We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Edwardian hotel with exceptional service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ferndown
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Elegant Edwardian hotel with exceptional service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

My family have enjoyed short breaks at this traditional seaside hotel for ten years. Beautiful oak panelling, a longcase clock and a huge oak fireplace dominate the ground floor lounge area which has stunning sea views. Staff are friendly and courteous and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The Jubilee Restaurant promotes formal dining (jacket & tie required) with excellent food and service.
I must also complement the hotel gardeners who work hard to keep the lawns and flower beds looking so attractive all year round. In all a genteel hotel with a traditional atmosphere where good old fashioned values are thankfully maintained.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your most positive review for the Victoria Hotel after your family’s recent stay with us.

It is always such a pleasure to welcome family’s back each year, and we were delighted to welcome yours for your tenth visit, no less!

It was wonderful to read that you have found the Hotel has maintained its traditional atmosphere, along with its beautiful furnishings, and that you have been able to enjoy the lovely views of Lyme Bay from our Lounges.

We were also pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experience in our Jubilee Restaurant and that our request for gentleman to wear a Jacket and Tie is a welcome one.

All your comments about our hard working staff members service has been passed on. These were very much appreciated, particularly by our wonderful Gardening Team.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review for the Victoria, and we look forward to welcoming your family back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    151
    44
    10
    3
See reviews for
179
408
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

4 generations of the family stayed here in March for a100th birthday celebration. The staff were fantastic- couldn't be more helpful and flexible (especially with a 100yr old and a 6mth old to keep happy!). A subset of us stay in the Victoria suite which I would highly recommend, especially for those with young children as it has a small kitchen area. All the accommodation exceeded our expectations- modern, comfortable and clean. A great weekend. Thanks to all at the Victoria!

Room Tip: The Victoria suite was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful ‘5 Star’ review for the Victoria Hotel after your family’s 100th Celebratory Birthday stay with us earlier this year in March.

We were delighted to read that your weekend was a successful one, and that we were able to keep the Birthday Girl happy. It is always our pleasure to aid our guests in any requests they may have, and all your lovely comments have been passed onto our hard working staff members. They are greatly appreciated.

It was also good to read that you would highly recommend the Victoria Suite and the other accommodation that your family stayed in, as you found them all to be clean, comfortable and modern.

Thank you again for your most wonderful review and we all look forward to welcoming your family back to The Victoria in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just a wonderful relaxing break from the warm greeting from Cliff continuing through the whole week.

All staff friendly, helpful and kind.

The hotel as usual is worthy of the five stars we give them.
The Victoria Suite is just fantastic.

It is not broken. Please do not try to fix

Room Tip: If your partner snores. Try the Victoria Suite. Your own air conditioned bedroom. Wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review for the Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that your stay was wonderful and that you would not have changed anything.

Your comments regarding our hard working staff were a pleasure to read and have been passed on to all. They were much appreciated by the staff, especially Cliff.

Thank you again for your ‘5 Star’ review, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Victoria Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. We had a deluxe sea view room, the furnishings, the little extra's (fresh fruit, chocolates, range of in-room drinks etc etc) were superb. The view over Sidmouth bay was stunning.

The initial greeting and subsequent service was quite exceptional. I had forgotten a jacket and tie (an essential requirement to enjoy dinner in the restaurant) but I was loaned these by the hotel, how brilliant is that.

The food and service was second to none, some of the so called celebrity chefs could learn a thing or two from this place.

If you want perfect service and a lovely location, the Victoria is the place to come to!!

Room Tip: If you like good views then ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 601KevinC_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your ‘5 star’ positive review after your stay with us at The Victoria Hotel.

We were delighted to read that you found your accommodation to be superb with all the furnishings, deluxe extras and wonderful views of Lyme Bay, and that your dining experience in our Jubilee Restaurant was ‘second to none’.

Your comments about our hard working staff across all the departments were wonderful to read, and have been passed on.

We are so pleased that you spent your short break with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Victoria Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our family have been going to this hotel since 1981. It was good then and it just gets better. A very comfortable relaxing and spotless place to stay. All the staff ( everybody ) are so kind and helpful. The Jubilee Restaurant is tastefully furnished with good food to complement it. A nice pleasant place to spend a Holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms sea facing are very nice. Garden rooms also very nice but no sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive review for the Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to welcome back such longstanding guests, and to hear that we are delivering as good, if not better service now, as when you first visited us back in 1981.

It was wonderful reading that you find the Victoria to have a clean, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, with a good dining experience in our Jubilee Restaurant, and that the service from all our staff is well received. All your kind comments have been passed on.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Victoria Hotel in the coming years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at short notice as a family in the Victoria Suite at the Victoria Hotel. Amazing space, decor and views of the bay. Large bathroom, two bedrooms and Lounge. We used both pools.

Whilst our waitress was very freendly The only comment I would make is a few more smiles from some of the more dour staff would be 'back to the old days'

Other than that we had the most fabulous time and would recommend the hotel to all

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertkK4739UX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your impromptu visit with us earlier this month.

We were delighted to read that you found the Victoria Suite to be the ideal place to stay with its wonderful views of Lyme Bay, and that you were able to enjoy some of the wonderful leisure facilities that we have to offer.

Your kind remark has been passed on to your waitress, and we endeavour to do all we can to get back ‘to the old days’.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review, and we hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to The Victoria Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is the only choice in the area if you are looking for an exclusive hotel. I chose to stay there because of the TV series Jeeves and Wooster. I wanted to experience the old and nostalgic atmosphere. It is worth trying for this experience once, and no more than that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dai Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing