We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in a word , excellent”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“in a word , excellent”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I booked at the last minute and followed the tripadvisor reviews. From the moment you arrive you are cosseted and just relax. Service and staff are excellent. Dinner in the restaurant is well presented and attentively served. Nothing was too much trouble. We were very ralaxed from the moment we arrived. I recommend this botel without reservation. i shall return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    160
    48
    10
    3
See reviews for
190
435
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just spent a week at this super hotel and we could not fault it in any way. Our room was delightful with a sea view. The food was wonderful. The staff were all friendly and helpful and even the weather was great. We also spent time in the attractive lounge overlooking the sea.
We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We would always have a sea view room on holiday as we live miles from the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed for our 40th. Everything superb.Staff so helpful. Room top class. If anything was exceptional it was the food and the restaurant.No wonder they have won so many awards. Pay extra for a seaview and balcony its worth it.Stayed before at sister hotel carlyon bay st austell but the victoria has kept its traditional quality decor and it shows.

Room Tip: Pay extra for seaview and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clive m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Second stay here. We arrived on time and parked easily (as we did throughout our stay) Our rooms were ready and porterage was offered by friendly reception staff. Rooms are small but well equipped (same may be said of the bathrooms). Try to get a sea view room. Very clean. First class towels and linen. Good modern digital TV's. Free Wifi works very well - ask at reception for this week's password. Hospitality trays are poor quality. There were actually a couple of things wrong with one of our rooms but once reported, staff did everything possible to resolve the problems.
Bar is very nice and has real ale. Restaurant is first class. Jacket and tie required for dinner. This is a good thing as it is a courtesy to other diners to make an effort to dress smartly. Very good choices of meat and fish. Interesting looking veggie menu.
The indoor swimming pool and sauna are absolutely fine.
What makes this hotel excel is the staff : all very professional and helpful, they seem to like what they do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everthecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The reviews that have already been left really do say it all. We have been a number of times over the last few years and it's always exactly the same, standards never seem to slip. The most notable thing though is the staff, it's they who make the place unique. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziegee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your review for The Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are so pleased to read that the Hotel is maintaining its standard and that you are very impressed with our staff. It is always rewarding for all the staff to read these comments.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Victoria in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This Hotel is indeed what many of my co-Reviewers say it is and we enjoyed our stay very much. However, our first impression was unfavourable. We arrived ahead of the stipulated 3 pm check-in time and were refused entry to our room, even though we were sure it was ready. In fact, on the day we left, the chambermaids were knocking on the door by 9.30 am. Are we being unreasonable? Perhaps management could look into this because many hotels allow early check-in.
The ground floor public rooms were sumptuously fitted out and very comfortable. Our room, particularly the bathroom, was clean but in need of a make-over, though we understand the Proprietors have that in hand. The food in the restaurant was very good, with a varied and appetising menu that changed every day. Our only and minor criticism was that the vegetables were cooked without salt, which these days is not unusual. The 'sweets' were inspired and examples were on view to help the diners make their choices. Overall, the Chef is to be highly commended. The Hotel Staff were excellent and went about their duties with both care and a calm efficiency.
A word of caution to any prospective guests. This Hotel caters very much for the elderly and it may not suit younger holidaymakers who like a lively atmosphere. There'll be no 'swinging on the chandeliers and bopping the night away, though the Saturday evening dinner/dance was greatly enjoyed by many of the punters. In summary, this Hotel is comfortable and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room and if you book over the next six months, leave it to the 'last minute'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A charming hotel with old-style service. We had an excellent room on the 3rd floor with sea view. Yes it is expensive compared to other 4* hotels, but this reflects the staffing levels. The food in the restaurant is top class (Service was excellent on the Friday although very slow on the Saturday). I don't mind the jacket and tie rule as this reflects the age profile of most of the guests (mostly 70+). The dinner dance on Saturday comprises a 4 piece band playing during dinner and then decamping to the lounge to play for the dancing (with the addition of a singer). Reasonably good size dance floor and a good variety of ballroom (waltz, quickstep, cha-cha, foxtrot etc). The band were accomplished and cheerful - a great night.

We also tried the outdoor putting, the full size snooker table and the small indoor pool and hot tub. Some of the guests we talked to were regular visitors - I'm still hungry to visit many new places, but perhaps when I'm 80 I will hanker for familiarity and certainty, rather than adventure.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a front facing sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Circus-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing