We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pride of Sidmouth”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Victoria a number of times over the years and it has never failed to impress. On our arrival there was a misunderstanding over the room we had reserved. The matter was promptly and efficiently dealt with and we were taken to a beautiful room overlooking the sea.

The hotel has had a reputation for being rather staid and over recent years it has managed to refurbish in such a way that it has widened its appeal and yet retained that feeling of grandeur and luxury.

The staff and service were exemplary at all times. The quality of the food in the restaurant was of the highest standard. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

The Victoria is well located just above the sea front in Sidmouth. The town is a short walk away and retains some excellent independent shops, cafes, etc and is a pleasant change from the multiples seen in so many other towns these days.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelt0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 988 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel was excellent from start to finish - the staff were always friendly and willing to help with any request and the food was superb. Everywhere was immaculately clean and well kept I would highly recommend it, a joy to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PearlEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel was more than we expected, the service was excellent & nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the pool was just like getting into a nice warm bath, & everything was very clean, basically we thought it was first class.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

It might be the town itself or just the carefree, warm and traditional hotel that makes The Victoria the perfect place to stay. We enjoy the wonderful service, excellent menu and listening to live music as we dine. There is ample parking and after an enjoyable day visiting the many South Devon sites it is a joy to swim in the choice of pools. It is great value for money despite the cost, but that is why we do not see children, which we find a distraction.
Tea in the room, quick swim before a superb breakfast... bliss!

Room Tip: We prefer an west facing room as you get to see more of the beautiful sea and countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Victoria is a five star hotel masquading as a four star. The service is impeccable. The food is sublime. Our bedroom was perfect. Go there if you want to sample the elegance and grandeur of the very best in seaside hotels. If you go at peak times, yes it is expensive, but keep your eye out for off season deals that include the evening meal. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike2251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed overnight after a private function for a friends Golden Wedding Celebration. The standard for the function was first class and I am sure our friends would have been satisfied with the organisation. Our room was tip top, Bathroom excellent, good front sea view, all the little extras in the room made it very comfortable. Could have done with a clock though! The staff were attentive and there seemed to be plenty of them. Perhaps the time taken to bring the afternoon tea was a little long, but that is perhaps the only very minor comment I can make and should not be considered as a criticism. Food excellent as was the choice and well presented. No problem with the tie and jacket rule for dinner - we think it is a good thing to help maintain the elegance which makes this Hotel what it is. We would not consder it Old Fashioned, just in period. I accept it is not the cheapest but you get what you pay for and this ceratinly applies here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A one night stay following a function in the hotel.
A really nice sized room with a balcony and sea view, High quality furnishings.. Plenty of room to move around. Decent sized TV. Bathroom a bit small, but spotless and good quality fitments, and good sized towels! (Sometimes I have trouble getting them round me!)
Breakfast was excellent, a really good selection of fruits, meats, cereals, yogurts etc., and a very good hot breakfast. Public rooms are very warm pleasant and comfortable. Staff very attentive and friendly.
I have stayed here before, that room was very small, we had a job to get round the bed....and the heating was not working. There was a heater in the wardrobe, but not very satisfactory. We were told it was a room waiting to be refurbished. Having said all that, the quality of the furnishings and standards of service etc., were all excellent.
Always ask for a decent sized room when you book.
I am very glad I came back and had a really nice room.

Room Tip: Ask to have a decent sized room, and a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavendergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sidmouth
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: $277 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing