We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Glen Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Sidmouth)
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elizabeth(Sidmouth)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Sidmouth)
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
69
50
15
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
50
15
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomqueen victorialisted buildingsteeped in historycheese selectionroll top bathnice swimming poolsmall gymhistorical buildingfor pre dinner drinksshort walk to seafronthotel offerlovely hotelhighly recommend this hotelfamily roomchain hotelbooked a single room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 144 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed at the Royal Glen this weekend for a family get-together - in all there were 12 of us of varying ages. Its a lovely quaint hotel in a great location just behind the Victoria Hotel. I have read through some of the reviews and whilst there aren't many bad ones I still think people are really unfair! Ok so the decor is a little dated but it is extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice with a choice of full English, kippers or smoked haddock. We all ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening and the food was fresh and well worth £28.50! Where else could you get three courses plus cheese and biscuits (a nice selection of cheese too) and coffee for that price - certainly not where I live! I have been to Sidmouth many times over the years as have family in Exeter and have stayed at the Belmont and used the Victoria's facilities too. Ok so they are lovely grand hotels but they also cost double the price of the Royal Glen and are only a stones throw away! If you want luxury then you have to pay top prices for it and I think this is where many people go wrong. It annoys me that people write such derogatory comments on a perfectly good family run hotel unlike many of the other hotels in Sidmouth who have financial backing. These smallminded comments do affect businesses and I wish people would think before they get to work on Trip Advisor!

Staff were friendly and welcoming - it was probably very hard having us all around as we did take the hotel up a bit - particularly the bar in the evening but we had a wonderful time together. My two children loved the pool - my son spent most of the day in it and they loved rolling down the hill in the garden and playing pitch and putt. What more could they want.

I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary C, Owner at Royal Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you so much for making a review, & with detail. We love to see families and especially of different generations, it is really wonderful to see everyone enjoying each others company and having a great time. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had three very relaxing days last week,food and service all that you could wish for. O,K, its not 'Bijou'. With its history would you expect it or want it to be? Just a very well run hotel which tries to make your stay as relaxing as possible. All staff most helpful and restaurant service excellent. We will be back.

Room Tip: Sorry, only stayed once so cannot compare rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary C, Owner at Royal Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

We are so pleased that you found it so easy to relax, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for making a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here for six nights and had a wonderful experience. The room was comfortable and the bathroom excellent, the shower was exceptional. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The cleaning lady is lovely she comes from Spain and has a great sense of humor. The breakfast is tasty and fresh. All in all a place to recommend. The only disappointment was the fact that they lock the doors at 23:00 hrs so you need to obtain a key to get in if you intend staying out late. Felt like being at home with Mum again. But apart from that a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at many very good hotels but have never written a hotel review. Until now, for the reason that I was incensed by John from London's unbelievable comments. My husband and I had a relaxing and most enjoyable break at the Royal Glen, and would highly recommend it. The food was excellent and the vegetables were cooked to perfection: al dente, as stated. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and always attentive. This hotel was extremely strong on customer service and I would suggest that, the likes of John take time and have the courtesy to express opinions to the proprietors before writing such an inaccurate report. This hotel is excellent value for money and we hope to return!

Room Tip: The superior rooms in the new wing are worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary C, Owner at Royal Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to make your first review. We are pleased that you found the 'Glen' relaxing and that the staff were friendly and attentive. We really do want our visitors to feel comfortable & at home, enjoy the peace and tranquility and our beautiful east devon surroundings and go home feeling rejuvenated. We hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you again some time & you will find it has not changed too much but always with an update here and there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This Hotel was a beautiful hotel in a good position (only a short walk to sea and town centre).
We had a superior room in the new wing. The room and its facilities were excellent, in fact better then most 4* hotels we have stayed in. Extremely clean. Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.
We felt the evening meal some evenings could have been a little better. However we had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: room 31 was excellent.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews