We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and lovely food”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and lovely food”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very happy with our visit and the great service . We visited with a group of 6 friends for my wife's 50 the birthday. A special mention to George , a waiter, who was lovely! The people make the place! Located close to the Donkey Sanctuary

Room Tip: Try and get room 109a where our friends lord and lady Roberts of The Naite stayed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    164
    50
    10
    3
See reviews for
197
447
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed here for a few days and experienced excellent food and drink in first class surroundings as well as good service from every department of the establishment. I have been before and will be back.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view, it is worth it. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everthecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbury-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is an old and comparatively expensive hotel owned by a large Group in the South West.
We stayed for three nights, coming home today21/11/2013.
We had a "deal" and spent nearly eight hundred pounds as breakfast and the table d'hote dinner menu was included with a pleasant room. We drank wines to match the menu choices - reasonably priced.
There are a number of very long serving staff and the skills have been passed on successfully in many instances.
The hotel is decorated beautifully for Christmas and housekeeping is good and thorough.
With all the work in training and encouragement to get the best standards from a range of personalities it is disappointing to feel obliged to complain about the welcome and the farewell....

The reception office is divided by a glass partition and if the desk is not at first occupied one is looked at through the glass by a member of staff.The feeling is not hostility but one of awkwardness.The reception and booking in needs a lot of attention -although we were not made to feel unwelcome.

However,the departure was casual in the extreme and it took fifteen minutes for my bags to be brought down.

There were many conversations taking place between staff, across the reception desk, during our stay.This is not good manners .

It is an old hotel and has a great reputation - the owners and the managers should already know that the most vulnerable time for the hotel - in the perception of the guest -is arriving and leaving (particularly if it is possible to ruin the effect of excellent breakfast service.)

The Carlyon Bay Hotel is owned by the same Group and we would hope to encounter better circumstances there when we visit soon

Room Tip: there are many seaviews all around the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here again recently, this is such a lovely hotel. The staff are friendly and can't do enough for you. A great place to spend a weekend!
The view never fails to impress us as does the food and level of comfort.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Boatman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having been a regular, albeit one night a year for the past eight years I feel compelled to have to say that this was the worse time I have spent at the Victoria.

I shall start by saying that the staff are very friendly and professional, especially the long serving staff such as Cliff and the gentleman/comedian who runs the late night bar (apologies for not remembering your name). They are a credit to the hotel. Having said that, there seems to be a corporate element entering the 'Brend Group' which is all to common when a company gets larger and the accountants get involved.

Firstly the day time service was shocking! Not enough staff to meet the demand, we waited approximately 30-40mins, not once but twice, and we were not the only group to wait as several people were complaining. It's ridiculous as the waiting staff are not on high wages, employ more, take more money!!! We would have squeezed in another round of drinks but didn't have time, and again I'm sure we wouldn't have been the only ones to spend more.

The next thing that I found disgusting in more ways than one were the sandwiches. The menu states 'Freshly cut bread', it was precut Hovis at best and for £7.75 for a beef sandwich with coleslaw which looked like it had been left out for hours and stale crisps I felt ripped off, I even complained to the front desk (no waiting staff to complain too).

Tradditionaly our group has a couple of drinks before we go in for our evening meal, and on past occassions we have always had nibbles provided, this now seems to be redundant unless you drink in the bar area. Why this is I'm unsure as our drinks are not any cheaper in the lobby than the bar, is it again a staff and cost cutting measure??? Then the evening meal, well what can I say...very ordinary in comparrison to our previous visits, bland and uninsipiring. The service in the restaurant is very good though.

To summise I believe the hotel is cutting costs and corners, service is definately down (promptness, not politeness) and the quality is very noticeably less. House wine at £24 a bottle is ridiculous as it probably costs less than £4 a bottle and it's just ok tasting. The sandwiches are so over priced and the bread is not freshly cut, it is again a way to push guests into the town to get a better sandwich at a better price. If you want to save a couple of quid ditch the stupid bit of parsley of the cooked breakfast and put it towards another member of waiting staff during the day to cut some fresh bread and take orders! In all seriousness the breakfast is the one area that doesn't seem to have been comprimised.

It's a family run hotel, run it like your family were staying there and paying the bill, would they think it value for money...?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Victoria Hotel. As a return guest we were pleased to read that the staff had continued to impress you with their friendliness, service and professionalism. It is always very rewarding for the staff to read those comments.

Your other points that you raised have been noted and are being investigated, and appropriate action will be taken.

I can assure you that I have never received instruction or given instruction to cut back on the service that we provide to our guests and Brend Hotels has never been run by an accountancy team, but by a family passionate about their hotels.

I am sorry that on this occasion, we failed to match up to your previous experiences and I hope that one day you may choose to try The Victoria Hotel again for a more typical and enjoyable visit, as mentioned in my e-mail to you.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I spent a lovely long weekend here. The room was beautiful, with sea views and the most comfy bed I've slept in. Small box of chocs, fruit and flowers in the room,and numerous choices of teas, coffee, hot choc etc.
Wonderful view of the promenade, and seafront. Ideal location as just a short stroll into the town.
The staff were welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble.
The luxurious lounge and bar were excellent,and the dining room service was attentive and again, nothing was too much trouble.
On the Saturday evening we had a most enjoyable evening dancing to the band in the hotel. The singer was excellent, and the band can play a wide assortment of songs from 1940s to Abba!
The food in the hotel is exceptionally good. If you stay here, do try their dinner menu. Beautifully presented, absolutely delicious and to finish off, a relaxing coffee with homemade chocs in the lounge. Perfect.
The pool and jacuzzi was a pleasant way to spent a wet and windy morning, and the heated chairs were a novel place to read the papers.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

First time I have used a hotel within the Brend Chain. My wife and I visited for a week in early October and were more than satisfied. From thje moment of arrival to our departure everying was top class. Receptionists were very pleasant and well informed. Our room which was on the first floor and had a sea view, was very well appointed with extremely comfortable beds and plenty of space. We were of a DBB tariff and were pleased we were. Breakfasts were superb with plenty of choice and individually cooked. The dinner menu was comprehensive. All parts of the meal were cooked to perfection and well presented.
The public rooms in the hotel were sumptious. Deeply c arpeted and with very comfortable furniture. Plenty of space. All the staff in the hotel were obviously well trained, extremely pleasant and took a pride in their work but I feel special mention must be made of the restaurant staff. They were extremely efficient and attentive without being patronising. Knew their work to perfection and a credit to themselves and the Restaurant Manager.
The grounds opf the hotel were well cared for, tidy and litter free. A Hotel I would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_webster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidmouth
0.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
17.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing