We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure excellence”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pure excellence”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was my first time here(the party I was with dined here before) and hopefully not my last..Absolutely superb from the moment we walked in till the moment we left.Very high standards indeed and nothing was too much trouble.We only used the restaurant on a Saturday evening we did not stay.The food was faultless and presented beautifully,with ample choice whether you were feeling adventurous or not,staff were obviously well trained and genuinely saw to our every need...Dining here is very much for a special occasion but very much worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devontravelbug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    20
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
35
99
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I just love this hotel and everything about it. I have reviewed The Riviera before and now after 4 visits I must write again. Mr Wharton and his fabulous team have got it spot on in terms of brilliant customer service with a real personal touch. Quite simply they are the best. They remember you every time you come back.....and we will certainly keep coming back again and again. Anyone wanting to experience what customer service really should be at its best then you really should go and stay.....and as for the food - amazing! Roll on spring for the next visit.

Room Tip: Room 305 is lovely with a great sea view. Quiet except for the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misstracey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have reviewed The Riviera before but feel compelled to do so again because it continues to maintain its high standards of friendly service. I love this place. Two nights just isn’t long enough – although I probably couldn’t stay for longer because the food is just too good! Believe me this is a hotel that is run by loyal, professional and charming staff who all exude team spirit. I’m already looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 302, top floor, nice and quiet with just the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bevells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

As a seasoned traveller, It takes a lot to impress but The Hotel Riviera has done so again. This is my second visit this year and yet again the Riviera has lived up and exceeded all expectations. This family hotel in the most perfect location is superb. The hotel staff balance the high level of service with friendliness and professionalism, nothing is too much trouble. I've stayed in hotels all over the world and the service levels at the Riviera are on par with some of the leading hotels of the world. The food is delicious and in abundance. The weekend deals are exceptional value and I can't wait to return again next year. Visiting the Riviera is like staying with old friends.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 304 which had wonderful sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raine5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with really lovely food. The car parking is tricky but their system where you leave them to park your car round the back works OK. Strange heating system and we had to ask for a fan heater in the evening and no heat in the radiator at 7.30am. These are minor niggles and the really lovely meals and super service more than compensated.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgendDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Where do you start, as soon as you walk in you are made welcome, this is our second visit the last time was 5 years ago and its still as perfect as the last time, for starters i had the Mushroom and Garlic Soup it was perfectly balanced not over powering, my partner had Parfait it was smooth and creamy, the mains we went for wer the ribeye steak with peppercorn sauce the steak was cooked perfectly to may likeing (blue) the peppercorn sauce was the right consistency, my partner had the fillet steak with the madeira jus with mushrooms and a side of buttered mash potatoes with parsley , the steak melted in the mouth as for the mash it was what it said really buttery . For dessert we shared the selection of lemon desserts it could not be faulted each of the small individual desserts were out of this world. The staff we encountered were all first class, the timings between taking our order and being served the various courses was perfect.Bearing in mind we both cook a lot and one of us teaches hospitality we are very impressed with all aspects of the Riviera Hotel. Looking forward to are next visit in December

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank les l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband booked a table at the Hotel Riviera to celebrate our wedding anniversary & what a perfect choice it turned out to be! We enjoyed a table with a beautiful sea-view, were very impressed with the quality & presentation of the food, were delighted with the attentive & personalised service we received & would wholeheartedly like to thank the staff for making the evening such a special & memorable occasion. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 59Ellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
840 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.0 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riviera, with its echoes of the South of France and prime position on the seafront, is the choice for the discerning in search of relaxation and quieter pleasures. Many bedrooms have been recently refurbished, so, whether you stay on holiday or on business you will be treated to the kind of friendly personal attention that can only be found in a private hotel of this quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sidmouth
Hotel Riviera Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing