We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Had a Victoria afternoon tea here recently. It was served in the lounge over looking the sea front. We had a choice of egg or cucumber sandwiches, 2 warm scones with jam and clotted cream and either 3 pastries or a huge slice of Victoria sponge. It was served with a pot of tea. It was a lovely way to spend a rainy afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiddshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    156
    46
    10
    3
See reviews for
186
426
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I booked, at very short notice, a short three night stay. We could 'nit pick', and be hypercritical, and will record some of these below, but overall the hotel was brilliant.
The booking process was good, the hotel reception was efficient.
One minor point was that no-one was available to take our cases to the room, but the facility was available, when the porter returned.
Our room was clean and fresh, and the house staff were very efficient, undertaking their daily duties.
The room had two seats, but only one was an 'easy' chair. Two would have been better, and more comfortable. I suggest that residents seldom sit at the dressing table, and certainly do not write letters.
The food was very good, with a good selection being provided each evening. There was some confusion over the appropriate cutlery for a bisque, but this was addressed with humour and an explanation. The service was generally very good, as was the food delivered to our table. The breakfast was as large, or as small as one wanted. My smoked haddock was not served with a poached egg, but this was probably my fault for not asking for this.
My wife likes meat well-done, but one meal was delivered under-cooked. The plate was efficiently removed and cooked, and a new plate of vegetables was also provided.
One interesting aspect was, 'the old retainer', a cross between Mr. Pastry and Freddie Frinton, in Dinner for One!
The communal hotel facilities were well maintained and welcoming, although some were eccentrically arranged, in front of the staircase, the lift and on desire lines.
These are all minor problems and overall the hotel was excellent.
We will return.

Room Tip: A sea view is preferable. The hotel is up a hill, should you wish to walk into the town, which is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BowlsCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Sidmouth is an Olde Worlde place and The Victoria is a Hotel with Olde Worlde values. The sort of place you remember as part of your holiday, not just the place where you stayed.
Personally, I would say more suited to older people than young families, but a great place to stay.
I think the only problem could be parking if the Hotel is particularly full.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel at least 6 times. We have always found the staff very helpful. The rooms are well equipped. The food is superb.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTruthFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the Victoria for four nights and it was perfect. The hotel has elegant public rooms, bedrooms are very good though some rooms have lost their proportions when en-suite bathrooms were instaled but as those bathrooms are well appointed one cannot gripe. The hotel is kept beautifully clean and the towels and linen are very good (it is sheets and blankets, not duvets). The meals are first class and i am glad the hotel insists dress standards are maintained - more hotels should do this.

Staff are all knowledgeable, efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a see view, not all the rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everthecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Booked the hotel for Friday & saturday night at the last minute
Wanted a sea view We were offered a partial sea view for the first night tnen a move to a suite
The partial view was great we could hear the sea and the suite was magnificent.
The only down side was the rooms above had creaky floor boards nocturnal guests.
Food was a bit pricey but the service made up for it we had only intended to have one meal but decided to eat in both nights it was worth the cost for the experiance..
Cliff the Doorman couldnt help enough he carried our bags took us too our room explained how everything worked and even gave me directions to where I had to go to work.
All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: Third floor better as there are no rooms above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife and I have been regulars at The Victoria for some 17 years and during that time visiting 3, 4 sometimes 5 times a year and also staying for Christmas and New Year. The reason for our loving The Victoria is those standards which many people complain about or think that the hotel is still in 1903. What a pleasure it is to enter a bar, lounge or restaurant in the evening and find everyone well "turned out" not the usual jeans, T shirt and trainers which so many establishments seem to accept as the norm these days even on one occasion at a Michelin star hotel which we visited my wife and I and possibly one or two other diners were the only ones dressed, to my mind anyway, correctly. We have always found all the staff at The Victoria whatever their position in the hotel to be only too willing to be of help and it is only on the vary rare occasion anything which is asked for is forgotten. I would however take issue with one correspondent with regard to gentlemen not being able to remove their jacket in the restaurant I have seen many gentlemen over the years remove their jackets but I have to say this is much to my annoyance! and I cannot recall that anyone has ever been "thrown out" of the restaurant for this practice. The Victoria is a wonderful hotel O.K. not to everyone's taste but so long as it retains all those old fashioned standards I know my wife and many other guests with whom we have become acquainted over the years we have been visiting, both young and old, will continue to frequent the hotel. It is a pity those who criticise and think that The Victoria is only for "senior citizens" do not visit at Easter when there are various activities provided by the hotel for young and old alike also during the Summer school holidays. Christmas and New Year are no exceptions with a visit to the Pantomime arranged by the hotel (transport provided) a boat trip (refreshments provided)and various other evening entertainments. If only there were more establishments with those "old fashioned standards".
The person who criticised no-one helped with the luggage did this person not think to go to reception and ask for a porter to un-load the car the logical thing to have done I would have thought and that person should remember not everyone needs or wants help with their luggage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 68GARDENER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing