We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection Found”
Review of Brookfields B&B

Brookfields B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brookfields B&B
Ranked #20 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection Found”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed with our two Grandchildren it was just perfect the care and attention of Rosemary and David was outstanding they could not have been more friendly and welcoming to us all. The little extras and the homely atmosphere and their obvious love and understanding of children made it a holiday to remember for a long time to come. We will be returning and the dog was the added bonus. I hope that we will remain friends for a long time to come

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
21
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
market deeping
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our family stayed at Brookfields B&B during a vist for family christening during June 2013.My daughter and her family had stayed before and mentioned how very pleasant and homely David and Rosemary had made thier home for guests.We very much enjoyed this visit and would most certainly return and recommend this quiet and charming B&B..Axy was really cuddly and a big softy with all our family..the house clocks are very interesting, making time stand still to enjoy your holiday..thanks.

Room Tip: all rooms are well fitted and differ from large family to snug.with David and Rosemary offering extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roger123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome by David and Rosemary (and Axel the dog).
We had the blue room which was nice and spacious with a nice modern en-suite bath and shower. The bed had a memory foam mattress and was lovely and comfy. There was everything in the room that you would need, and I'm sure if we needed something we would have been provided with it, as during our stay nothing was too much trouble.
It was lovely and peaceful, and the only sounds you hear are the birds in the mornings.
Sanchia D wasn't kidding when they said they were possibly the best scones they'd tasted!
I think Rosemary is a bit of a Delia Smith on the quiet.
We won this two night stay as a prize donated to the Devon Air Ambulance Trust by David and Rosemary. We were pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the area, although we had driven through many times but never stopped.
We enjoyed a walk down the river Otter to Budleigh Salterton (about 5 miles of wonderful countryside), then across the cliff tops to Sidmouth then back to Brookfields for a quick "snifter" before a lovely meal at the local pub just up the road.
We would recommend Brookfields without hesitation. Stay there, and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Blue room if you like a bath, green room if you prefer to run around while you shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_Appleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dzirker, Owner at Brookfields B&B, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your trip. We always support the Devon Air Ambulance with a free 2 night stay. We feel we treat the lucky winners with the same standards as we do our paying guests and on this occasion we seem to have done our job
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recently stayed here for the second time. Relaxed, tea and cake on arrival - very welcome as I'd been out in the cold all day working! (Rosemary's scones on this visit were possibly the best I've tasted) Very comfortable spacious room and I was made to feel at home. I used the wi-fi for work in the evenings, I walked to local pub and restaurant. The breakfast was excellent - Was expecting to have only eggs as I'm vegetarian, but David and Rosemary offered vege sausages, a nice touch. (with all the other trimmings as you request, obviously)
I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanchia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanntageUK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Once again David and Rosemary made us most welcome. Despite our booking at the last minute and their having a busy weekend we immediately felt at home. It was a cold spell, but in the house we were snug and relaxed - a great boon for someone disabled like me. And of course David and Rosemary are well prepared for the disabled. As always for us, the food overflowed, great cooked breakfasts which kept us going all day. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelWOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Brookfields is quietly situated just off the beaten track yet conveniently close to the village’s pub, restaurants, bus stops and amenities. On arrival we were given tea and freshly made scones, and found David and Rosemary to be very welcoming, hospitable, generous, attentive and friendly hosts for whom nothing seemed too much trouble. Our room (we had the green room) was spacious with a very large and comfortable bed, with a good-sized en suite wet room (which is ideal for the more elderly or those with mobility difficulties). A large selection is on offer for breakfast, which is pre-ordered the evening before by completing a breakfast request form that has most breakfast items on it. You are invited to choose as many items as you wish, and how many of each one. I suppose David (who cooks the breakfast) might jib if you were greedy enough to order 4 sausages, 3 black puddings, half a dozen tomatoes, 4 rashers of bacon and 6 eggs to go with beans, mushrooms, fried bread etc. that's on offer, but then again he is so obliging he’d probably do it!

Finally, don’t be intimidated when a large German Shepherd dog bounds up to the car barking loudly when you arrive. This is Axey (or Axi, or Axie!) and despite appearances she’s an absolute sweetie and just as friendly as the hosts.

As virtually all the previous reviews have indicated, this is a bed an breakfast to be recommended, so thanks for everything and if we are ever back in that neck of the woods, then it will be a pleasure to stay at Brookfields again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My family and I stayed here for the weekend and our host rosemary and David were very welcoming as much as possible fitted in with our plans. The rooms were very clean and well laid out the beds were very comfortable my sister stayed in the twin room which had a wet room bathroom. If we need to stay in b&b near exmouth again we will definitely stay here again.i did not mean to rate the pool as I don't think there is one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
The Salty Monk
The Salty Monk
#11 of 33 in Sidmouth
120 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sidholme Hotel
Sidholme Hotel
#22 of 33 in Sidmouth
233 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lynstead House
Lynstead House
#1 of 33 in Sidmouth
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Buckley Farmhouse
Buckley Farmhouse
#1 of 5 in Sidbury
79 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Groveside Guest House
The Groveside Guest House
#9 of 33 in Sidmouth
229 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sid Valley Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfields B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfields B&B

Property: Brookfields B&B
Address: Brookfields Venn Ottery Road | Newton Poppleford, Sidmouth EX10 0BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury in a quiet yet central setting very close to pub restaurants, public transport and attractions. We cater for all ages, including the elderly, disabled and young families. WiFi, fax and printer services available. We offer a very personalised service with breakfast when you want it. Play area for children, cream teas included, use of lounge and facilities for the disabled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brookfields B&B Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing