We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankfully 'Dinner' reservation only”
Review of Sidholme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sidholme Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thankfully 'Dinner' reservation only”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Booked in for dinner with our family as it is local to us having heard good reviews. Unfortunately upon arrival we almost didn't make it due to lack of lighting from the poorly tarmac car park to the entrance. I was hesitant due to the visual aspect of the hotel and as we entered the dinning room this old world theme continued. There apparently is only one sitting at dinner meaning we had to eat at 6:30pm which felt like an Early Bird special! There were only 3 tables and two servers on, whom passed us a SINGLE menu to share around our table of six. Whilst I am sympathetic that there is a recession printing menus on paper costs tuppence! It was embarrassing for us all. There was very limited choice and were initially served premade rolls with FROZEN butter clovers, the starters were served so promptly I am certain they were frozen previously if not microwaved! The mains were ok at best but very small portions (for starters we got a measly 1 fish cake each, clearly catering for OAPs) with what looked like school dinner shared vegetable platters in spilt silver dishes with over cooked / reheated veg. We attempted to order more wine for the table but were then advised the bottle we previously had was the last of that variety. We then picked another only to be told 5 minutes later they didn't have that either (bare in mind we we're the only table drinking!) so picked a third choice, each time having to choose a more expensive bottle (which they did not offer to cover the difference). Back to the shared menu to chose pudding, baked apples looked fine but you'd struggle to do them wrong. Cheesecake was ok but I stuck to cheese this time served with Flora (yuck!) so I asked for butter and got more FROZEN delights! (also the server was unable to tell us which cheese we had - there were only 3! It's hardly difficult) I avoided coffee and we left within an hour and a half, due to lack of atmosphere. The hotel is severely dated and clearly lacks investment. Water stains ceiling in the dinning room, wobbly chairs, blinding patterned carpet, yellow walls (perhaps were white once) chipped doors, poor lighting and to top it all out of the entire dining room (which only had two other tables dining) we were sat right by the kitchen door so could hear all the shouting/ radio and whistling. Overall it was like Faulty towers. Awful to condemn local businesses but this was utterly less than average to be polite. Needless to say I will not be returning

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imnoangel189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies about the poor service you received in the restaurant.

We have fixed the issue with the lighting in one of the car parks and installed some new LED floodlighting. We have also spoken with the restaurant team to address the issues you experienced that evening. We do operate a fellowship meal time but if guests request a different time then we try to accommodate this.

Due to the severe weather recently we have had some water damage in the restaurant, which will be redecorated shortly.

Please rest assured I have listened to all of your comments and we are working hard to resolve these service issues.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    75
    46
    16
    20
See reviews for
62
75
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I booked a one night stay on Wednesday 27th November for 2 and I wanted something cheap and functional, so booked the Sidholme purely on the basis that it had an indoor pool. You can imagine my frustration when I got there and was told the pool was not available and I got the impression that it had not been available for some considerable time.
My advice, if you book the Sidholme with a desire to use the pool, RING THEM TO CHECK THE POOL IS OPEN FIRST.
I booked a twin room w/o en suite and it was fine, assuming you like very frayed towels, although partly because we were the only people staying in the annex. Had it been full, I fear it would have been very noisy and the facilities crowded, as the doors banged very easily.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear 'Phil J'

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and in the first instance please accept my apologies for the disappointment experienced.

Unfortunately, due to a electrical fault on the day of your arrival which was out of our hands, the pool had to be closed for a couple of days while we repaired the fault. The fault has now been resolved and the pool was reopened two days later.

Once again our apologises for the inconvenience caused. If you do decide to return please let me know so I can introduce myself and welcome you back.

Many thanks

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

If you want to stay in a hotel which is set in fantastic grounds, with a dining room, sports room and music room with some character rather than a generic hotel then this is your venue. The food each night always had a good choice and was well cooked. Staff are very polite friendly and helpful. This was my second stay and hopefully not my last.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter-John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear ‘Peter-Jones R’

Thank you on behalf of the Sidholme Hotel Team for your review, I’m so pleased you enjoyed your break with us and will share your comments with our team.

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, food and service.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and we stayed in the annex no t.v shared bathroom and toilets and single beds for me and my husband the rooms were not brilliant and smelt a bit the food was ok but not wonderful bit like school dinners and since we have stayed there my two youngest daughters have now got a skin infection will not be staying there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scarbourgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sidmouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere. Very helpful reception staff. The hotel has no lift and rambling corridors resulting in some members of our group having difficulty finding their way around. Meals very good, fixed times for meals. Very close to town and seafront, so excellent location.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear 'Ann H'

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I will share your kind comments with my team.

Due to the age of the building, it does have lots of corridors and since your stay we have increased our signage to help guests find their way around.

Due to the hotel not having a lift we do ask guests if they have any mobility requirements. We also recommend to ask for a ground floor or a wheelchair friendly room if available/required, as these are very limited.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stopped here as it is near to my parents home and they do not have room for all of us (kids stopped with them!). After I booked it I read some of the reviews on this site and my expectations where set very low. Anyway have to say the overall impression was fine. There where a few Fawlty Towers moments : a receptionist who had all the warmth of a cold bath , having to pay a deposit for a back door key if you didn't get back until after 11.30pm ( I kid you not) and the communal dining (breakfast only) was better than expected. In fact our room (superior which I think means ensuite) was very pleasant. Swimming pool area also well worth going to.

So to summarise in view of location will probably stay there again and I would recommend subject to getting the right room.

Room Tip: Go superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godfather22a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear ‘Godfather22a’

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am disappointed to hear that our receptionist was not their normal jolly self. We do require a deposit for our late key as we need to ensure that we get them back when guests leave. This helps remind people.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. For breakfast guests are welcome to join one another for breakfast on communal tables or individual tables are available for guests not wishing to join others. We like to give the choice as part of our Christian fellowship.

We have 5 room types within the hotel and our annexe and these range from a basic non en-suite room with shared bathrooms and limited facilities to superior rooms with great views of the gardens, larger size of room with en-suite, TV’s, higher quality furniture and extra amenities. These rooms are priced and described accordingly.

Once again thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back.

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Booked to stay overnight here . When we arrived we pulled into this big drive with magnificent manor house and gorgeous gardens and thought wow ! Went to collect our keys and were directed to what looked like an old coach house behind the main building . It was almost like being shoved in servants quarters out the way ! The rooms were small and dingy . Very dated and to be honest grim unless of course you don't mind floral everything . Shared bathrooms inbetween the rooms were clean but you didn't feel as if you had much privacy at all .
The plus side to it was the pool which was old but lovely, the grounds and that's it !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear ‘Andrea H’

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We have 5 room types within the hotel and our annexe and these range from a basic non en-suite room with shared bathrooms and limited facilities to superior rooms with great views of the gardens, larger size of room with en-suite, TV’s, higher quality furniture and extra amenities. These rooms are priced and described accordingly. If availability allows, we always suggest guests upgrade if they can afford or wish too.

Due to the age and style of the building, which was originally built as a grand family home and has been added to and altered over the last 100 years, our 73 bedrooms are spread around the premises which adds to the character of the hotel.

Once again thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back.

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#6 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#11 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidholme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidholme Hotel

Property: Sidholme Hotel
Address: Elysian Fields | Vicarage Rd, Sidmouth EX10 8UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidholme Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
72 bedroom Hotel and can accommodate up to 133 guests, including a number of ground floor rooms and 2 disabled rooms. All the bedrooms at Sidholme Hotel include Fair-Trade tea and coffee making facilities and hair-dryers. Bedrooms do not have televisions, however a comfortable television room is easily located within the Hotel. Parking is free for Guests of the Hotel.This gracious Georgian mansion has been welcoming guests for 80 years with a Christian ethos. It was originally built for the 6th Earl of Buckinghamshire and was known as Richmond Lodge. It is particularly noted for its magnificent Music Room, complete with fine chandeliers and Gothic-style organ.Well suited to the holiday maker and conference delegate alike, who can work, rest or play in its peaceful and relaxing surroundings.The hotel is located in nine acres of delightful grounds and when staying you have complimentary use of our Indoor Heated Swimming PoolThe hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of the town of Sidmouth with its splendid coastline, newly appointed as part of the Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site. Please be informed that the hotel does not have lift facilities.Sidholme Hotel is part of Christian Guild group of Hotels and we welcome everyone, guests are free to take part with as much or as little of the daily activities as they wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sidholme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidholme Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing