We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely luxurious hotel in a prime location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely luxurious hotel in a prime location”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed here in Jan 2012 with Edwards Coaches. I stayed here for 5 days Monday to Friday. The hotel is very grand and luxurious upon arriving and does not fault to impress when entering. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who also provided porterage for our bags.

ROOM AND HOTEL - I was on the top floor in a single room which over looked the sea. Stunning views across Sidmouth and the bay. The room was of a good size for a single and was very clean. My request of a fridge in the room had been meet which I was pleased of. I didn't particularly like the blanket provided to sleep with on the bed so I called reception and asked for a duvet. This was delivered by the manager within 5 mins of the call. Couldn't fault them. I used all the leisure facilities whilst on my stay which again were lovely and clean. Bathrobes and towels are provided free of charge.

MEALS - We stayed half board so had breakfast and evening meal included. Breakfast was plentiful. Served at the table with a choice of hot foods. There was also the continental option provided. Evening meal we also had a choice of about 3 or 4 dishes for their 5 courses (yes 5 courses!) There were also little nibbles on the tables in the bar are to enjoy of an evening.

LOCATION - Short walk into Sidmouth along a flat sea front. Sidmouth has a few shops, enough for a small town.

OVERALL - I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room for the chance of a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Jones85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    151
    44
    10
    3
See reviews for
178
407
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Its is a very nice place ..... if you are retired, or visiting the ones who are....Amongst nice things i would state the decor of the fading era of XIX- XX centuries, very helpful personnel, nice tennis courts free of charge next door (belongs to local Cricket club) - the Hotel's tennis playground is often used as the car park and the surface is almost destroyed....and nice food in the restaurant (althought breakfast is very poor) ... Hotel was built in 1903, where is stayed.....Although i think older people feel there very comfortable

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KuLena325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

A nice hotel, but not out of the ordinary for a four star establishment. Parking was limited when we arrived. We were lucky to get the last spot at the back of the hotel, but as it's only a few minutes from the beach & town we didn't use the car again until we left.
I felt the room was a little small, but it was only a standard & had good closet/drawer space. The mattress was unduly bouncy for my tastes, but I rarely find UK hotel beds comfortable. Fixed shower heads should have gone out with the Ark, but otherwise the bathroom was ok, although the toiletries are probably best avoided.
Foodwise, breakfast was the usual hotel fare. Dinner was a mixed bag & where I felt things went downhill. We had a couple of lovely waitresses, but service seemed poorly organised. On one night we waited over 30 minutes between sorbet & main course with no update from the Maitre d', which is not acceptable anywhere. Having started dinner a good 90 minutes earlier than the night before we ended up finishing later. On the plus side there was a good vegetarian menu, although unlike the table d'hote menu it didn't change daily. On the whole, however, the food was pretty average.
The swimming pool/spa area, although small was well presented & not unduly busy.
I would happily stay at this hotel again if visiting Sidmouth, but wouldn't necessarily make it my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LongEarsDownTheSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

If you are feeling blue and tired out in the depths of winter, you could do worse than take a few days break at this four star - or is it five? - in Devon. It's one of about seven owned and run by the Brend family. In the winter when we went we were treated to a lovely night away with opulent surroundings, friendly staff and immaculate service. Prices are reduced by more than half so it's worth choosing the best room you can afford.

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra201255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Area director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Brend Hotel soon.

The Brend family run 11 hotels in Devon and Cornwall and you can find more information including our special offers on the Brend Hotels website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Our second stay was just as good as our first.Traditional values,great service and the friendliest staff.Our room had a double and single but would have been better with just a king sized bed.Very spacious.
Restaurant just as good as the accomodation.
A great hotel in a lovely setting with beatiful views.

Room Tip: Sea views if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trafalgar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments with regards to your recent stay with us. The room in question is being refurbished later this year and will be changed to a king-size bed. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Victoria Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

from the time you arrive nothing is a problem a brend hotel at its most splended . foods excellent decor superb staff friendly but not in your face dress for dinner every thing a good hotel should be. a credit to the brend family .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoopsonholdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We have just had a weekend break at the Victoria, timeless elegance and excellent service.
Can't fault the hotel at all, food and accommodation first class.
Staff were attentive without being intrusive. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: room 216 double/sea view room 103 single/balcony/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albinbraunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing