We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY THE BEST!?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn and Pinn Cottage
Ranked #2 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I joined my parents ( who are regular visitors) for a short stay here in July to celebrate a milestone birthday of my Father.

My parents had told me how wonderful the Barn & Pinn was, but I was still totally amazed. I travel a lot (and in fact work in Travel & Tourism) and this is one of the very best places I have stayed anywhere in the UK.

Lovely well appointed rooms, spacious guest lounge, great breakfasts, but what really makes this place stand out are the Hosts - Kim & Peter - nothing is too much trouble for them and they take such great pride in looking after their guests.

Peter is an extremely talented chef, his food is truly first class, don't think Pub Grub it is a a gourmet experience.

Thank you Kim & Peter for making our family celebration such a memorable occasion - we will be back to visit you again very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orkneypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for The Barn and Pinn Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 265 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Really enjoyed our visit to the Barn and Pinn cottage. We stayed with our 19 month old son for four nights to go to a family wedding and explore the local area. The historic buildings have been lovingly restored, were clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. Peter and Kim give it all a personal touch and could not have made us feel more welcome. They were very attentive and helpful, Peter even sent us home with some freshly picked veg from their garden...delicious! Breakfast was pretty good too.
The area is beautiful with plenty to do, our personal favourite was Jacobs Ladder in Sidmouth at low tide.

Room Tip: We were self catering in the holiday let, all mod cons were supplied.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our daughter and her young family. Both rooms were excellent and ideal for our needs - comfortable, immaculately decorated and spotlessly clean. We were made to feel very welcome from the outset and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, Peter and Kim. Breakfasts were excellent too, with an impressive choice and all needs, including those of our 2 young grand children, were cheerfully catered for. Thank you for your contribution to a most enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgwynpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We would recommend the very beautiful Barn & Pinn without hesitation after spending a most enjoyable & relaxing 5 days there in early August. Kim & Peter are the perfect hosts. Breakfast was most delicious with a fantastic choice. Our room ( no 8) was absolutely spotless, with the most comfortable bed & a lovely large en-suite. We look forward to returning. Bob & Brenda.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Thanks Kim and Peter for a wonderful stay. From ease of booking, to cosiest cleanest rooms, to comfiest beds, superb breakfasts, not to mention the warmest of welcomes - all second to none and nothing too much to ask. Our 2 year old was spoilt rotten and hasn't stopped talking about feeding the fish and our 7 mth baby loved her cuddles with Kim. We will definitely be back! If you are planning a trip to Sidmouth, you'd be a fool to stay anywhere else!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank ruthp_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

our third visit and a special one for us.made even more special by Kim and Peter.
we can only add to the chorus of five star reviewers of this wonderful establishment!
It has been said before ad infinitum but loses nothing by repetition ad infinitum
They Dont come better than this. D and T

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have stayed here for 3 years now and find everything about the Barn and Pinn 100% satisfactory.

Kim and Peter are perfect hosts. They are so welcoming and always treat us so well. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.

The meals are out of this world and we ALWAYS put on weight during our stay as we can not resist sampling all the courses.......

We stay in the same room each year and the view from our bedroom window on to the lovely garden is a picture.

So glad that we have found this lovely place. Thank you Peter and Kim for making our stay so enjoyable.


Chris and George G.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully decorated and clean.You would not be disappointed with any.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
464 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
194 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sid Valley Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sidmouth
443 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
547 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lynstead House
Lynstead House
#1 of 33 in Sidmouth
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn and Pinn Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn and Pinn Cottage

Address: Bowd Cross, Sidmouth EX10 0ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range: $38 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Barn and Pinn Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the tranquility of this beautiful 15th Century thatched cottage nestling within two acres of award winning gardens with private parking and sun patio Situated only 5 minutes drive from Sidmouth. All 10 individually decorated non-smoking, en-suite rooms benefit from full central heating, TV, a Hairdryer and Tea and Coffee making facilities. The guest lounge is comfortable and welcoming and has a 42” television, Games and Books for your use and a log burning stove for use during the cooler months. Breakfast is served in a cosy room overlooking the garden. Many guests enjoy the birds and squirrels which can be seen in the garden. Dinner is available four nights a week and is served in "The Barn" a large vaulted room which, in days gone-by was a hay barn. This room also enjoys the comfort of a wood burner, and lovely views over the gardens. With good home cooking, a varied choice of menu and a well stocked bar. You will be sure of a very warm welcome from us into our home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Barn And Pinn Cottage Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing