We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gorgeous restaurant, attentive staff, perfection. We shall visit and stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“gorgeous restaurant, attentive staff, perfection. We shall visit and stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We visited from Wiltshire for the day and took my elderly aunt here for Sunday lunch. Quite perfect. Set meal and a la carte were delicious. Surroundings were so lovely, genteel and tasteful .Staff were attentive, fabulous service and wonderful food. My husband and I shall return for a special weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuliaSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    20
    10
    5
    9
See reviews for
35
98
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

we stayed at the Riviera hotel this weekend and were met with a wonderful welcome. all staff are very professional, and the food is exceptional. The room and bathroom were spotless, and we found the whole experience out of this world. Its good old fashioned hospitality at its best and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: seafront rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindsey t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I was recently with my girlfriend for afternoon tea and I must say it was the best so far staff where very friendly and helpful and as for the scones they where great wine was exceptional shame I didn't get the name of the brand but all in all a great afternoon :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at Clevedon in Avon over Pre and New years eve. Whilst we were there we travelled down to Sidmouth for the day. We had lunch at the Riviera, where we have stayed in the past. We had lunch, which as expected to be wonderful, based on our previous experience's. Attention to detrail was faultless, the service was impeccable and not intrusive. The food was wonderful. We hope to stay theire during the new year break again either this year or next. This is truly a marvellous place to expoerience service and quality of a bygone age. A delight for any traveller.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the sea completes the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was my first visit to Sidmouth and this hotel. The staff were really outstanding, polite with excellent attention to detail. The breakfast was delicious and enough to keep me going all day. The bedroom was large and extremely comfortable, at the front of the hotel over looking the sea. It was quiet with great views. The bathroom was immaculate, with lots of warm fluffy towels. I would recommend this hotel for a quiet and very relaxing break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanetNeale62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Excellent value and excellent location.

This Hotel was decorated well and the staff and service were excellent. The presentation of the food was good.

One of the best Christmas meals I have had - this Hotel is open to non-residents and well as residents.

Room Tip: Lovely view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LazyLumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Whilst I am local and know the hotel well I was joined by 6 other Somerset cricket fans from around Devon & Somerset for our informal mid winter lunch.It is something we have done for some years at various venues around the west country but I have to say that we all agreed that this was the best.We chose from the Hotel's special Christmas Menu and each of the five courses was a delight.The monkfish was exceptionally good.As always the service at the Riviera is unbeatable from all respects.Whilst it is a lengthy trip for some of our party we hope to come again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerekTarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riviera, with its echoes of the South of France and prime position on the seafront, is the choice for the discerning in search of relaxation and quieter pleasures. Many bedrooms have been recently refurbished, so, whether you stay on holiday or on business you will be treated to the kind of friendly personal attention that can only be found in a private hotel of this quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sidmouth
Hotel Riviera Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing