We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely pub”
Review of Blue Ball Inn

Blue Ball Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Ball Inn
Ranked #13 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2012

the rooms where clean & on average size. the bathrooms seem to vary in our twin room with had a nice large sized bathroom where as my parents in the double room had a slightly smaller bathroom. either way the bathrooms were lovely very modern with good lighting. the bedrooms are totally opposite as they are decorated as expected with a old cottage feel, windows are small which i found meant needed the light on during the day whilst getting ready. yes the beds are soft but are not uncomfy. the room was extremely hot but fans are provided. i had a room at the front & didnt have a problem with noise of cars its not very busy at night! there is a small lounge area upstairs for the guests with a fridge where you can pick up free bottles of still or fizzy water & milk. this is replenished every hour. theres is tea & coffee making facilities in the room. there is a good working free wifi code is in the room. the breakfast was nice. various fresh fruits & yoghurts, cereals or a cooked breakfast including salmon etc. we did also have dinner there one night there are various deals you can do. the food is off good quality & good sized portions. You do need to book to eat dinner, we got told it was busy & theyld squeeze us in which they did. They seem to get a booking & book the table for the whole night instead of for the time the customers are coming, so there are a lot of reserved tables just waiting hours for the customers.
Regarding the road outside i didnt find this a problem i was expecting in to be on a sharp bend its not at all. there is a clear view both sides & only a slight bend.
the inn was in a great location for the purpose of our stay. its not too far from the town.
i would recommend this B&B though i do think £95 is a little steep as there are cheaper B&Bs on the same road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissRebecca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Blue Ball Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Comfy, clean rooms and good breakfast choices. Evening meals, although large, are not particularly good. Staff are mostly helpful. Good bars with excellent local beers.
Speeding traffic is a major issue, in terms of noise (if you have a room on the front) and crossing the road to the car park. The blue ball is situated just beyond a slight bend and it's difficult to see the road to the right, without stepping into it.

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank Abfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have stayed at the Blue Ball at Sidford a number of times and have never been disappointed, but remember it is a pub at the end of the day, with very comfortable bedrooms, lovely big breakfasts and good honest evening meals. The staff have always been friendly and welcoming and all the food has been well cooked and generous in its portions. The bar stocks a good range of real ales and the wine list is fine.
The area is so relaxing and the Blue Ball makes an ideal base for a short break. Visit Sidmouth itself, a very laid back place with lovely seafront walks, you can walk from the pub to the front down 'The Byes' footpath alongside the River Sid. It takes about half an hour. Beer, Otterton Mill, and Lyme Regis are always worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

THE GOOD NEWS
1.Clean.
2.Character building.
3.Friendly staff.
4.Good breakfast, but tinned fruit, or peel it yourself.
5.Stylish modern bathrooms with facecloths.
6.Food not expensive as suggested in previous reports and portions are large, but rooms are overpriced, £95 is too much.
7.Popular with locals for pensioners lunches and early family dinners. Hmmmmm.
8.Fresh milk and bottled water in fridge for all to help themselves.
9.Good, free wifi.

THE BAD NEWS
1.Small rooms. (We had Soldiers Hill, typical twin room).
2.Small window in room.
3.Directly on busy, noisy road. (So either fresh air and noise, or close window and cook. They do supply fans, but these are noisy also).
4.Cheap, soft mattress. (You can feel the springs on the edges).
5.No easy chair in room.
5.No King rooms, only double or twin.
6.Children allowed in restaurant/bar.
7.Unimaginative menu. (Fish & chips, sausage & mash, ham & eggs, lasagne & garlic bread, etc. No healthy option, salads etc.). But large portions, hot and well cooked.
8.Rooms are overpriced.

To sum up. The Blue Ball obviously caters for a specific market and if you fall into that catagory then fine, but the rooms are very expensive for what you get at £95, I expect more. A member of staff said he had just put the price up! They will not get any more £95's from me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building, it may be a bit quieter. Check out the Salty Monk just...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burcottbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Ball for three nights.A very warm welcome complemented by a super room with spacious en-suit.Nice touches like bottled water in the room and fresh milk plus extra water in fridge on the landing.Very comfortable bed.Amazing breakfast and very good quality evening meals at reasonable prices and nice atmosphere in this lovely pub/restaurent.Ticked all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: Just ask !!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barberolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Ball Inn at Sidford for two nights in early June. It was a short break holiday for my husband and me. Before booking we tried to find a review on this website but drew a blank which I found surprising.
On entering Sidford, we spotted a pub where we had eaten on a previous visit, this turned out to be the Blue Ball Inn where we were staying. That previous meal, a Sunday roast, was enjoyable so we were off to a promising start.
It was around midday when we arrived and the inn was open. We parked our car in the large car park across the road from the inn and went in to register not expecting our room to be available. The original inn burnt down around five years ago and has been rebuilt at a cost of over two million pounds.
The inn is on a busy main road so traffic noise must be expected although the bedrooms have secondary double glazing. As our room was ready a member of staff showed us up the stairs to our bedroom. We were in Trow View room number 1. As it was double aspect it was beautifully light, decorated in complimentary colours of beige and brown, individual dark wood wardrobe and chest of drawers, a large metal bedstead, the usual tv and hostess tray, a spare blanket, arm chair and table. The en suite shower room was, like the bedroom, spotlessly clean, a range of complimentary products, endless supply of hot water, pleasantly tiled and the chrome furnishing sparkled. Both bedroom and shower room were decorated in empathy with an old inn using individual pieces of furniture not the typical hotel offerings but with a modern touch and high standard.
We were shown the residents lounge, a nice touch as it had a fridge containing fresh milk and bottles of sparkling and still water. A number of small jugs were available to take milk to your room.
We ate in the inn on both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Unusually in today’s economic climate the restaurant was very busy on both evenings and booking a table is advisable to avoid disappointment.
Breakfast both mornings was excellent with a range of fresh fruit, yogurts, fruit juice, cereals and a cooked offering. The toast was hand cut not pre-sliced bread. Although we did not partake in the cooked breakfast it looked and smelt very appealing and we heard other guests commenting favourably. Daily papers were also available for guests to read.
There is a large garden with seating areas which can be accessed through the bar.
We have recently started staying in local inns and non-chain hotels if possible to enjoy the individuality they offer, some have been successful others have not, the Blue Ball at Sidford is the best we have stayed at so far. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we thought the Blue Ball was fantastic and will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welsh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Despite there being a mixup with our Internet booking and we were allocated a twin room, they were able to transfer us to a room with a queen size bed. The room was very nice, good amenities, nice bathroom and very clean. The bed was a let down it was very uncomfortable and when you turned over you could hear the springs!
But the atmosphere was great and felt olde worlde despite it being a new build since the fire 6 years ago.
The breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice eg Eggs Benedict, kippers etc not just a full English.
The staff were very obliging and looked after us well.
If you are walking down to Sidmouth, taken the delightful walk down next to the river. It is not clearly marked as you walk down from the Inn, but turn left at the Salty Monk and it is a lovely walk down to the beach and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you are booking on the Internet BEWARE they allocate two rooms for Internet bookings and apparent...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
1.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
464 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
547 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sidmouth
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salty Monk
The Salty Monk
#11 of 33 in Sidmouth
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ball Inn

Address: Stevens Cross, Sidmouth EX10 9QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Blue Ball Inn Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing