We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awful visit - Jan 2013”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Ball Inn

Blue Ball Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Ball Inn
Ranked #12 of 32 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“awful visit - Jan 2013”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Sadly since changing hands, the standard at the Blue Ball did not come up to expectations. Although well appointed, the rooms smelt over-poweringly of gloss paint. The food was frankly awful, inconsistent and pricey for such poor quality; unboned fish, very tasty liver & bacon but full of "tubes"; curdled creme brulee - such a shame. Sadly the new owners were not helpful in resolving our queries and we lelt feeling very unhappy with the service, quality of food and over-inflated prices which were higher than their website had quoted. A very unfortunate experience for such a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline A, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us.

The issue with the smell of paint is unfortunate but re painting has to be done.We did however feel that it was far from strong and not uncomfortable.As you would of noticed the rooms have been completely refurbished and are of a very good standard.

With regard to the food quality if you had mentioned that you were not happy with any of your food we would of course have replaced it. Since our arrival we have reduced the prices on many items of both food and drinks and we feel we are very much in line or cheaper than other similar establishments in the area.
As I mentioned on your departure, you had been missinformed as to our prices for Bed & Breakfast . Our rates are £255 for three nights double or twin and £165 for single occupancy.These rates have been the same since last Autumn and have not changed since our arrival in late November. The rates do not vary whether booked on line or direct by telephone.
We are obviously sorry that you left feeling dissapointed . Should you wish to return we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Blue Ball.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    42
    19
    15
    7
See reviews for
46
63
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

the rooms where clean & on average size. the bathrooms seem to vary in our twin room with had a nice large sized bathroom where as my parents in the double room had a slightly smaller bathroom. either way the bathrooms were lovely very modern with good lighting. the bedrooms are totally opposite as they are decorated as expected with a old cottage feel, windows are small which i found meant needed the light on during the day whilst getting ready. yes the beds are soft but are not uncomfy. the room was extremely hot but fans are provided. i had a room at the front & didnt have a problem with noise of cars its not very busy at night! there is a small lounge area upstairs for the guests with a fridge where you can pick up free bottles of still or fizzy water & milk. this is replenished every hour. theres is tea & coffee making facilities in the room. there is a good working free wifi code is in the room. the breakfast was nice. various fresh fruits & yoghurts, cereals or a cooked breakfast including salmon etc. we did also have dinner there one night there are various deals you can do. the food is off good quality & good sized portions. You do need to book to eat dinner, we got told it was busy & theyld squeeze us in which they did. They seem to get a booking & book the table for the whole night instead of for the time the customers are coming, so there are a lot of reserved tables just waiting hours for the customers.
Regarding the road outside i didnt find this a problem i was expecting in to be on a sharp bend its not at all. there is a clear view both sides & only a slight bend.
the inn was in a great location for the purpose of our stay. its not too far from the town.
i would recommend this B&B though i do think £95 is a little steep as there are cheaper B&Bs on the same road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissRebecca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Comfy, clean rooms and good breakfast choices. Evening meals, although large, are not particularly good. Staff are mostly helpful. Good bars with excellent local beers.
Speeding traffic is a major issue, in terms of noise (if you have a room on the front) and crossing the road to the car park. The blue ball is situated just beyond a slight bend and it's difficult to see the road to the right, without stepping into it.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Abfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have stayed at the Blue Ball at Sidford a number of times and have never been disappointed, but remember it is a pub at the end of the day, with very comfortable bedrooms, lovely big breakfasts and good honest evening meals. The staff have always been friendly and welcoming and all the food has been well cooked and generous in its portions. The bar stocks a good range of real ales and the wine list is fine.
The area is so relaxing and the Blue Ball makes an ideal base for a short break. Visit Sidmouth itself, a very laid back place with lovely seafront walks, you can walk from the pub to the front down 'The Byes' footpath alongside the River Sid. It takes about half an hour. Beer, Otterton Mill, and Lyme Regis are always worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

THE GOOD NEWS
1.Clean.
2.Character building.
3.Friendly staff.
4.Good breakfast, but tinned fruit, or peel it yourself.
5.Stylish modern bathrooms with facecloths.
6.Food not expensive as suggested in previous reports and portions are large, but rooms are overpriced, £95 is too much.
7.Popular with locals for pensioners lunches and early family dinners. Hmmmmm.
8.Fresh milk and bottled water in fridge for all to help themselves.
9.Good, free wifi.

THE BAD NEWS
1.Small rooms. (We had Soldiers Hill, typical twin room).
2.Small window in room.
3.Directly on busy, noisy road. (So either fresh air and noise, or close window and cook. They do supply fans, but these are noisy also).
4.Cheap, soft mattress. (You can feel the springs on the edges).
5.No easy chair in room.
5.No King rooms, only double or twin.
6.Children allowed in restaurant/bar.
7.Unimaginative menu. (Fish & chips, sausage & mash, ham & eggs, lasagne & garlic bread, etc. No healthy option, salads etc.). But large portions, hot and well cooked.
8.Rooms are overpriced.

To sum up. The Blue Ball obviously caters for a specific market and if you fall into that catagory then fine, but the rooms are very expensive for what you get at £95, I expect more. A member of staff said he had just put the price up! They will not get any more £95's from me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building, it may be a bit quieter. Check out the Salty Monk just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burcottbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Ball for three nights.A very warm welcome complemented by a super room with spacious en-suit.Nice touches like bottled water in the room and fresh milk plus extra water in fridge on the landing.Very comfortable bed.Amazing breakfast and very good quality evening meals at reasonable prices and nice atmosphere in this lovely pub/restaurent.Ticked all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: Just ask !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barberolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
78 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Ball Inn at Sidford for two nights in early June. It was a short break holiday for my husband and me. Before booking we tried to find a review on this website but drew a blank which I found surprising.
On entering Sidford, we spotted a pub where we had eaten on a previous visit, this turned out to be the Blue Ball Inn where we were staying. That previous meal, a Sunday roast, was enjoyable so we were off to a promising start.
It was around midday when we arrived and the inn was open. We parked our car in the large car park across the road from the inn and went in to register not expecting our room to be available. The original inn burnt down around five years ago and has been rebuilt at a cost of over two million pounds.
The inn is on a busy main road so traffic noise must be expected although the bedrooms have secondary double glazing. As our room was ready a member of staff showed us up the stairs to our bedroom. We were in Trow View room number 1. As it was double aspect it was beautifully light, decorated in complimentary colours of beige and brown, individual dark wood wardrobe and chest of drawers, a large metal bedstead, the usual tv and hostess tray, a spare blanket, arm chair and table. The en suite shower room was, like the bedroom, spotlessly clean, a range of complimentary products, endless supply of hot water, pleasantly tiled and the chrome furnishing sparkled. Both bedroom and shower room were decorated in empathy with an old inn using individual pieces of furniture not the typical hotel offerings but with a modern touch and high standard.
We were shown the residents lounge, a nice touch as it had a fridge containing fresh milk and bottles of sparkling and still water. A number of small jugs were available to take milk to your room.
We ate in the inn on both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Unusually in today’s economic climate the restaurant was very busy on both evenings and booking a table is advisable to avoid disappointment.
Breakfast both mornings was excellent with a range of fresh fruit, yogurts, fruit juice, cereals and a cooked offering. The toast was hand cut not pre-sliced bread. Although we did not partake in the cooked breakfast it looked and smelt very appealing and we heard other guests commenting favourably. Daily papers were also available for guests to read.
There is a large garden with seating areas which can be accessed through the bar.
We have recently started staying in local inns and non-chain hotels if possible to enjoy the individuality they offer, some have been successful others have not, the Blue Ball at Sidford is the best we have stayed at so far. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we thought the Blue Ball was fantastic and will most definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welsh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
2.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
2.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
787 reviews
1.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dukes
Dukes
#4 of 32 in Sidmouth
296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sidholme Hotel
Sidholme Hotel
#18 of 32 in Sidmouth
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salty Monk
Salty Monk
#11 of 32 in Sidmouth
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ball Inn

Property: Blue Ball Inn
Address: Stevens Cross, Sidmouth EX10 9QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Blue Ball Inn Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing