't asked and had said, "we'll be sitting over there" after paying.
They then said it would be extra to eat in, so we waited for about 5 minutes whilst the waitresses discussed things, and then they asked for an extra £3.85...for the privilege of eating a jacket potato and a quiche inside not outside! What an increase in price!! When I questioned the increase I was told it's because you get salad if you eat in!

After taking our food out instead of paying the extra I discovered the jacket potato wasn't even cooked through properly. All in all, useless service by both waitresses and food that wasn't up to par. Won't be visiting them again and won't be recommending them to friends who are gluten free, the shop opposite had lots more gluten free options on display!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RowanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_fw12, Owner at The Dairy Shop, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We always value customer feedback whether good or bad but in this instance feel you were trying to get away with the additional charge for eating in. The fact is you purchased takeaway food and drinks at the till. Whilst the food was being prepared you chose to take a seat in the café and proceeded to consume your drinks and when you were informed of the additional charge for eating in you refused to pay and decided to revert back to a takeaway as originally purchased. The quality of the food obviously suffered because of the time delay.

Regarding the Gluten Free pies, we stock eight varieties of vegetarian and four varieties of meat. We keep a selection of one of each variety on a tray for the customer to select from.

This review is clearly in response to us not allowing you to eat your takeaway food in the café.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

On a day trip to Sidmouth we wanted somewhere nice for lunch and we certainly weren't disappointed.
We chose the Dairymans Platter for two at £14.95 which was a lovely lunch. It consisted of 3 different cheeses, ham, a bowl of salad and a separate bowl of olives together with warm bread and butter.In fact there was so much cheese we couldn't manage it all and the staff very helpfully offered to wrap it for us to take away.
The ambience was spot on , tables with adequate space between each and staff who were very friendly and efficient- what more could you ask ?
A lovely experience

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_fw12, Owner at The Dairy Shop, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your food. We received positive feedback from our staff who informed us that you had enjoyed your visit to the Dairy Shop and are grateful for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cream Tea!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Visited here after reading the reviews on here and must admit we were not disappointed! 6 of us visited and they accommodated us no problem. The scones, jam & clotted cream are to die for! The tea is also excellent and lose tea which is a nice change from tea bags! The owner also spoke to us and spent sometime with us which was nice. We would recommend anyone in Sidmouth that this little gem is a must for a cream tea. Please visit and enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinQwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_fw12, Owner at The Dairy Shop, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We recall the children changing their choice from crumpets to a cream tea having seen yours and are glad you all enjoyed them. Linda recalls having a pleasant conversation with you and trust you enjoyed your stay south of the border.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dairy Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing