We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no sidmouth tummy here”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“no sidmouth tummy here”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Many visitors eat too much on holiday in Sidmouth,and the older visitor often suffers from chronic bloated tummy. It will not happen at The Riviera, the food is quite excellent, fresh, and sensible portions. Whether it is breakfast, lunch or dinner, the quality is consistent,and even if you go for the five course dinner menu, you will not get the sidmouth tummy, but a contented feeling of a having enjoyed an excellent dining experience.
The staff could not have been more helpful. They told us that the hotel will never get five stars as it does not have a swimming pool or a spa. Thank goodness!!! It does not need either.It is a hotel to relax in , enjoy the great views from the bedrooms in the front of the hotel,or in the terrace which is also at the front of the hotel.
Yes,it is quite expensive in high season, but what high quality establishment isnt?Wherever you visit.
May I make one suggestion that would give a more up to date feel, which actually the hotel is, as it caters for a clientele that has i gather an 80% return rate. pretty impressive. My suggestion is please replace the swirly red carpet, which gives an outdated feel and if you had a few refreshments would make you dizzy very quickly.
As other reviewers have noted, getting a room in the front of the hotel will make you feel good immediately as the views of the esplanade and bay are a bit special. As was the fish tempura!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bubbabear174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    20
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
35
99
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have just returned from staying 4 nights at the Riviera Hotel in Sidmouth. The hotel is superb - it is situated right on the sea front and you couldn't want anything better. The staff are always eager to please and are very efficient and standards really high. Having had the last two years holidays in Nice, France my husband kept comparing and said Sidmouth hadn't got a dual carriageway to cross to get to the beach and it was much more relaxing!! Better than Nice seafront!!! The hotel is spotless and runs like clockwork. We dined at the hotel each evening and the food was excellent every evening - as was the breakfast and bar snack lunches - and could not be faulted. This was our second visit to the hotel and for quality and service it cannot be beaten. Ok its expensive and what we spent on 4 nights dinner, bed and breakfast would have paid for a week abroad but lets not forget y ou get what you pay for. We had a large sea view room on the front and everything was just great. We will be back in the future but its not a hotel for teenagers and children. One of the best we stayed in. Anne

Room Tip: To get value for your money choose a sea facing room - you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We've just stayed at the Hotel Riviera for a week and it's one of the nicest we've stayed in.
We opted for a sea view room, it was a large bedroom & ensuite bathroom all of which was fitted out to a high standard. The view over the esplanade & bay was fantastic.
Over the course of the week we ate on several evenings in the restaurant and the food was excellent. As was the breakfast each morning with a wide range of options as you'd expect in a four star hotel.
Special mention should be made of the staff who were without exception always efficient, friendly and relaxed, they even arranged secure accommodation for our bikes.
Overall this is superb hotel in a lovely spot and we will certainly be back again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AdrianSwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Everything in this hotel took you back to the days when standards were really high.There was nothing I could fault, attentive service,the dining room faultless decor, the food really beautifully cooked, even the sparkling water was cold and the glass of red wine just the correct temperature.We will certainly return to one of the few restaurants that was faultless.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
423 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were in Sidmouth for the Folk Festival and, dying for a cuppa on our way back to the coach, chose the nearest place, the Rivieira Hotel on the Esplanade! It is a beautiful building with extensive outside space for al fresco dining, which is where we sat. We were served quickly and efficiently by the attractive staff, but were miffed to find that two cups of tea had cost £7.50. However, after our tea, we climbed the luxuriantly carpeted stairs, following the arrow to the delicately titled Powder Room, which was immaculate. This is an up-market hotel, so of course we paid the price but it was worth it, really!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneBug1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We met friends here for afternoon tea which was excellent. The service was quick and efficient and the food very good. Both we and our friends enjoyed it and the price was reasonable for the standard of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brtgu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Took my 91 yr old mother here for 2 days to visit the nearby Donkey Sanctuary and had a lovely time. We had room 206 which is a lovely big room, with a comfy bed and a wonderful sea view. My mother had a lovely single room and it was set up so she could lie in bed and see the sea. The welcome was superb, the car and luggage dealt with efficiently. The restaurant was excellent, all the staff were polite and obviously well trained. The food choice for dinner was extensive and delicious. The wine list is rather overpriced even for this standard of hotel.
Would definitely recommend and stay there again,

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.0 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riviera, with its echoes of the South of France and prime position on the seafront, is the choice for the discerning in search of relaxation and quieter pleasures. Many bedrooms have been recently refurbished, so, whether you stay on holiday or on business you will be treated to the kind of friendly personal attention that can only be found in a private hotel of this quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sidmouth
Hotel Riviera Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing