We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal in Sidmouth and maybe the whole of the West Country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best meal in Sidmouth and maybe the whole of the West Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Where do you start, as soon as you walk in you are made welcome, this is our second visit the last time was 5 years ago and its still as perfect as the last time, for starters i had the Mushroom and Garlic Soup it was perfectly balanced not over powering, my partner had Parfait it was smooth and creamy, the mains we went for wer the ribeye steak with peppercorn sauce the steak was cooked perfectly to may likeing (blue) the peppercorn sauce was the right consistency, my partner had the fillet steak with the madeira jus with mushrooms and a side of buttered mash potatoes with parsley , the steak melted in the mouth as for the mash it was what it said really buttery . For dessert we shared the selection of lemon desserts it could not be faulted each of the small individual desserts were out of this world. The staff we encountered were all first class, the timings between taking our order and being served the various courses was perfect.Bearing in mind we both cook a lot and one of us teaches hospitality we are very impressed with all aspects of the Riviera Hotel. Looking forward to are next visit in December

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank les l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    20
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
33
98
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband booked a table at the Hotel Riviera to celebrate our wedding anniversary & what a perfect choice it turned out to be! We enjoyed a table with a beautiful sea-view, were very impressed with the quality & presentation of the food, were delighted with the attentive & personalised service we received & would wholeheartedly like to thank the staff for making the evening such a special & memorable occasion. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 59Ellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have been coming to Sidmouth for 30 years as my grandparents lived here for many years. This was my grandfather's favourite hotel and we often ate here. We had the pleasure of staying there last night. The service is impeccable, the food superb. As for value for money you get what you pay for, if you want English charm and luxury, treat yourself and stay here. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chambers65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I am writing this on behalf of my father,
Regretfully another superb holiday at the wonderful Riviera comes to an end, our second this year. Wonderful location, wonderful people and excellent food.
Having enjoyed marvelous holidays and been completely satisfied over the past decade since my wife and I discovered this superbly run family business, we introduced my daughter and son in law to the hotel.They now also hold the same feeling towards the hotel and the staff for their caring attitude.
We wish the the hotel and family continuing success in the future in a market which sadly lacks hotels of this quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cosmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. We lunched on the terrace overlooking the beach. Service was faultless - attentive, friendly and polite. The food we had was scrumptious - fresh crab on chunky bread served with salad and crisps. Presented beautifully and washed down with tea. There were three of us and the bill was £27. Very acceptable for the ambience, service and setting.

Room Tip: Only visited for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We love returning here. The sea view bedroom with excellent facilities always a delight. The bathroom thoughtfully designed with space for toiletries and good towels and bathrobes. Evening turn down. Dining a real pleasure with excellent choice and service. Breakfast - what a pleasure- served in a civilised manner- no travelling to a sub- standard buffet! The Terrace is splendid and unlike in another review the furniture is high quality and very comfortable. The Pimms fruit cup supped in the sunshine is second to none.

Room Tip: Sea view always the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elya_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to a very warm welcome. The room was very clean and furnished to a high standard. The bathroom was also very clean and looked to have been recently decorated. Took the opportunity to take a peek at the sea view rooms and they did look rather special( next time maybe). The dinner and breakfast was exceptional and the service was outstanding. It was nice to stay in a well run independent hotel...

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Smoulson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riviera, with its echoes of the South of France and prime position on the seafront, is the choice for the discerning in search of relaxation and quieter pleasures. Many bedrooms have been recently refurbished, so, whether you stay on holiday or on business you will be treated to the kind of friendly personal attention that can only be found in a private hotel of this quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sidmouth
Hotel Riviera Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing