We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will either love it or hate it!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sidholme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sidholme Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You will either love it or hate it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Sidholme is probably notwhat you would expect from a normal hotel - many of the rooms are non- ensuite and located in an annexe, there are no tvs in rooms - only a communal tv room (not great if it is filled with kids!), and for dinner everyone sits down together on communal tables - don't be late or you will miss grace!
A lot of the rooms could do with updating/modernising, and I don't feel they make the most of their beautiful music room

Food in the hotel was ok - although more vegetarian stuff would be good.
The staff do try to help if there are problems, but many don't have english as their first language so it can be a problem.

Having stayed at the other Chrsitan guild hotels I was let down in comparison to the others. The swimming pool was a lot colder than it had been at Lindors, and seemed to be pretty poorly looked after and cleaned - the changing rooms where covered in water (making them slippy) One incident stuck with me from my trip - I was at the pool and the poor caretaker had a go at another paying customer for using 2 towels in stead of just one. the poor girl was reduced to tears and I feel that sort of thing from staff towards customers is unfair - maybe it was just a problem with the pool caretaker or a bigger problem with the staff in general. But whatever, it was that incident of the poor girl in tears just for using and extra towel (the towels are pretty small anyway!) The pool area also was distinctly draughty - there are big glass doors/windows which are fine in summer, but in the autumn/winter they let out a lot of heat from inside.

The food was average - portions were big but the quality wasn't great, and the lack of flexibility in time meant you couldn't do stuff like go out to the threatre.

I will definitley be returning to sidmouth, but doubt I will go back to sidholme - I felt let down by the cold pool (the pool being advertised as one of it's best assets), and the incident of the caretaker reducing the paying member to tears - that makes me wonder about the rest of the staff or was it just him?

Also, when you book, check that there are no large parties - of either adults or kids - staying at the same time - as if so avoid it - the large groups tend to dominated the hotel when they are there even for a weekend.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room - the rest are rubbish - no en-suite and no tv in the majority of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    73
    44
    14
    19
See reviews for
56
72
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one week and were glad to leave. We had booked a double room and a twin room for our lads. Both rooms were quite a distance from each other so we were a little concerned about that but we managed. After our first nights sleep my wife and I awoke aching in every joint. A closer inspection of the bed revealed that it was broken; the bottom half of the bed was lower than the top half so we complained about it and it was rectified. The lads also said that their beds were also very uncomfortable. The week that we were there they had a large group in and we felt that we had to go along with their activities and it felt that the large group had rather commandeered the place. If you wanted to have a quiet time there was no where that you could go to get away from screaming children. The staff however tried their best to help you and if there was a problem they tried to rectify it. The food was good and for the majority of time it was well labeled for those with allergies but occasionally it lacked details such as dishes being cooked in alcohol. Also the presentation of food could have been better. On the plus side there was a lot to do for the family and the hotel was kept clean. It also has lovely gardens and pool. I think that you will either love this hotel or you will dislike it. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing stay I don't think (based on my weeks experience) that you will have it here as there are lots of children running about, unsupervised until late into the night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisB1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a fab time at Sidholme Hotel.The rooms where very good, food was brilliant.Lovely gardens, and the swimming pool was fab.If you have a chance to go here you will not be disappointed. Only a short walk to Sidmouth Town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tino28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This summer was mine and my family's 14th year, and already we are booked in for next summer!
The hotel itself is beautiful, I'm amazed they allow us to roam free in such a gorgeous building. The grand staircase is stunning as you walk in, it's quite a small hotel making it lovely and intimate, not too trouble to go anywhere, and you wouldn't find it hard to find a place to settle in the lounge or the television room or the stunningly beautiful listed Music Room. If you don't fancy settling down, you can head on up to the swimming pool, where you get free towels and a lovely 1.4m pool to swim lengths or play games in. There is also a little children's pool beside it. Still not worn out? Have a game of football, volleyball, croquet or similar out in the beautifully kept garden! If you're lucky enough to get a room with a view, the hills look lovely. Sidmouth seems to have its own little microclimate because of the hills/valleys (often making it warmer, though maybe wetter, than surrounding areas).

The hotel is 10 minutes to the front at most (unless you REALLY amble slowly, in which case maybe 15), and you walk through the town centre to get there, which is a lovely little place. Although there are tourist-y shops, they are mainly small gift shops, and the town in general is very unspoilt - no massive chains and horrible restaurants like McDonald's. A walk along the front takes you to the lovely Jacob's Ladder and a cafe at the top (the Clock Tower Cafe), as well as Connaught Gardens.

The hotel organises themed weeks, with guest hosts. For a long time we went to the Family Fun Week, and for the past couple of years we've been to Teen Week (having all grown that much older). There is always a full timetable of activities for all ages; organised trips out (e.g. to Crealy Adventure Park, out mackerel fishing, rock climbing, kayaking on the River Exe, bowling), to local walks and activites on the front (trips to the wonderful ice cream parlour, 'Taste', or for a sand sculpture competition near Jacob's Ladder), to a morning or afternoon of fun in the hotel (usually aimed at children - crafts, games in the garden, etc). The week usually starts with a 'getting to know you' evening, usually in the shape of a quiz, and a film night, etc. Every morning and evening, the hosts run a short session of prayers. So you are NEVER short of anything to do. However, if you're there for a quiet week, if you're not religious, none of these things are compulsory for guests!

Sorry for the long review, but as a family we can't sing the hotel's praises enough! The only bad thing I can say is that the rooms aren't getting any cheaper, so we are fast approaching what will probably be our final year. I'm bringing my kids when I'm older!

I thoroughly recommend staying the whole week if you can. You won't regret it.
xxxxx

Room Tip: I was in a single en-suite, room 9. Perfect little room for me, a closet wardrobe, a spacious shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HWarner92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted you and your family enjoy staying with us.
We are extremely fortunate to be located so close to the town centre of Sidmouth and yet set back far enough to allow yourself to think you are in the peaceful countryside.

It is always so nice to have positive feedback regarding our hotel. We take great pride in what we do and this feedback has been shared with the team. I am also pleased to say that we are holding our prices for next year, so we hope that this helps you for your next stay and don’t forget to sign up to receive our special offers, every little helps! See you soon.
Kind Regards

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I've been coming to Sidholme for the past 13 years with my family and there's a reason we keep coming back. We love it! Such a lovely place, the pool is fantastic, the building and grounds are beautiful, the staff are perfect, the rooms are kept unbelievably clean. We always have such a good time. Really easy access into town and to the beach. I'd fully recommend this lovely place, stay there and see for yourself!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miawarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted you and your family enjoy staying with us for the past 13 years.

It is always so nice to have positive feedback regarding our hotel. We take great pride in what we do and this feedback has been shared with the team. I am also pleased to say that we are holding our prices for next year, so we hope that this helps you for your next stay and don’t forget to sign up to receive our special offers, every little helps! See you soon.

Kind Regards

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have recently returned from Sidholme Hotel having stayed there for 7 days. This was our 5th year and we are never disapointed, it always feels like home from home. We stay in room 40, a very spacious family room which is worth the 35steps up to it !! The swimming pool is fantastic and always a bonus whatever the weather. This beautiful hotel has 9 acres of well maintained gardens to enjoy a peaceful stroll in, or sit and relax. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food here is excellent. We have again booked to return next year for our holiday, as we have not yet found a better place.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the hotel in preference to the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james-sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted you and your family enjoy staying with us for the past 5 years and look for forward to the next 5 !

It is always so nice to have positive feedback regarding our hotel. We take great pride in what we do and this feedback has been shared with the team. I am also pleased to say that we are holding our prices for next year, so we hope that this helps you for your next stay and don’t forget to sign up to receive our special offers, every little helps! See you soon.
Kind Regards

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

u have to be in before dark and tea-total and if ur unlucky enough to get a joined on room u will no more feel like ur staying in a hotel than having a drink at the missing hotelbar.it was very poor it was a shame ruined our stay. and complaints fell on deaf ears very un-christian

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyWaddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I am genuinely sorry that you had a disappointing experience of Sidholme Hotel and surprised about your comments regarding that the hotel being teetotal as we do have a full licence to serve alcoholic beverages at Sidholme Hotel. This is operated via waiter service and not from a bar. I am even more surprised by your comment as I discover that your party had been served and paid for 8 bottles of Budweiser. With regards to your comments about having “to be in before dark” our hotel does lock its doors at 11:30pm as per our information packs and information given on check-in. When giving this information the receptionist asks if guests if they require a Late Key for access should they think they may be out later than this. The doors are locked for the security and safety of our guests and of the property, like many hotels, and we do provide a member of staff on call should a guest require assistance etc.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you felt that your comments had fallen “on deaf ears.” I can assure you that they have not and that my Operations Manager, who spoke with you during your stay, took your feedback on board. We do hope that you may return in the future so that we can show you that we pride ourselves being a friendly and approachable team.

Kind regards

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sidmouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidholme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidholme Hotel

Property: Sidholme Hotel
Address: Elysian Fields | Vicarage Rd, Sidmouth EX10 8UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidholme Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
72 bedroom Hotel and can accommodate up to 133 guests, including a number of ground floor rooms and 2 disabled rooms. All the bedrooms at Sidholme Hotel include Fair-Trade tea and coffee making facilities and hair-dryers. Bedrooms do not have televisions, however a comfortable television room is easily located within the Hotel. Parking is free for Guests of the Hotel.This gracious Georgian mansion has been welcoming guests for 80 years with a Christian ethos. It was originally built for the 6th Earl of Buckinghamshire and was known as Richmond Lodge. It is particularly noted for its magnificent Music Room, complete with fine chandeliers and Gothic-style organ.Well suited to the holiday maker and conference delegate alike, who can work, rest or play in its peaceful and relaxing surroundings.The hotel is located in nine acres of delightful grounds and when staying you have complimentary use of our Indoor Heated Swimming PoolThe hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of the town of Sidmouth with its splendid coastline, newly appointed as part of the Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site. Please be informed that the hotel does not have lift facilities.Sidholme Hotel is part of Christian Guild group of Hotels and we welcome everyone, guests are free to take part with as much or as little of the daily activities as they wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Sidholme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidholme Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing