We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Good We Went Twice on the Same Day!”

Fields of Sidmouth Coffee Shop
Ranked #14 of 81 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Award Winning Fields of Sidmouth Coffee Shop is located in the only department store in the town. It offers morning coffee, light lunches, special menus, afternoon and cream teas with a full waiting service. Food is prepared from locally sourced fresh produce and home-made whenever possible.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great friendly service just like the Good Old Days! We went back in the afternoon the same day after delicious coffee in the morning. My husband had a Devon Cream Tea and declared that it was The Best One Ever! He should know, as he has a passion for Cream Teas and has been known to eat one at eleven o'clock in the morning! When you visit, say 'Hi' to Dear Old Sidmouth for us! Bon appetite!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RayMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOSCJ, Public Relations Manager at Fields of Sidmouth Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for leaving a 5* rating for your recent visits to Fields Coffee Shop. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed it so much that you returned a second time on the same day!

We're very pleased that your husband enjoyed the Cream Tea and delighted that he thought it was "the best one ever".

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 287 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fields Store is very nice and the coffee shop is also very nice. The staff are cheerful and helpful. However, when hubby and I called in for toast and coffee last week I was very disappointed. The toast was very ordinary sliced brown bread (thin), the coffee was ok. But what really annoyed me was that they charged us 95p each for a teeny tiny jar of marmalade - the ones that sell for 30p in Costa (just up the road). This is serious ripping off! The bill came to £9.05 just for two coffees and two servings of toast and jam. Price in Costa (with better coffee) - £7.10.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOSCJ, Public Relations Manager at Fields of Sidmouth Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your constructive feedback and for your positive comments regarding the store and Coffee Shop.

Our bread is freshly baked by a local master baker and cut to our requirements. The vast majority of our customers do prefer thin sliced bread which is what you were served.

We have taken your comments on board; however, in response to your comparison with another local coffee shop, all our food and drinks are table served (their system is self served) and we are not part of a large organisation as they are, so can not benefit from the same buying power.

In light of your comments we have made immediate modifications to both the offer and the price, to make us more competitive with other local businesses.

Once again, we do appreciate your comments and hope that we will see you in here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were on holiday in Sidmouth and decided to go to Fields for afternoon tea. Seeing I have a wheelchair the staff could not have been more helpful. They offered to get a ramp for my chair, which I declined as I could do 3 steps. We then waited a couple of minutes until a suitable table was found near the top of the steps. The cream tea was excellent, I had orange squash instead of tea and even that was fruity and not at all watery. Well worth a visit.
You have been warned Fields (We Will Be Back)

Thank SunseekerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOSCJ, Public Relations Manager at Fields of Sidmouth Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for leaving a delightful review on Fields Coffee Shop.

We are very pleased to hear that you were happy with the service received.

It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your Cream Tea - and the best warning ever: that you will be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I took my daughter for breakfast and it was lovely. For £6.50 you get a full English breakfast with coffee and toast included. The breakfast ingredients were very tasty and beautifully cooked. As ever the staff were very cheerful and the service was excellent. We often go there for coffee and cakes and the service is always excellent. I would recommend you to try this lovely restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paddington44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOSCJ, Public Relations Manager at Fields of Sidmouth Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for leaving a lovely review of our Coffee Shop. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the service you received.

We hope to welcome you back another time - perhaps for an authentic or traditional Cream Tea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A wonderful coffee shop in Fields Store. Had a great lunch with friends at this very busy establishment. The best service I have experienced in the UK. The food was very well prepared, presented and was extremely tasty. Great value for money

Will definitely visit again when in South West England.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tingdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOSCJ, Public Relations Manager at Fields of Sidmouth Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your superb review of Fields Coffee Shop.

We are delighted to hear that you experienced "The best service... in the UK".

We're very glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will one day return to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fields of Sidmouth Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to Fields of Sidmouth Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing