We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn and Pinn Cottage
Ranked #3 of 32 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights 6/7/4/13 had the best time ever, peter and kim were the best hoasts you could meet. the room was outstanding set in stunning grounds. nothing was too much bother for them and peters cooking is fab. will definatley stay again ... well done peter and kim top peeps xx

Room Tip: stayed in rooom 8 fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your second stay with us, it was good to see you again. The gardens are coming along well and the beautiful sunny day on Saturday was definately a bonus. Take care and we'll see you next time your down this way. Kind regards
Kim and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
161
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a lovely welcome - for some reason, straight away, we felt like we had known Peter & Kim for ages, even though this was our first visit to the splendid Barn and Pinn Cottage. By the time we had been shown the first room - the beautiful lounge area we were excited to see all of the rest of this beautiful 15th Century Choc Box B & B. We were not disappointed, we could not fault anything, each room was perfect and offered a choice to visitors depending on want/need.

Everything was spotless, and it has an eco friendly feel to it -so much thought put into the high spec of everything. A huge environmental ethic throughout, this made us respect the surroundings and Peter & Kim too. It was like they have done all of this for us so Im not going to take the shower gels and shampoos home, or the biscuits etc!! We wanted them to keep them!

The amazing beds, high quality linen, lighting, furniture all lovely. The stable door in room 8 the little room across the way made us feel independent but part of a fantastic business that Peter & Kim have created and are rightly so, very proud of what they have achieved. Its wonderful to have this feeling of pride in a very competitive market, there is no complacency here only a sense of lets maintain what we have got and lets love coming to work into this beautiful building and invite others to share it with us.

The food was delicious and nothing was too much trouble and they just seemed to deliver a fab breakfast with such ease, the secret to successful entertaining and perfect hosts too.

This B & B has got it right, my husband will tell you I am hard to please and I have never before found nothing at all to moan about!!

Really look forward to coming back to stay.

Our very best wishes and thanks to you both Barbara & Phil.
PS Now debating whether to attach the pics of the eggs!! - what a fantastic chef you are Peter - and for the lesson in perfect poached duck eggs!!

Room Tip: My tip is take the tour if you can then choose. If we come back in the summer we will defo have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unavailable-goneaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, to hear how much you love our place and what we do is why we do this. This place is really special and seems to attract special guests to it. We just then have the fun of looking after them. We are always busy making sure everything is perfect for our guests
and its great when we see them back again. Take care, see you soon, Kim and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned home from our second stay with Peter and Kim. Had another great short break. Kim and Peter make you feel like you are old friends and again nothing was too much trouble for them. As we were the only guests staying we still haven't managed to sample Peter's cooking, apart from his excellent breakfasts, but maybe next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was great to see you both again. It does feel like we are seeing old friends when we have our lovely guests come back and see us. Thats why its so lovely doing what we do.
Take care and we will see you again and hopefully you'll sample 'dinner' next time.
kind regards
Kim and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the cottage when in the area for a celebration and gathering of old friends. I was born in Sidmouth and remember the property from my teenage years.
Kim and Peter have done a brilliant job with the refurbishment and made this a great place to stay. They are very friendly and welcoming.
Peter is an excellent chef, breakfast is superb with an extensive choice. When staying, sampling his (and Kim's) evening meal is a must.
The standard throughout is exceptional, making for a very relaxing and enjoyable "5 star" experience.
Thoroughly recommended, hope to return!
Lin and Dave

Room Tip: We viewed several rooms all of which were superb. Kim is more than helpful with advice on rooms to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was really interesting hearing about Sidmouth and the surrounding area when you were younger. It was lovely to meet you both and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Kim and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We are repeat visitors to this delightful Cottage, the rooms are spectacularly appointed, the beds are fabulous memory foam. Clean copious towels, pilliows and fabulous bathrooms. The private gardens are delightful. The people are terrific, accomodating and like old friends, happy to help. They showed us the beach and let us know what was going on. There is nowhere else I'd rather stay! Fabulous for couples, friends and travelling alone. Allocated free parking. Also meals- are really rather good :)

We happily endorse the Barn and Pinn cottage. Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms with private gardens really are romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriavanHeyning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, it was great to see you both again and catch up with all you have been doing even if it was just a flying visit this time. Hope you have a wonderful day on '17th' and don't forget to send us some pictures! Take care and dont work too hard.
You know where we are. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Kim and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in one of the luxury rooms and found it immaculate. Everything was of a very high standard and the hosts, Kim and Pete, were very helpful in making our short stay all the more agreeable. Without doubt the best B & B weve ever stopped in.

Laurie and Linda

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurieb721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review it was great to meet you both and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in Room 9, one of our Luxury rooms with king sized four poster bed. You also benefited from our 3 nights for the price of 2 offer as it is still early in the season. You have visited in the cold and we hope to see you back again when the weather improves, as it gets better so does the garden. We are busy out there getting it ready for the summer.
Kind regards
Kim and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

we spent a outstanding weekend at the Barn and Pinn, the accommodation is in a lovely location and has lovely gardens to sit and watch the world go by, we stayed in one of the luxury rooms room 9 having a four poster bed lovely crisp bedding and lovely en suite also had its own little private garden.the owners Pete and Kim showed us around the cottage and all of the rooms are of a high standard.Breakfast was cooked by Pete and to a high standard and caters for all needs and is cooked fresh and to order.Evening meal cooked by Pete was of a very high standard and again cooked fresh, I must say that Kim's Pudding was out of this world Apple and Raspberry Crumble.The cottage is near to the town and beach. it also has a lovely lounge area, Breakfast room and Restaurant with a small bar and is lovely in character. would definitely recommend and looking forward to going back to this lovely cottage and owners who nothing is to much trouble.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are will worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbsales1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurleyBubbles, Owner at The Barn and Pinn Cottage, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review we are so pleased you had a good weekend and enjoyed our hospitality. Hope you have a lovely day today! When you get time please just ring and you can come down again and let us spoil you both! Remember dinner nights are Thursday to Sunday. Kind regards Kim and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
445 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
2.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
862 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#6 of 13 in Sidmouth
173 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lynstead House
Lynstead House
#1 of 32 in Sidmouth
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn and Pinn Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn and Pinn Cottage

Property: The Barn and Pinn Cottage
Address: Bowd Cross, Sidmouth EX10 0ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Barn and Pinn Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the tranquility of this beautiful 15th Century thatched cottage nestling within two acres of award winning gardens with private parking and sun patio Situated only 5 minutes drive from Sidmouth. All 10 individually decorated non-smoking, en-suite rooms benefit from full central heating, TV, a Hairdryer and Tea and Coffee making facilities. The guest lounge is comfortable and welcoming and has a 42” television, Games and Books for your use and a log burning stove for use during the cooler months. Breakfast is served in a cosy room overlooking the garden. Many guests enjoy the birds and squirrels which can be seen in the garden. Dinner is available four nights a week and is served in "The Barn" a large vaulted room which, in days gone-by was a hay barn. This room also enjoys the comfort of a wood burner, and lovely views over the gardens. With good home cooking, a varied choice of menu and a well stocked bar. You will be sure of a very warm welcome from us into our home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Barn And Pinn Cottage Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing