We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing weekend at the Victoria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend at the Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A lovely hotel with wonderful views of the sea. We stayed in a sea view room which was well worth the money. The room was comfortable, well furnished & the view was lovely.
The hotel itself attracted an older clientele. We were by far the youngest guests at the weekend. But that lends itself nicely to the relaxed atmosphere.
Sidmouth at the weekend was full of older people & families with young children.
It is a traditional seaside resort. Which is great if you dont mind dodging the mobility scooters, zimmer frames, walking sticks & push chairs & buggies.
One of the previous reviews mentions Gods waiting room & yes it is like that. But its a gentle resort & if you're going to stay anywhere, you may as well stay in style & comfort & that is the Victoria. A lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bl0ndie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    149
    44
    10
    2
See reviews for
172
405
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is always such a wonderful experience for a short break. The staff are always so polite and helpful, the rooms very classy and the restaurant and food to die for . The lounges have stunning views out to sea. Sidmouth is also a wonderful place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186336JohnM254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent with wonderful panoramic views from the lounge over the seafront and beaches and coastline so that even in very chilly March we were warm and had plenty to look at. Courteous helpful staff,(I would mention Callum in restaurant particularly) maintenance of upkeep of rooms and furnishings very high. We have been here for one of their delicious afternoon teas and good value sunday lunches but not stayed before, we were not disappointed the room was an upgrade without asking they put us in a spacious front deluxe seaview, we had bowl of fruit, small box chocolates and fresh lilies with a note from manager, my mother was delighted. We used the pool and liked the relaxation rooms off the spa lovely idea heated loungers and chillax music. Older clientele who return regularly but would be good for family seaside break we shall definitely go back for a summer break.

Room Tip: try for a south facing sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piney56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed with my partner for one night, just to get away from the hustle and bustle of working life. I have to say I agree wholeheartedly with NewRdgourmet's assessment- we were the youngest by some 25 years and I swore it was the Queen asleep in one of the well stuffed armchairs in the lounge, resplendant in powder blue.
The room was lovely, with a fabulous view overlooking a quaint cottage by the sea. Dinner was elegant, but I did feel like I was sat in God's waiting room at times..... harsh, but there it is.
The bar was indeed very quiet from around 10pm- no bad thing, we did come away to relax.
Having not been to Sidmouth in years, it was lovely to be reminded of what makes the British seaside so fantastic- like a step back in time, and that is a good, good thing occasionally.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolBubblesdevere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our first visit to this Hotel and feel sure it will not be our last. A lovely welcome at Reception with very quick check-in. All staff very friendly, helpful and yet businesslike. We paid for a delux sea view room and it was just perfect. Bed was very comfortable and all the usual toiletries supplied in the en suite as well as slippers and dressing gowns. Flowers, chocolates and fruit in the room and a chocolate on your pillow every night. The Dining Room was lovely and the food just excellent. Cannot praise this Hotel enough and would certainly recommend it to anybody. One thing we especially liked was the cosy and warm temperature in the Hotel as during our 5 days there, the outside temperature never got above 5 degrees, if that. Also loved the lounge with the big windows looking out to sea. Just perfect. Looking forward to a return visit soon.

Room Tip: Not far from town centre but stands quite high and may be a bit of a climb for the less mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I can only speak for two visits in one week to the lounge area; we have not sampled the rooms or restaurant but are tempted.
A grand hotel perched above the promenade at the elegant if slightly old fashioned resort of Sidmouth in Devon. Part of the Brend group it maintains high standards and does it well. The lounge is rather like a conservatory with lovely sea views. It is warm, bright and filled with comfortable sofas and chairs.
The first visit was for an early evening snack whilst waiting for a local event to start at 7.30 pm. Two guests and I were shown to our seats in the lounge which had one or two other occupied tables at about 18.15. We said we wanted something to eat and the waiter explained the chef did not come back on duty until about 18.45 if we could wait, or they could do sandwiches in the meantime. Wile we looked at the menu and ordered a drink it appeared that the chef had arrived (or been summoned) early. Unfortunately they had run out of mussels so we settled for paninis, brie, chicken, bacon and cranberry. They were delicious as was the one bowl of we chips we we tempted to have. Two of us had two large glasses of wine (so more than a bottle) and with one pot of tea the bill came to £70 so not cheap. However the ambience, service and food were excellent and certainly warranted another visit.
The second was the day before Good Friday when we had picked up children from their last day at school and were ready for a pre Easter treat. Afternoon tea at the Victoria. Three adults and three children under 9 were welcomed and settled down with extra tables. Cakes were chosen (and an exa one popped in to even up the choices). We had three full afternoon teas; cucumber and egg sandwiches, crab sandwiches (a supplement but worth every penny), fruit and plain scones, clotted cream, delicious strawberry conserve and of course the cakes. All washed down with endless pots of Earl Grey tea and hot chocolate for the children who also had a scoop of very good quality ice cream each. One of us succumbed to a glass of champagne with the crab sandwich were were as good as I have ever eaten.
Willing, friendly and attentive service and a lovely atmosphere. The children loved it. Coincidentally, the bill was £70 again but still good value.
Its only a short drive from home but I am tempted to try a weekend break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilminstertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed for a few nights to attend a family function in March. From the moment you walk through the (highly polished), brass edged revolving door you realise this experience will be one form a bygone age. The lobby area has more soft furnishings than Multiyork, all inviting the weight to be taking off those tired octogenarian legs. The room itself was oddly shaped (we had The Garden Room), but provided a decent bed with Kettle, biscuits! and a very generous sized bathroom. The bar in the main building was well stocked, but lacked atmosphere later on, as according to the friendly bar tender 'most folks have gone to bed' - this was 20 past ten!

Breakfast was plentiful, though not the best I've had considering the price of our stay (200p/night, p/couple), and service was brisk and friendly. Dinner was good, though at £42 for the set 5 course menu it should have been. A lovely salmon entree followed by a fillet of pickled Seabass set up the main event nicely. Hereford roast beef with all the trimmings, Yum. Neatly followed by a well sourced cheese board and I have to say I was very happy.

In short, if you are looking to slow down considerably while eating well, then this is your place. Put into context, the in-laws are 70 this year and they were some of the youngest there! A great location a short 10 minute walk (5 minutes in a mobility scooter) to the centre added to the considerable old world charm, means it's a popular venue all year round. I said 'IT'S A POPULAR VENUE ALL YEAR ROUND DEAR!'

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewRdgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing