We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful refurbished rooms”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We had an enjoyable stay here two years but felt that the decor in our room was rather `faded` Not now, we had a refurbished room that reflected then Edwardian splendour of 1903 when the hotel was built but had furnishings with soft, relaxing colours and modern amenitiesof a flat screen television and LED reading lights. The bathroom was really modern with efficient lighting for putting on make-up! As usual the service was impeccable. The staff are so well trained and actually seem to enjoy their jobs. The food was good before but exceptional this time. Small touches of hand made canapes in the bar were appreciated. ayes, many of the clientele are older but have very interesting stories to tell. Will certainly return, their Winter Breaks are very good value for money. One small criticism - why not provide free wireless internet?

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2009

This is a totally unique and very classy establishment. Lets hope Marianne70 appreciates this type of experience when she matures.
If you appreciate fabulous personal service and have very high standards you will love the Victoria.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iloveweekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Definitely by the weather! But also by the hotel. What a glorious find this hotel was! The service is second to none. There are not many hotels in this country that offer this level of service. Everyone from the Concierge and Reception to Housekeeping and Waiters/Waitressers know how to offer perfect service. The hotel was beautifully presented, very clean and the suite we had on the second floor was fabulous! We had two turret rooms, two balconies, two bathrooms (one modernised (absolutely enormous), one note). The bedroom was gorgeous with the most enormous and comfortable bed. The food is very good with a very reasonably priced wine list. We had the most perfect stay with the worst weather possible. My only criticism would be the children's menu: please lose the burger in a bun, fish fingers and chips and spag bol and offer more of the proper food, such as the dish of the day. My daughter had the dish of the day on both days, and as a picky parent on the food front, it was extremely good and she was served her main course with our starter so that she could finish a little earlier, so that we could put her to bed and then we could finish our meal more leisurely.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassyb672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We have been staying at the Victoria for several years, two or three times each year. On each occasion the experience has been impeccable in every respect. We have a choice of booking one of the 'best' rooms (which are splendid), or a more modest, smaller room and staying longer. As you enjoy the same top-quality level of service, cuisine and entertainment whichever room you select, it's an easy choice for us to make - more nights please! Particularly impressive is the number of staff, and the high standard of service through every area of the hotel. The management work tirelessly to ensure that a relaxing, pleasant time is had by every guest.
Just one small point - it would be even more pleasant if small children - say under six or seven - were not allowed in the Restaurant in the evenings, as high tea is provided for them, and an efficient baby-listening service is available. In fairness, most of the children who are lucky enough to stay at the Victoria are well-mannered, with attentive, considerate parents. (This attitude is in sad contrast to parents at other similar hotels, where their offspring shout, scream and wreak havoc while they sit around, smiling indulgently).
If you are seeking a relaxing, spacious, well-run hotel with excellent food and a superb staff, look no further than the Victoria!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet_Hitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Following a visit to the lovely Thurlestone Hotel in Devon (see review) we moved onto to The Victoria at Sidmouth. Lovely building, parking can be difficult. Excellent welcome and
four night stay in superior newly refitted room with balcony. Room well appointed, no safe. No air conditioning, but there is a miniscule face fan. Even in October it was hot, would be pretty uncomfortable during the summer or warmer months. Wifi advertised, but at a charge of £10 per day ! Apparently its new to this old fashioned hotel. Had to visit the libarary ten minute walk away, for this facility where it is free of charge (as in all library's) Brend Hotels need to catch up here.
The public rooms are very attractive and the staff helpful when needed.
The clientelle are all very elderly, one felt that this could be an upmarket residential home and one was visiting mother.
In general the ambiance was very nice, if you were happy with the age of the clients.
The dining room was amazingly cramped. We were allocated a small table table on our first evening which gave me a view of the side wall of The Belmont next door and my husband a small view of the dining room. An intelligent move would be to angle the table and give each diner a view of the room. We asked to be moved and the elderly retained who looked after the dining room and lacked a sense of humour looked exasperated, his eyes met the ceiling - he would do what he could !!
Day two found us sitting in an extremely confined space with a two foot square table barely large enough to hold the necessary plates/glasses. On our elbow evergreen plants shielded us from the next diner a few inches away. We were finally moved for our last night to table really for two, with space for a salt and pepper pot (table 1).
Sorry to say the food was pretty awful all round. Starters were quite acceptable in the main, sweets looked very nice but did'nt come up to expectation and the main courses left a lot to be desired. The fish was overcooked and dry. Sirloin steak which naturally we expected served with possibly tomatoes,mushrooms, new potatoes or french fries and to have been grilled. This was actually, three slices of beef put in a pyramid, served with gravy and horseradish sauce, and even then very tough.
Breakfasts, were not a lot better. Pullets eggs fried and served with bacon arrived hard, even when requested 'runny'. Little variety in fruit.
Overall, this is a lovely building, very nice rooms and if you must stay there and are happy with a feeling of a rest home then go out to dinner, there must be better food elsewhere in Sidmouth. If you need to take your laptop you'll be disappointed, I guess they expect that their clientelle will not have discovered computors yet.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We booked a last minute weekend break direct with the hotel for two nights (Fri/Sat) we were looking for complete peace, relaxation and some luxury. Sidmouth itself it definitely quiet, just how we wanted it so perfect, weather was also good so a real bonus. On arrival first impressions were good a very sumptuous entrance lobby with an abundance of lovely chairs and sofas to sink into, the whole ambience was of luxury and peace. Check in quick, allocated room with sea view on third floor, (320) we opted for a superior room, all the delux were taken. The last minute prices were not significantly reduced, I don't think they really need to as I think the majority of guests are repeat booking,s mostly retired so have plenty of time on their hands! Our room was one of the refurbished and was lovely, quality drapes and bedding. Small hiccup with cleanliness of bathroom but quick phone call to reception and sorted double quick. Large TV and hospitality tray, no fridge but mini bar. Bathroom good and big fluffy towels (would have nice to have shower screen instead of curtain though). We visited the spa on the lower ground floor which was very nice, but nobody else was there, such a shame as I feel is sure it under used and somewhere that would have spent extra money on treatments, I guess the average age of the guests may prohibit further investment. You could book treatments but had to do so beforehand as someone would have to come in from the town. Note to Brend hotels if they want to appeal to the 40+ age group they really need to look at a spa packages, all the ingredients are already in place. The hotel has a putting green (immaculately kept) just get clubs from the conceirge, good fun. Dinner is formal dress, which I think a very good tradition, not too over the top, but enough that you feel it is something special. On the Friday night there was a pianist, although disappointingly he only played until 9pm and we were still eating, bit naughty when there are still people dining, although we were in the minority. Most guests are early eaters (dinner served 7pm to 9pm), not sure it would be acceptable to come in much later than 8pm. The food was top class and the serving staff were excellent, friendly and attentive but not pushy or rushing you in between courses. You are pre-allocated a table before you arrive, so same table for breakfast as well, nice as you get to know your fellow dinners. The choice of wine and prices were reasonable. On the Saturday evening if you could possibly move after 7 courses there was a quartet playing who move into the sun terrace room where there is a small dance floor. They were very good and added a lively atmosphere to a fairly sedate atmosphere (I think they are a regular fixture). In summary the Victoria is exactly what it says on the packet, we were very impressed with the staff who were constantly working hard to look after the guests from Managers to waiting and Chamber Staff. Surroundings lovely, food superb, we would definitely visit again. I was told that Christmas and New Year are amazing but you need to book the year before! This is most definitely a hotel that appeals to the more mature guest and that would be my only negative it would be nice to see a slightly younger age profile but maybe that would spoil a tried and very successful recipe, well done Brend Hotels for maintaining high standards.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarsbarUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We have just spent a long weekend at the Victoria, to celebrate my significant other's special birthday. I have nothing but praise for the staff, for the extremely comfortable public areas, and even our room, which was not one of the refurbished ones, but was nevertheless very well-equipped and serviced. My one criticism was with the food. It seemed that the kitchen seemed able to cope quite well with most dishes, but fell down badly when it came to fish. On both occasions that I ordered fish for my main course, once sea bass and another time for "Cornish cod", the dish arrived over-cooked, dry and virtually uneatable. On the second occasion, I did complain to the deputy manager, who was very apologetic, offered me an alternative, (which I was unable to accept), and passed on my comments to the chef, who also apologised. However, I feel that there is no excuse for badly cooked fish in a place where access to fresh produce is so easy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: $308 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing