We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay”
Review of Sidholme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sidholme Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good stay”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, we were given a good but simple bedroom in a outside building.
With a shared bathroom it's very worth the price.
A nice swimming pool was also available.
We had a very good breakfast with a lot to choose from.
A walk to the beach was also very nice and we visited the local park at the other end of the town.

Room Tip: We had a room in the annex. Clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Jan P
Thank you for taking the time to review Sidholme hotel.I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Sidmouth at Sidholme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    75
    46
    16
    20
See reviews for
62
75
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burghausen, Germany
Level Contributor
167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I just want to say that I am glad I booked here. I thank the hotel for a great moment and good service. Sidmouth is a nice place and it does have some awesome hotels as well but I am glad I found this one for the right price. And better still not far from the esplanade so you can leave your car parked and walk all the way down. Cheers and thanks!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CARLO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Carlos C,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.They will certainly help motivate us as a team to continously strive to provide all our guests with the best service we can.
Hope to welcome you back to Sidholme again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We booked this hotel for a two night stay in Exeter. Unfortunately the hotel prices in Exeter for a family room (2 Adults, 2 Children) were eye watering however Sidholme (a 40 minute drive away) were offering a family room at £50 a night.

Breakfast was an extra £10 for adults and £5 for children but was excellent value and offered everything you would expect from a buffet breakfast (hot, cold, etc). Fish and various tyes of egg etc are all cooked to order.

The rooms do not include a TV which is part of the ethos of the hotel and this did irritate me a little but there is good communal areas and all the guests are very friendly and talkative. I've never stayed in a place like this before and despite it not offering the same "modern comfort" that a Hilton or Ramada would offer it offered a much more homely environment.

The highlight of the hotel however is its grounds (its like staying in a National Trust property) and the swimming pool. The pool is massive and has a separate children's pool.

I would gladly pay a little more for this hotel for a future stay (although not the full advertised rate of £200). If you are looking for a home from home whilst visiting Devon this is probably the best hotel on offer. It isn't perfect, it could do with a refurb but the experience is so special that it warrants a 5*.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Robert B,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sidholme. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in its own grounds. Welcoming and friendly staff make your you enjoy your stay.
Good food and plenty to do including its own swimming pool.
This is a Christian Guild hotel and they promote inclusiveness and you are encouraged to mingle in the public lounges. Even at meal times you sit anywhere and people will come and join you, so you can make new friends. This may not be to some peoples liking but to me I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: There is no tv,s in the rooms, only a communal tv lounge but you can get WiFi but only in the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Gordon M,
Thank you for your kind comments about Sidholme and our staff, and i certainly hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sidmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Don't have any preconceptions of this place. Once you get past the idea that this is not a conventional hotel, and think of it more as a posh hostel you might be more accepting of it's little foibles.
Now run by the Christian Guild, the main part would have been really impressive when it was a private house and the music room is really something to behold, with it's magnificent chandeliers and organ. There is also a games room with many board games and a full size billiards table.
A lot of the original features still remain and the wood panelling is lovely.
Our room (no. 25) was at the back of the house and there was a rabbit warren of corridors to navigate.There was a pervading smell of school dinners at our end of the house, due mainly to the kitchens being below, but obviously couldn't be helped.
The room was quite small, dated woodchip wallpaper and decor, a tiny en suite with bath and toilet but no shower or sink (The sink was in the bedroom) and tea making facilities but no biscuits. Toiletries and towels were provided, but the towels also smelt like school dinners. There was no TV, but we were aware of that when we booked, a small clock radio was provided though.
Having said all that, the room was clean and views onto the gardens was lovely.
We made use of the swimming pool which was open from 7.30am until 9pm and towels were provided. It was clean and warm. A bit of a walk from the main hotel, but through the lovely gardens. I wouldn't recommend it if you have mobility problems as,even though there is wheelchair access there are quite a lot of steps and hard to navigate areas and there is no lift to the upper floors.
I would recommend it as a cheap place to stay, as long as you're not expecting too much and take it for what it is. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful, the breakfast was plentiful and tasty.
It is a quirky place and once we got used to it we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Back rooms have to share a bathroom and toilet, there is no lift so if you have mobility problems ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatsoflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Fatsoflanagan,
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Having had a nasty experience in neighbouring Exeter - my mother sister and I booked the Sidholme on Late rooms.com We were apprehensive as so cheap - but arrive as we did up the sweeping driveway late in the afternoon on a rare sunny spring afternoon. What a pleasure to find this ornate, serene palace nestled within walking distance of a traditional Devon seaside town.
The polite and friendly receptionist booked us in with faultless professional attitude despite the fact that we were unaware that the Sidholme is a Christian Guild hotel - we were made most welcome.
The rooms were spacious, spotless, relaxing and generous with comforts and condiments including luxuries bath robes, slippers and hot chocolate. The grounds were stunning as was the architecture of the originally building with huge chandeliers decorating the music room, ornate cornice on the ceilings and ambience of the bedrooms. After a restful peaceful sleep awoke to the sound of birdsong. So wish had been able to see the garden in full bloom.
Alas no time to visit the indoor swimming pool - but definitely a reason to return!
My accompanying travellers experienced breakfast and enjoyed the experience of joining other guests at the tables - not a familiar experience in Britain - but very welcomed.
I would definitely recommend this hotel as ten star- but maybe needs to be kept a secret!!

Room Tip: upgrade to superior if you can - revel in luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sara W,

Thank you on behalf of the Sidholme Hotel Team for your review, I’m so pleased you enjoyed your break with us and will share your comments with our team.

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, food and service.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sameer V
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

stayed as part of a Church group of 50 including some children. Rooms were clean, with sufficient storage and plenty of tea and coffee and some nice complimentary toiletries. Shower was nice and hot as was the room. Good facilities with access to private pool, within the grounds but not part of the building. Staff polite, smart and helpful.

Room Tip: If you have children, take some squash to keep in your room as the snack shop in reception is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Diane W

Thank you on behalf of the Sidholme Hotel Team for your review, I’m delighted you had a relaxing break with us and will share your comments with our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes

Sameer V
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#6 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#11 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidholme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidholme Hotel

Property: Sidholme Hotel
Address: Elysian Fields | Vicarage Rd, Sidmouth EX10 8UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidholme Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
72 bedroom Hotel and can accommodate up to 133 guests, including a number of ground floor rooms and 2 disabled rooms. All the bedrooms at Sidholme Hotel include Fair-Trade tea and coffee making facilities and hair-dryers. Bedrooms do not have televisions, however a comfortable television room is easily located within the Hotel. Parking is free for Guests of the Hotel.This gracious Georgian mansion has been welcoming guests for 80 years with a Christian ethos. It was originally built for the 6th Earl of Buckinghamshire and was known as Richmond Lodge. It is particularly noted for its magnificent Music Room, complete with fine chandeliers and Gothic-style organ.Well suited to the holiday maker and conference delegate alike, who can work, rest or play in its peaceful and relaxing surroundings.The hotel is located in nine acres of delightful grounds and when staying you have complimentary use of our Indoor Heated Swimming PoolThe hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of the town of Sidmouth with its splendid coastline, newly appointed as part of the Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site. Please be informed that the hotel does not have lift facilities.Sidholme Hotel is part of Christian Guild group of Hotels and we welcome everyone, guests are free to take part with as much or as little of the daily activities as they wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sidholme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidholme Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing