We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very acceptable”

Pyne's at The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #30 of 79 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
North yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very acceptable”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Ate here with friends who were staying at the hotel. It is a very popular restaurant. We sampled lasagne, pie of the day, lemon sole and lamb. All of which were good, no complaints, in fact better than ewe had expected. The vegetables were good too, which is always a bonus to me. Does what it says on the tin as a hotel restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FDG1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    50
    19
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“well recovered”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I ate here with a party of four and have always enjoyed great food in the past however on this occasion the main course fell below its usual high standards and had to complain about the rather tough lamb shanks x 3.The staff made no unnecessary fuss and immediately offered us another dish as well as taking it off the price of the bill.The staff also threw in the sweet as a good will gesture.I thought that is was an excellent recovery and will return next year,Thank you

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food at this very busy restaurant”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We arrived at Pyne's at about 7:00pm on a very busy Thursday evening. It was "Pie Night" - the evening of the week when (in addition to the a la carte menu), there is a popular special fixed price menu with a choice of meat or fish pie and a selected dessert for £11.95. As we hadn't booked we thought we wouldn't get a table. However, we were offered a low down table in the bar with casual chairs, with an apology from the waiter. Thankfully, the chairs were exactly at the right height for the table and we felt comfortable. We were given a complimentary bottle of water and we ordered drinks, one meat and one fish pie. The home-made pies were excellent and came with a freshly cooked mix of vegetables. The restaurant was very busy and all the staff seemed rushed off their feet. Our table was cleared and after a further 20 minutes we had to remind the waiter that we hadn't had the included dessert. We put this down to the staff being too rushed. The dessrt was a smallish slice of chocolate fudge cake and blueberry ice-cream. The whole meal was very well presented and very tasty. Recommended!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank osjtenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east devon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“curry night”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

always a nice evening with good service, good food and good value

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lexcatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Continued excellence”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

In 12 years we have never had a meal at this restaurant that has been anything less than excellent. The new contemporary decor for 2012 is a great success, plus the quality and friendliness of waitress and bar service never slips. This establishment is a classic example of how to maintain and grow year on year all levels of excellence in food quality and customer service

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AJL51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Pyne's at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed dining with us over the past 12 years. It is really good to hear that you think the recent refurbishment has been a success and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pyne's at The Bedford Hotel also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to Pyne's at The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing