We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn and Pinn Cottage
Ranked #3 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is the only B&B my partner and i have stayed in and it was truly amazing and gave us a lovely weekend away. It is situated in a lovely surrounding and we were made very welcome when we arrived by Kim and Peter. The room we had was lovely, clean well decorated and very comfortable. Food was brilliant, 1st class and nothing was too much trouble for them to provide for us. We would recommend it to anyone. Looking forward to the next visit. Thanks again Nigel and Vicky

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank NIGEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hi, Thanks for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. So much so that you have already booked to see us again later in the year! You were only here one day and asking to re-book, we are obviously doing something right!
We look forward to welcoming you back again. Take care and we will see you soon
Kind regards Kim and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 272 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is the first B&B we have ever visited twice and we intend to visit again in the future. It is an outstanding place to stay and we would give it a five star rating in all areas. We stayed at The Barn & Pinn Cottage with our 2 year old daughter and were made very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners Kim and Pete who even took time out to play ball with our daughter. The food is excellent and Pete also took us into the kitchen to share his cooking tips. We stayed in Room 6 which was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and had a wet room. Kim put her guinea pigs in the garden next to our room as our toddler loved looking at them. The main cottage, where the lounge and dining room are situated, has lots of character with exposed wooden beams and a grand fire place as you'd expect from such a well preserved 15th century building. Looking forward to our next visit. Thanks from Mark, Jo & Charlotte.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for writing such a lovely review, it was really great to see you all again and Charlotte is adorable, a real little character. I'm glad she enjoyed seeing my piggies and I even got a lovely cuddle from her too, a real bonus! Can't wait to see you all again, next time you stay we can make up the sofa bed for Charlotte in Room 7 and you can have the use of its own little kitchen with fridge, microwave etc. Take care Kim and Peter xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We came across The Barn & Pinn Cottage whilst treating ourselves to a short break. What a find! How often can one say a truly superb B & B? 5 star facilities, 5 star cleanliness, 5 star food & 5 star hosts. Kim & Pete couldn't have done more to welcome us to their stunning & beautiful home. An excellent stay & we look forward to returning soon. Thank you both for your hospitality. Chris & Kevin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for you wonderful review, it was great to meet you both, if only as a flying visit.
Thanks to you and our other lovely guests writing good reviews about us we have just won the
Certificate of Excellence for 2013 on Trip Advisor which shows that we are now one of the top 10% of all businesses on TripAdvisor Worldwide! and all we have to do is keep enjoying meeting all our lovely guests, both new and return ones! No Problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

stayed here for 3 weeks in April 2013 whilst working nearby and you could not fault anything, excellent all round, impressive, thanks Kim and Pete for making my stay so enjoyable and I may see you both again in the summer, thanks john

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny3722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi John, Thanks for the review, glad you liked your stay with us and we would love to see you again when you are not having to rush off to work! Chill relax and enjoy the delights of Sidmouth and the surrounding area. Take care and we hope to see you soon. Kim and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a really nice, friendly bed and breakfast; I am very fussy about beds etc. in B & B's but this place is so clean! We stayed in room 7 with our Jack Russell which was very spacious with bedroom, a good kitchen area, and lounge, it was extremely comfortable. The breakfast is very, very good, (none of your cheap bacon and sausages), you can also have fish if you let Peter or Kim know the day before, but be prepared to be full! The dining room is stunning with oak beams and bar area, the whole place has been renovated to a very high standard. This is our second visit and will definitely return. Kim and Peter are very friendly and nothing is too much. Brilliant!

Room Tip: If you want a larger area go for room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mastmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It was great to see you both again. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Room 7 our holiday let which does have the extra space with its own little lounge and kitchen area. Take care Kim and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Whilst travelling back home to Cornwall we happened upon The Barn and Pinn Cottage. As the weather had brightened we decided not to go home but to have a couple of extra nights away. How lucky were we that we found this absolutely delightful spot! The rooms were beautifully furnished. Comfy bed, crisp white bed linen and towels. Also a very comfortable lounge to enjoy a quiet hour or two before venturing out in the evening. Breakfast was a great way to start the day and Peter really can cook bacon to perfection! Both Kim and Peter were the perfect hosts and we really didn't want to leave. Thank you both for an enjoyable, peaceful couple of days - just wish it could have been longer. Looking forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and we're glad you found us too! It was a pleasure to meet you both and worth staying the 2 nights instead of just one, double the breakfasts!
It was good that you could relax and enjoy our guest lounge, after all when your on holiday, theres no need to rush. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kim and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just back from a two night stay at the very beautiful Barn & Pinn Cottage. The place has been beautifully restored to a very high standard, cosy, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Inside and outside in the garden, it really is a lovely place to unwind and enjoy the peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings. We had fantastic breakfasts cooked by Peter, I thoroughly recommend the poached duck eggs, amazing!
Thank you Peter & Kim for making a little bit of heaven on earth XX

Room Tip: Our twin room was perfect for our needs, delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JooneyMacarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you loved our cottage and enjoyed being under the thatch in Room 2 our upstairs twin. It was a pleasure to look after you and hopefully next time your sister is over maybe you'll come and see us again. A couple of nights is never enough to explore everything in the area, there will still be lots for you to see. Take care Kim and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
474 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
203 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lynstead House
Lynstead House
#1 of 33 in Sidmouth
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Buckley Farmhouse
Buckley Farmhouse
#1 of 4 in Sidbury
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dukes
Dukes
#4 of 33 in Sidmouth
335 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sidholme Hotel
Sidholme Hotel
#24 of 33 in Sidmouth
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn and Pinn Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn and Pinn Cottage

Address: Bowd Cross, Sidmouth EX10 0ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range: $38 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Barn and Pinn Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the tranquility of this beautiful 15th Century thatched cottage nestling within two acres of award winning gardens with private parking and sun patio Situated only 5 minutes drive from Sidmouth. All 10 individually decorated non-smoking, en-suite rooms benefit from full central heating, TV, a Hairdryer and Tea and Coffee making facilities. The guest lounge is comfortable and welcoming and has a 42” television, Games and Books for your use and a log burning stove for use during the cooler months. Breakfast is served in a cosy room overlooking the garden. Many guests enjoy the birds and squirrels which can be seen in the garden. Dinner is available four nights a week and is served in "The Barn" a large vaulted room which, in days gone-by was a hay barn. This room also enjoys the comfort of a wood burner, and lovely views over the gardens. With good home cooking, a varied choice of menu and a well stocked bar. You will be sure of a very warm welcome from us into our home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Barn And Pinn Cottage Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing