We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a friend”

The Clock Tower Cafe
Ranked #3 of 80 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Clock Tower cafe & restaurant stands in an unrivalled position within the award winning Connaught Gardens, Sidmouth on the stunning Jurassic south coast of East Devon. 27 years on from humble beginnings the Clock Tower has remained a family-owned business, we are very proud of our excellent reputation for quality service and delicious, freshly prepared food.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Take a friend”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely gardens, wonderful views and the biggest cakes ever!
We have had lunch which was good but usually its coffee and cake
coffee each and cake to share! Milkshakes are good too with ice-cream in them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CurleyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    170
    32
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning Views.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Go here for the stunning views of the beach and cliffs, but although the cakes are very generous proportions, they were disappointing. The service was also a bit indifferent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jjandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Top notch cafe”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I visited here today with my 2 yr old son and two teenagers. We had walked along the beach and climbed the ladder so decided to stop for a drink..well my original idea of a cup of tea changed into a pot of tea a roast lunch and this huge slice of carrot cake!! The kids had iced coffee's and baby had a strawberry milkshake, all went down well and the milkshake was lovely with real strawberry bits in it! I'd recommend anyone to visit here, yes it's not cheap but it's also not expensive and I'm one for getting what you pay for and you certainly do here! The cake was massive!! Service great and a proper little sun trap in the summer, fantastic views and no hassle and bustle of traffic, do visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southwestsampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful find....”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great little coffee shop with fantastic views. Wonderful little stop after a walk around the cliff and up Jacob's ladder before exploring the gardens. Huge, delicious cakes and scones, great coffee and very good service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marscors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good views.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Possibly the best views in Sidmouth, and in the stunning gardens over Jacobs ladder.

The drinks and cakes were fine, but not great, and fairly pricey. A good spot to stop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deldee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clock Tower Cafe also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Clock Tower Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing