We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best.”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The very best.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We need to say very little about this very special hotel. Having booked at the very last moment we were delighted from start to finish with every aspect of this hotel. The receptionist (Heather) greeted us with a smile and from then on nothing was too much trouble, therefore we are looking forward to our next stay here very soon. Thank you to the Victoria and all its staff.

Room Tip: we would think that every room is of the highest standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    160
    48
    10
    3
See reviews for
190
434
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent two nights at the Victoria to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our superior sea view room was of a very high standard and was extremely comfortable. Staff were helpful, polite and attentive throughout. We dined in on the first night but felt that the food was not of a particularly high standard for what we paid. Dinner was £150+ for two including a bottle of house bubbles and a cheap-ish bottle of red wine. As a result we chose to eat out on the second night (but beware the shortage of restaurants in Sidmouth) choosing a Chinese as the best of a fairly unimpressive selection of eateries. Breakfast at £18 per head was of good quality but seemed expensive for what it was. Overall the two nights cost over £750 including one dinner and two breakfasts. Not particularly good value for money perhaps but the de luxe nature of the hotel comes at a premium. We're unlikely to return to the Victoria but we are pleased that we were able to experience such a comfortable venue for our anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our first visit to the Victoria will be one of many i hope .A very wide range of activities were on offer for our two children who had a great time.The staff were very friendly,food excellent with a varied choice .The rooms were off a high standard with good sea views everything you could ask for.It made our summer holiday exceptional

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy64stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent position with great amenities - 2 swimming pools, pitch and put etc. The room we stayed in had a good sea view but was very small and certainly not worth anywhere near the £220 a night we paid. For that price, I would expect something 'special'. My biggest gripe was that the room was being set up for the next guests when we got back from breakfast before we had even checked out which I found appalling. I reported this to reception as we checked out and we received an apology and were told that this is not standard policy. Unfortunately it tarnished my experience and made me feel that I was on a conveyor belt. Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked the delux double with sea view. Clean, spacious and excellently located, but the double was a poorly coupled twin; the shower and bath was very average; and the sea view was not visible from the low lounge type chairs by the window. The wi-fi didn't work either. We very politely mentioned that we were a bit disappointed with the room but were told that nothing could be done that the message would be passed on to the manager. No response ever came and when we checked out, we weren't asked if everything was okay with our stay, because they knew the answer. The grandeur of the hotel was small compensation for an overpriced room, missing facilities, uncaring staff and thoughtless furniture layout that hampered the sea view.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fishwish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The whole experience was first rate. The staff were excellent in every department-I am in retail and I know when I am receiving good service. The hotel has charm,period charm. It's rather like going back to the 1950's,everyone(guests and staff)are so polite to one another. The dining room is an event in its own right. The tables are beautifully set with linen cloths and knapkins,good quality old cutlery and glasses polished within an inch of their lives.The food was excellent. You may have gathered I would commend you to The Victoria!

Room Tip: Do opt for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timboDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us and for all of your kind comments, they are very much appreciated. It was most pleasing to read that as a first time visitor to our hotel you found the ambience, dining experience, service and staff up to your high standards.

It is most reassuring to read that you appreciated what we are aiming to achieve and that we made your first visit to us an especially enjoyable one.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Victoria in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Decided to treat my mum, daughter and myself to a girlie weekend (see it was not what you were thinking!!). Thought we would push the boat out as we don't get to go away that often so I booked a poolside apartment. On arrival the reception staff were friendly and helpful and showed us to the apartment.

The apartment was clean and very nice at first glance and we congratulated ourselves on our good choice ...and headed straight to the beach to enjoy the fantastic weather. Got back in the evening, tired and ready for bed.

It was at this point the shine started to fade. Firstly the TV did not work. Tried to contact reception but the phone did not work. Had to use my mobile and dial the hotel as an outside caller. The response was prompt and a nice man was duly dispatched. He could not get it to work!! Finally, after much hassle, the TV was working but by now all the children's TV channels had finished and so I asked if there was a DVD player. Response was "No sorry - but I could ask if you can have one". My thought at this point was for £300 + per night I would not expect to have to ask for a DVD player!!. A DVD player was located and bought to the room. By now an hour had passed and I'd given up and put a grumpy daughter to bed.

Finally my mum and I settled down to watch the TV. In time we decided to turn in for the night. My mum bravely offered to take the Z bed. Brave being the right word. It was dreadful. Felt awful asking my mum to sleep on such a dreadful bed - even our sofa bed at home is better quality (all the time I was thinking I paid £300 per night for this!!).

Slopped off to my "comfortable bed" only to realize that the bed was like rock. I know a firm bed is supposed to be good for you - but at one point in the night I seriously gave consideration to sleeping on the floor as I thought it might have more "give" in it. Next morning my mum and I were both comparing aches and pains and lack of sleep. We endured two night of this. Whilst the holiday itself was brilliant, mainly because of the weather, sleep deprivation was considerable.

Other grips (and I may as well get it off my chest) included a very slow draining sink in the bathroom, a toaster that was not fit for purpose (it did not toast both sides) and the outdoor swimming pool full of dead midges!! My five year old jumped in and was swooshing around. I asked why she was doing this and she said "so I can swim without flies". Eeek. A couple of other early morning swimmer arrived and were hunting around for a net ...but gave up.

Now if this had been a 3 star hotel at £80/90 a night I'd have not whinge as much in this review - but it is NOT. They are charging a premium and it is quite frankly NOT worth it. The final moan - I ordered a pint of bitter shandy at the pool side bar. I was told they'd have to fetch it from the main hotel bar - so I waited politely for my drink. The charge - £4.50!!!!

In summary - Sidmouth is lovely, the communal areas of the hotel are very nice, the position is fantastic ...BUT and it is a big BUT ...the beds are like concrete and if you value a good nights sleep look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing